We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Island and Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74-2 Cruz Bay Town, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Symsonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Island and Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We completely enjoyed our stay on St. John's and at Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel. Dave, Denise,and Kathy were amazing host. We stayed in the penthouse which was very spacious, clean, and relaxing. The beauty of this hotel, besides the reasonable price, is that you are within walking distance of anything within Cruz Bay. Denise, Kathy, Dave steered us right on where to eat and how to navigate the island. You are within two blocks of the taxis that will take you anywhere so we didn't feel a need to rent a car and never felt as if we needed one during our 7 day stay. Honeymoon Beach and Salomon Beach are amazing, but you will have to walk to them no matter where you are on the island. FYI - we brought along a collapsable cooler bag that we packed with water, chips, trailmix, and sandwiches from deli grotto to take with us to the beach so we could stay as long as we wanted. Thank you to Dave and Denise for providing a wonderful hotel at a resonable price.

Room Tip: If you are a couple I'm sure one of the other rooms would be great. If you are not, spend the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    64
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
218
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Our first time on St. John & we were very pleased to find this wonderful gem! I was attracted to it by the website description & pictures and it was exactly as described and better! Our room was perfect size for my husband and me: furnished simply, tastefully, and very comfortably, with just the amenities we needed, small fridge, small tv, AC, but also windows that open when we didn't want the AC. Denise and David provide island hospitality at its best, with very helpful info about beaches, restaurants, and everything! Their love of the island is evident and they take the time to share it with you. We loved being able to walk everywhere, to several small beaches, and all around town. The communal balcony is lovely, and the continental breakfast they serve is delicious and relaxing. We will come back to St. John, and we will stay at Cruz Bay Boutique hotel! Thanks to Denise and David for opening this wonderful little hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Just returned from St.John after a 9 day stay at the Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel....Loved the place, We stayed there with my son his wife and my grandaughter in the Penthouse. Great hospitality from the moment we arrived, Denise and Dave the owners are the greatest...They both provided us with great information on where to eat and the great beaches to visit with our grandaughter... Super Clean Hotel and in walking distance to everything . A must is Roma Cafe, super good food for the $. and make sure you ask for Ann Marie she's a wonderful waitress. Beautiful island and we will be back at this hotel to rent the Penthouse again very soon!

Room Tip: Penthouse worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstead, NH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

All we can say is wow! The room was perfect. Immaculately cleaned each morning, very comfortable bed, AC, a nice little flat screen TV (we only used it long enough to catch the weather), a small fridge that is restocked each day with water. The owners Denise and Dave great you on arrival and openly give advise on the best places for drinks (happy hours), good food, best beaches, and anything else you might want to know. They serve a wonderful continental breakfast with pastries & breads, fruit, coffee and juice. We started each day enjoying our breakfast on the couch on the community balcony with the perfect warm breeze. It's the best place to stay to be within walking distance of everything in town. This was our first trip to St John, we chose to spend 3 nights at the Boutique, then rented a jeep and did 3 nights on the other side of the island. We won't do that again, next time we will stay at the Boutique the entire trip, spending time in town and rent a jeep to do day trips to certain trails and beaches. It was everything we expected, and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The hotel was just like the pictures and just as was advertised: "small but well appointed". If you are looking for a place that is conveniently located and will not require that you rent a car, this is the place. I've been to St. John three times and stayed at Caneel (fabulous, but very expensive), Maho (roughing it in paradise), and now Cruz Bay Hotel....we would definitely go back!! The owners are there everyday and so willing to help. The open-air-balcony lobby and the AIR CONDITIONED rooms (that's in caps because it was SO NICE to have!!!) made the stay very comfortable and quaint. The location was absolutely prime...we could hike to Honeymoon and Solomon Beaches during the day and then walk to dinner at the Beach Bar or the Rum Hut and check out all the stores. We had a WONDERFUL honeymoon on St. John and it was comfortable, convenient, and beautiful at the Cruz Bay Hotel! I'm so glad the owners opened this place!!!

Room Tip: Room 5 has a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

there is nothing pretentious about this hotel ... or maybe i should call it a tropical bed & breakfast place to stay. its perfect if you want a simple place to stay in the middle of town within walking distance of everything you want. the rooms are quaint. the owners greet you when you check in. the local nightlife and activities are steps away. i had stayed at the westin for years up until now and i should have just stayed at the cruz bay boutique hotel instead. it doesnt have the westin tennis courts, masseuses & expensive extras ... it just has charm, wonderfully comfortable beds, personal attention and local access. i loved it. dont expect extravagance. but david & denise have made it a home way from home. i will stay there every time i visit st. john from this time on.

Room Tip: ask denise. she is awesome. and will recommend the perfect room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Califon, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

My adult children and I met in St John for a 5 day vacation Oct 2011. We stayed at the Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel and loved it. We rented the penthouse apartment and it was perfect for us. The apartment was spacious, very clean,had a great kitchen and in a perfect location to go sightseeing. The owners of the hotel are extremely helpful with any travel plans. Highly recommend !!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel

Address: 74-2 Cruz Bay Town, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is an intimate accommodation made up of 10 guest rooms and one penthouse apartment suite. The hotel was completely renovated in 2010 and 2013 blending chic Miami boutique hotel decor with the more casual style of an island villa. The result is a clean, simple yet elegant venue. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Cruz Bay town's best restaurants, bars and shopping. This lively location is the perfect spot for accessing all of St. John's beaches and attractions. Just around the corner from the ferry dock (only 250 feet away), Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is the closest accommodation upon arrival to St. John. No taxi or rental car is required and there are no hills or winding roads to traverse - just stroll on over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel St. John

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.