We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, excellent service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sogo's Restaurant

Sogo's Restaurant
(no street given), Cruz Bay, St. John
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 40 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Cuisines: Caribbean
Description: A menu may be found at this website: http://www.hillcreststjohn.com/sogosmenu.html and this website: http://www.stjohnspice.com/sogosrestaurant.htm And a review from another website: http://www.igougo.com/dining-reviews-b112872-St._John-Sogos_Restaurant.html
Restaurant details
Description: A menu may be found at this website: http://www.hillcreststjohn.com/sogosmenu.html and this website: http://www.stjohnspice.com/sogosrestaurant.htm And a review from another website: http://www.igougo.com/dining-reviews-b112872-St._John-Sogos_Restaurant.html
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, excellent service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Thi was just what we were looking for! Food with a local flare in a casual environment! The owners were wonderful. We had the kingfish creole special and it was awesome!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nantucket, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic flavor, lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We eat here every time we're in St John. Don't be fooled by the unpretentious appearance, the food is excellent and always served with a smile.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
small town
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“True taste of Caribbean in a simple looking place...soo GOOD!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We ate at Sogos 3 times on our visit. It is simple looking but dont be fooled...Wonderful Flavors!! King fish in creole sauce is excellent, Jerk chicken paks a spicy PUNCH, yum!!(entrees are around $20...but u get a LOT!!! With sides)
But the chicken curry Roti $10 was the BEST!! It is made on Wednesdays & Saturdays ONLY!! So come for it!! The soup of the day was so delicious>>Pumpkin($6) and "Velt" makes homemade Johnny cakes to go with it (they are incredible, melt in your mouth GOOD)
We will be back!!! For more..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’œ Best Food in St John's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Tired several restaurants in Cruz Bay and hands down this was my favorite. I'm a foodie who loves quality over quantity and typical never finishes my plate. I ordered the curry goat and came close to licking my plate clean. The flavor and tenderness of the dish was perfection. Only regret is I wished we found the place earlier in our stay, as we would have gone back several times.

If you are looking for amazing carribean food Sogo is the place. Plus the owner is a really sweet, chatty and friendly man.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Caribbean meal!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were in Sogo's on an early Saturday night and had a wonderful meal! My husband and I both had a special of the day ...the king fish in creole sauce. The creole sauce was a delicious complement to the meaty king fish as were the six accompanying side dishes. We were truly surprised with my son's dish which was also a special of the day ... spaghetti with meatballs in a home made tomato sauce. The golf sized meatballs were the most tender I have ever eaten. Between the three of us we ate them all!! The johnny cakes were also a delicious treat. The If you are a foodie, then dinner at Sogo's is a must ... you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sogo's Restaurant also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Sogo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sogo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;