We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandwiches good but too large! Potato chips burned.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sam & Jack's Deli

Sam & Jack's Deli
3rd floor of The Marketplace | above the Starfish Market, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
+1 340-714-3354
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Sandwiches good but too large! Potato chips burned.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We wish we would have known to share these humongous sandwiches. We spent a small fortune eating lunch here. Though the potato salad was recommended to m by the woman at the counter, it lacked flavor. I would not get this again. The homemade potato chips were completely burned. All of the chips in the basket looked this way (dark brown), so we thought that is what they were supposed to look like. They were very brown because they were overlooked. We threw a mostly full-bag away. The cookies were decent enough. Note, there is no kids' menu. I think any place like this should have a small kids menu with small $5 sandwiches.

All in all, we would probably go back & only order 2 sandwiches to share. We would pass on everything else.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    84
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My husband and I grabbed a quick lunch here and it was great!! I got the meatball sub which was fantastic! Menu has a full variety of options and we both loved our meals and it was nice to leave the beach for an air conditioned lunch!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Thomas, USVI
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unique on STJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

This place has a wondeful, wine country feel to it. Lots of fresh food to choose from whether it's the pre-made sandwiches and meals or the ingredients to make your own. I give this place my business every chance I get. So unique to this island, I hope they stick around!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches anywhere!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We went here for lunch, and it was so amazing that we had to go back for dinner too!! Highly recommended. GreAt selections that are handcrafted. Wish it was by my house!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

great food to take to the beach. carryout dinners so you don't need to cook. very economical and friend staff. conveniently located near the star fish market many choices for breakfast lunch and dinner.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam & Jack's Deli also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Sam & Jack's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam & Jack's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.