We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, spotlessly clean hotel rooms in a wonderful location with great hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74-2 Cruz Bay Town, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great, spotlessly clean hotel rooms in a wonderful location with great hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

The Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is in a wonderful location in Cruz Bay close to great restaurants and several jeep/car rental businesses. The rooms were a good size and spotlessly clean. The continental breakfast and coffee was ready when we woke up in the morning and the hosts, Dave and Denise, were warm and friendly and truly made our St. John experience worth wanting to come back! Dave gave us lots of good ideas about where to snorkel on the island including Leinster Bay (Waterlemon Bay), Trunk Bay, and Salt Pond Bay. The Italian restaurant Livio's, located on the 1st floor of the hotel, was authentic Italian with homemade pasta and was the best meal we ate on the island. I would highly recommend the Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel to any traveler visiting the wonderful island of St. John!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    64
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
218
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We spent 2 nights at this Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel in January 2011. My boyfriend kept saying that it reminded him of a nicer, pricier hostel because of the size of the small room and the noisy downtown location.

I'd give this hotel 2 stars if it weren't for the fact that the rooms are: new and clean, the owners, especially Denise, are friendly and willing to give advice about places to see and where to eat at, and the location, which is not more than a 3-minute walk from the ferry dock.

However, I'd give this hotel 2 stars because it is located 3 doors down from a club. We stayed on a Friday night, and there was loud music until 3 am! My boyfriend kept saying that this hotel is a great place for people who plan to stay out until 2 am because they wouldn't mind the music or by the time they come home, the music is done. The next morning, we mentioned to one of the owners, Dave, that the music kept us up until 3 am, and he was very nonchalant about it. That did not sit well with me...

I'd also give this hotel 2 stars because the room we stayed in (room 3) was about 150 square foot. It was super small. The shower (no tub) was small too, and the cheap shower curtain kept sticking to us when we showered. If you insist on staying at this hotel, make sure you stay away from the rooms that are noted for being a 'smaller' room because it truly is small. One would think these 'smaller' rooms would be slightly cheaper than the bigger rooms, but they're not.

The breakfast was also lacking and consisted of 1 or 2 bakery items, fruit (as in bananas and oranges), yogurt, instant oatmeal in a packet, tea, coffee, and juice (with no glasses for the juice). While we understood that was only a continental breakfast, it was disappointing at best.

This hotel is a basic hotel with few amenities. If you're just looking for a place to put your things and lay your head at night in a convenient location, then stay here. If you want a little more than that for $175 a night, which we did, don't stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

This hotel is located in the center of town and is close to just about everything. There are three car rentals right next door, which is very convent. The ferry terminal is only a block away, and there are lots of restaurants and bars near by. The only thing that may be a problem for some guests is the size of the shower; it is a little petite but works well. We were not sure what to expect initially because there were not many reviews when we booked this trip, but it actually turned out great. We rented a jeep next door and went snorkeling and hiking at many of the near by bays and cays. One that I would highly recommend is the Salt Pond Bay and a hike up to the top of Rams head. They are both in the same spot. The water in salt pond is clear and excellent for snorkeling; we saw grouper, barracuda, sea turtles, and a large spotted ray just to name a few. And the view from the top of Rams head is Awesome!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

My Husband and I just returned from a 1 week stay on St John. Our first 2 nights we stayed elsewhere, and wish we stayed at the Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel. The location is perfect. We walked to the beach every day and all the restaurants and life is right there. The hotel is spotlessly clean and new, and the beds were luxurious and comfortable! The owners David and Denise are great. They were very accommodating and genuinely care. Breakfast on the balcony each morning was lovely. We've stayed in Cruz Bay at other places before but never again - this place is nicest and a true value for St John.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

My husband and I and our twenty year old daughter just returned from St. John. We stayed a week at the Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel. The location is convenient if you do not plan on renting a car. We stayed in "penthouse" apartment which was on the third floor. The space was roomy and immaculate, one large bedroom, and a sitting room with futon, and kitchen (fully stocked with utensils, etc.). The view from living area was pretty, but shades would be appreciated for that person who likes to sleep later in the am.
We tend to swim/snorkel all day and returned early evening. The bar "G Spot" is located directly behind the building and the music started cranking about 9pm. One night with amplifiers till 1am. BRING EARPLUGS...the stage is about 30 ft from your bedroom window.
There isn't designated parking and that was a hassle, but we were able to find a spot most nights in the public lot approx. three blocks away. No laundry service on site but we did find a laundry a few blocks away. $16/lb.
Breakfast was nice, fruit, yogurt, coffee cake. The owners were very pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on the tail end of our trip to Tortola and found this to be exactly what we were looking for and then some. The room was beyond clean, extremely comfortable and had all of the essentials including a high pressure shower / AC unit (not required for us) ceiling fan / small fridge (to chill the cream rum) / flat screen TV (did not turn on once) and a bed that had a comfort level beyond any that we have experienced in the islands.

The owners were among the most down to earth genuinely friendly caretakers we have had the pleasure of staying with and made us feel right at home. The location was perfect as our favorite liming beach (Honeymoon) was a short hike, ferry dock within minutes and all of the downtown amenities are literally a stones throw away including easy access to taxis.

Although this location is not for everyone (music at night), as casual travelers that go to experience the outdoors and utilize our room as a regroup point for the next day we could not have been any more satisfied.

Although I would prefer to keep this location a secret for future booking availability, I can without hesitation give my highest recommendation and fully look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms were new and clean, the owners were super friendly, breakfast was yummy, and the location was perfect. We hiked to Solomon and Honeymoon beaches, shopped in the little town square, ate some great local food, and took naps everyday because the hotel was right there in the middle of everything. Would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel

Address: 74-2 Cruz Bay Town, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is an intimate accommodation made up of 10 guest rooms and one penthouse apartment suite. The hotel was completely renovated in 2010 and 2013 blending chic Miami boutique hotel decor with the more casual style of an island villa. The result is a clean, simple yet elegant venue. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Cruz Bay town's best restaurants, bars and shopping. This lively location is the perfect spot for accessing all of St. John's beaches and attractions. Just around the corner from the ferry dock (only 250 feet away), Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is the closest accommodation upon arrival to St. John. No taxi or rental car is required and there are no hills or winding roads to traverse - just stroll on over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel St. John

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.