We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great new stand out in Cruz Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fatty Crab

Fatty Crab
18-11A Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
340.775.9951
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 39 restaurants in Cruz Bay
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Barbecue, Malaysian, Wine Bar, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Serving Funky Southeast Asian Inspired Cuisine!We serve our food in an unconventional manner, where there are no appetizers or entrees. The food comes out of the kitchen as it is prepared by the Chef. Therefore, we recommend ordering several dishes off of the menu and encourage sharing. Our cuisine is made up of locally sourced ingredients when available. Our flavor profiles are comprised of spice, sweet, sour, salty, and savory. Our cocktails are just as flavorful and as interesting as our cuisine. All of our wines were sourced from Michael Skurnik Wines and were hand-picked by Michael himself. The wines were selected to complement the wide variety of flavors in our cuisine and they were shipped in temperature controlled containers to ensure the integrity of the wines.We believe this style of dining creates an intimate, comfortable, and fun atmosphere. We serve sophisticated dishes in an unpretentious manner.If you are a diner looking for a traditional dining experience, there are lots of other great restaurants on island, come in for a drink and we'll recommend a few.Live well and be happy!
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A great new stand out in Cruz Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

While my husband and I were staying on St. John we decided to give Fatty Crab a try after seeing the chef on an episode of Chopped on the Food Network. We walked in and it was practically empty (still low season) so there was no problem getting a seat. The hostess sat us and our server then came over to tell us how it worked. You would basically pick a few items on the menu and they would bring it out one at a time while everyone tries it (similar to tapas).

For the first course we had two orders of the fish fry sliders - which were amazing - made with fresh wahoo. The next course was an order of the soft shell crab sandwich, followed by pork spare ribs. All were eaten too quickly before I could take a picture. Following the ribs, we had the watermelon pickle and crispy pork belly which was delicious. The last course was a pulled leg of lamb with a mint curry yogurt served on a roti.

Everything was delicious and the service was outstanding. I would DEFINITELY go there again!
I highly recommend checking out Fatty Crab while on St. John.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    316
    95
    24
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Classy Sea Legs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

The squid! The crab fritters! And the duck sauce! All so good! It's one of those restaurants that's on the upper echelon but is well worth it. Compared to the rest of the bars on St. John Fatty Crab has the best music and is the cleanest most modern establishment. TRY THE RECESSION SHOTS

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not really worth a visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The atmosphere is nice.. Their portion sizes are quite small for the price you are paying. I had ordered the pulled pork.. bad idea.. it tasted ok but wasn't anything worth complimenting. I ended up Nauseous for a few hours after we left. It was really just a bad experience all together. Not going to eat there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting menu for those with an adventurous palate.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We've been to St. John previously and avoided Fatty Crab, due to the menu selections. Didn't seem like our cup of tea. We were encouraged by a friend who raved about his dinner there, so we decided to bite the bullet and give it a shot this time we were on the island. The results were mixed. We ordered 5 menu items to try (all small portions). Loved the fried wahoo sliders! The pork sliders left something to be desired. The pork was a little fatty and the sauce wasn't the best. The salad of local greens was bitter and not what I was looking for. The crab fritters were excellent and the crispy fried potatoes were good. The sauces were different and surprisingly good. The service was above average and the restaurant itself was very clean and nicely decorated. I would recommend a visit, although I don't know if we will return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ehhh, Skip it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The food mostly tasted good, if you like spicy foods, but the portions are expensive TINY.
How tiny? I mean $40 local fish entree was about 1" x 2" 1/2" and had no side other than some a couple of weird vegs.
Food served as it cooked? This is truly bizarre one why the heck did we ordered an appetizer then the first think they serve is an entree which my friend ordered - btw: Fried shrimp - about $28 - whole 5 of them on tiny plate. My wife rightfully confused it for an appetizer ...

Look at bad reviews : Most of them are right on the money. The deserts "menu" , which was told to us (vs just printed one) confused as us much we just decided to skip it all together

There are plenty of decent restaurant in the area. Just skip it

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Fatty Crab, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I would like start by saying thank you for not only giving us a try, but also for taking time out of your day to write a review. Restaurants like Fatty Crab use customer response as a tool to improve. In this case it seems that we missed the point during our greeting process. Our service staff is taught to explain our style of service, spice levels and the portion sizes well before any guest orders. By your comments I have to feel that we somehow failed to achieve that. Please know that I will recover this aspect of our standard tomorrow. As for your critique of our prices, they are not correct. The line caught local fish is listed at $27.00, not $40.00 and the 1/2 pound order of shrimp list at $22.00. Fatty Crab St. John always aims to have every guest leave understanding our concept and with the impression that their money was well spent. Hopefully, we will have another chance to impress you somewhere down the road. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fatty Crab also viewed

 

Been to Fatty Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fatty Crab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.