We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Here, I know TX BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Cowboy Lounge

Barefoot Cowboy Lounge
Lumber Yard Complex | 2nd Floor, Cruz Bay, St. John
340-201-1236
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 47 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Barefoot Cowboy Lounge in Cruz Bay on the beautiful island of St. John in the USVI is servin' up some of the best "Texas Style" BBQ you'll ever eat! You'll be clamoring to "come getcha sum" once you've had our tasty fixins offered up from our Barefoot Daily Menu. We offer smoked brisket & pork, pulled pork, sausage & chicken. You can choose from the Outlaw, Cowboy Combo, Redneck Sandwich or the Barefoot Nachos just to name a few. The Hillbilly Sliders - you're gonna love Wayne's Frito Pie!
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go Here, I know TX BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have lived in TX, been all over the State and States and have tried BBQ everywhere, this place is authentic, the real deal. Hungry? They have all u can eat Tuesday for only $20 - if you're into that sort of eating, well $20 on STJ doesn't usually get you a lot of food, so the value is obvious. The sauce was plenty good, the atmosphere, with free pool and foosball with an overhang bar stool eating looking out at Cruz Bay, about as good as it gets. Our service was fast and friendly and would definitely go back. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    41
    19
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool place, firendly staff, food ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The atmosphere and concept are pretty cool. I love good BBQ and smoke myself so the bar is pretty high. The meat was smoked perfectly but we expected a lot more from the sauce which tasted like it was out of a bottle. We will go back though and see if we can get something off the smoker that hasn't been sauced.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our first time to the Barefoot Cowboy but not our last. We visited 3x on the trip and had the Nachos on each visit - low calories so no worries. My wife loved their fruit punch or special drink don't think it even had a name she just called it the special drink i had yesterday :) We also tried several of the sandwiches and loved them all.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Dropped in for some Nachos and drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The food was good but the place could use some attention...and the owner wasn't very friendly...the bartender was awesome though. The view from the bar is the downtown of Cruz Bay .... which is loud and has lots of traffic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Credit cards?!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Place is pretty good ! Great music for today's country ! Food came out cold ! Lima beans??? Not too great! Slaw spicey for no reason! Why not take crdit or tell people cash only! I have cash but mostly for cabs!! They try to hard to try and get you to stay!! Seriously take a credit card 2.75 up charge on credit then you'll keep people!! Good luck

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barefoot Cowboy Lounge also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Barefoot Cowboy Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Cowboy Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.