We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of a New England deli in St John” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam & Jack's Deli

Sam & Jack's Deli
3rd floor of The Marketplace | above the Starfish Market, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
340-714-3354
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Belleville, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A taste of a New England deli in St John”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We wanted a sandwich before our couples massage and Shei with Sea Shore Allure recommended this place. We were pleased to find a New England style deli meatball sub in St John. My wife and I lived out in New England and since moved to the Midwest. It was refreshing to know that we found what we missed after moving to the Midwest.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    62
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I'm a local who shops here every week for cold cuts, house made ravioli, yummy sweets, and a really great multi-grain bread they sell by the loaf. Someone on this site wrote about MSG being in their food - I think that guy spent too much time in the sun drinking rum! Everything is delicious and you can feel good about buying "whole foods" rather than a package that was made last year. Dinner's to go, Tiramisu, giant fudge brownies, dammit! Now I want some! But they are closed on Sunday's so I'll have to wait till 9am tomorrow to get my fix!! Love this place and the new owners are doing a great job and are super nice! And her name is Sam so she was meant to own the place! Best of luck to them! They will do great!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luquillo, puerto rico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“eat here everyday, it will never get old”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Sam & Jack's is amazing. The portions, the quality, the taste, everything! Their signature sandwiches menu is great and if you don't see something that you like on there, you can make your own. They do a different lunch specials everyday, and if you follow them on facebook, they post it in the morning. They've added St. John Brewers Root Beer on tap, and they have homemade sangria, and wine now too. They also make this delicious green monster smoothie, it has spinach, carrots, beets, and a bunch of other deliciousness in it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We wanted to like it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Well reviewed so we dropped by to pick up dinner and something for the next night.
Ordered a "Grandfather" sandwich with marinara on the side, forgot the sauce.
Ordered Vanilla Bean cheesecake, had an odd taste, tinny, citrus, not vanilla bean.
Ordered beef ragout for dinner next night, there was virtually no beef in it.
Very disappointed with entire experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stopped here before shopping at Starfish after reading all the positive reviews. The food is a high quality and the sandwiches are large enough that for most of us they lasted two meals. Service is great. We have already returned once and may return again before we leave STJ.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam & Jack's Deli also viewed

 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Sam & Jack's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam & Jack's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.