We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value on the island.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam & Jack's Deli

Sam & Jack's Deli
3rd floor of The Marketplace | above the Starfish Market, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
340-714-3354
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Bristol
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Value on the island.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This deli serves wonderful sandwiches that are large enough for two (unless you are starved). This was the only place on the island we ate at twice because the food was so good and the prices were (for STJ) reasonable. The tiramisu was excellent. The only "miss" were the homemade chips which were very overdone. Although we didn't try it, the deli also offered take out meals that sounded delicious.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    65
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Sandwiches good but too large! Potato chips burned.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We wish we would have known to share these humongous sandwiches. We spent a small fortune eating lunch here. Though the potato salad was recommended to m by the woman at the counter, it lacked flavor. I would not get this again. The homemade potato chips were completely burned. All of the chips in the basket looked this way (dark brown), so we thought that is what they were supposed to look like. They were very brown because they were overlooked. We threw a mostly full-bag away. The cookies were decent enough. Note, there is no kids' menu. I think any place like this should have a small kids menu with small $5 sandwiches.

All in all, we would probably go back & only order 2 sandwiches to share. We would pass on everything else.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My husband and I grabbed a quick lunch here and it was great!! I got the meatball sub which was fantastic! Menu has a full variety of options and we both loved our meals and it was nice to leave the beach for an air conditioned lunch!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Thomas, USVI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Unique on STJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This place has a wondeful, wine country feel to it. Lots of fresh food to choose from whether it's the pre-made sandwiches and meals or the ingredients to make your own. I give this place my business every chance I get. So unique to this island, I hope they stick around!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches anywhere!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We went here for lunch, and it was so amazing that we had to go back for dinner too!! Highly recommended. GreAt selections that are handcrafted. Wish it was by my house!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam & Jack's Deli also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sam & Jack's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam & Jack's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.