We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drink Here While Waiting for the Ferry to St. Thomas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Tide Bar & Seafood Grill

High Tide Bar & Seafood Grill
5000 Enighed PMB 52 Prince St, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
340.714.6169
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 42 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Drink Here While Waiting for the Ferry to St. Thomas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our experience at High Tide was excellent, especially considering it was accidental. After missing the 2:00 ferry by all of 1 minute, we decided to kill time at this beautiful beach front bar & grill.

For food, we only split onion rings as a snack. These were certainly above average rings, especially when dipped in their array of island hot sauces or ketchup. It was about $10, but at least a large portion for the price. All of the food I saw on other tables (yes I was that guy) looked delicious as well. Most full items like a sandwich with fries were about $15.

My favorite part was easily the drinks. Per our friendly waitresses recommendation, I tried the famed “Bushwhacker”. It’s basically an alcoholic milkshake that rivals anything I’ve had in Vegas. I felt that the drinks and beers were more reasonably priced than the food as well. What can’t be rivaled though is the beautiful beach and bay view along with the relaxing setting. I didn’t get to try any other restaurants in St. John, but I can confidently recommend High Tide to anyone. It’s the perfect spot to wait for the ferry with easy views of everything going on.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    145
    45
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elmwood Park, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cheeseburger in paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Island fantasy spot. Shaded beach/ harbor view, live music, good service, great cheeseburger.
Enjoy the ambiance, the music was a solo steel-drum musician, loud enough to enjoy, soft enough to allow conversation. Just what we came to the islands to do.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

After reading some previous reviews of High Tide, we were hesitant to stop in, but we heard the guitar player/singer and were hungry so we stopped. We had a table right overlooking the beach and the service was fast and friendly and it was pretty busy. Seems everyone serves up a 1/2 pound burger on St John, so my husband and I split one with fries and also ordered a side of onion rings, which were all delicious. We would definitely return to HIgh Tide on our next trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Good food & Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We ate at the High Tide twice during our week stay in the Virgin Islands. Their drinks were fantastic The friends I was with really enjoyed the BBC's, and my Pina Colada's were great as well. The view from the restaurant is also fantastic, with it being water front. The service was always nice and friendly as well. The food was good as well, but its really hard to compete with the view and the drinks. I would definitely eat here again when back in the Virgin Islands.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruz Bay, St. John
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Stop from the water in Cruz Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We run a boat charter business, Singing Dog Sailing, from St. John. We typically host very discerning guests and often either do lunch aboard or stop shore-side in the BVI's. Today our trip was modified last minute due to lack of passports and thus a US waters lunch stop was factored into our overhauled plan. We chose to take our honeymooning guests to HIGH TIDE in Cruz Bay for lunch. Beyond being graciously welcomed & acknowledged by the owners, we each delighted in our meals! NOT just another quick lunch stop...The ingredients were SUPER FRESH (the salads are made with St. John's Iconic Josephine's organic greens) and the plates full and appetizing. One guest had a sandwich with breading and remarked it had the perfect amount--not too much and not too little and the taste was excellent. Service was quick, the guests' beers were COLD and the atmosphere was light, comfortable and pretty given its waterfront location. They also did some recent construction upgrades and now have a cool bistro-like view into the kitchen that gives the whole space a fun vibe. We will definitely suggest this stop to guests on future charters. Thanks Kelly & Jimbo for making us and our guests feel welcome and well fed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Tide Bar & Seafood Grill also viewed

 
 

Been to High Tide Bar & Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Tide Bar & Seafood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.