We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Take-Out Dinners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Cowboy Lounge

Barefoot Cowboy Lounge
Lumber Yard Complex | 2nd Floor, Cruz Bay, St. John
340-201-1236
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 42 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Barefoot Cowboy Lounge in Cruz Bay on the beautiful island of St. John in the USVI is servin' up some of the best "Texas Style" BBQ you'll ever eat! You'll be clamoring to "come getcha sum" once you've had our tasty fixins offered up from our Barefoot Daily Menu. We offer smoked brisket & pork, pulled pork, sausage & chicken. You can choose from the Outlaw, Cowboy Combo, Redneck Sandwich or the Barefoot Nachos just to name a few. The Hillbilly Sliders - you're gonna love Wayne's Frito Pie!
Hockessin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Take-Out Dinners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I visited and decided it wasn't the place for kids (rough bar) so we got take out dinners - they were fantastic - smoky, pulled pork and spicy beans - delicious!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    39
    18
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A Resounding Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Not sure why all the awesome reviews, except maybe because the owner/operator is a bit of a character. The food certainly does not stand on its own. We all had different plates of BBQ and one order of the nachos. I think my husband summed it up when he said he couldn't tell which was brisket and which was pulled pork. They both were a giant mush of meat on the plate. The nachos were made of stale chips, minimal cheese, unripe tasteless tomatoes (not really their fault - these seem to be the norm all over St John) big pile of sweet pulled pork, canned jalapenos and a giant tub size scoop of sour cream. The place is fun and the owner's shtick is cute, but if we ever go back, it would not be to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good value in St John”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband thought it was a good value I thought it was only ok. The smoked pork pretty much tasted like smoke, the pulled pork was tasty and the chicken was only ok but the prices were good. We went at happy hour each had two drinks and dinner $39 total. I would probably go back for lunch but not dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our second visit to the Barefoot Cowboy. Wayne has the best brisket and pork around. Great flavor, tender meat and you get a healthy serving. Texas has invaded St. John. Don't miss this place

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“This place is frickin perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

a little bit of right on down home what you absolutely love about the States... but all overlooking the ocean on St. John island. Are you kidding me?? Lol. Had two boys with me, 16 & 13 and they played pool, shot darts, while we enjoyed the country music. Absolutely loved it. The ONLY HORRIBLE thing is we eventually had to leave. -( highly recommend!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barefoot Cowboy Lounge also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Barefoot Cowboy Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Cowboy Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.