We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Choice in Cruz Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Grande Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grande Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Bay Street | Cruz Bay Quarter, Cruz Bay 33908, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
North Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A great Choice in Cruz Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

2nd time staying at the Grande Bay and enjoyed another fantastic stay. Super convenient to everything in Cruz Bay, great amenities, clean and well maintained condo resort. Highly suggest you use VRBO or similar to book a unit so you can deal directly with an owner. Just a short way from the ferry, taxi stand, bars and restaurants, Grande Bay will continue to be our first choice in Cruz Bay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    34
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
90
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

On our first trip to Saint John, we stayed at the Grande Bay on a recommendation from a local. It was the best decision ever! A beautiful room with a spectacular view of Cruz Bay, just a short walk from the scores of restaurants, bars and shops of St John. The staff was incredibly accommodating and helpful. It was simply the best vacation we have ever had. Thank you Grande Bay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear jody031560,
Thank you for taking the time to do a review here on TripAdvisor. I am especially glad that our wonderful associates made your trip even more pleasant than our prime location! I will be sure and share your kind words with them.
Best regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our spring break was saved by the staff at Grande Bay Resort. We are a family of 4 and were supposed to be on a Royal Caribbean Cruise out of San Juan and the ship was broken and we spent 2 days on the ship w/o leaving port. Had to make last second arrangements to salvage our spring break. Grande Bay Resort was our find and they were the most accommodating and welcoming people/place that I have ever been. It is a wonderful place to stay and I can't say enough thank yous to the people there. Beautiful facilities and even more beautiful staff. We will be back. Thank you so much
the Pearsons

Room Tip: the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My family stayed in a three bedroom condo at Grande Bay. We were pleased with everything about this condo and would definitely stay here again. Having a reserved- covered parking spot is a big plus. We were able to walk to all of the restaurants and attractions in Cruz Bay,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I can not say enough about this hotel and the staff. Everything was perfect, the room was beautiful with a breathtaking view. There were little extra touches that most places would never do, like cold water in the room, even a bottle of rum and coke in the refrig. When I called I was taking a gamble because I never had seen it and knew no one that stayed there. Paul was most accommodating and any questions I emailed to him he got back to me in a very short period of time and always so pleasant. Then there was Dawn. Talk about going the extra mile. She took care of things that would have been hard for us to do over a phone for example getting us a car and having us picked up at the ferry, which was a challenge because everything kept changing. We had problems with flights and were delayed a day and I must of talked to Dawn 10 times and each time all she did was reassure us that everything was going to be OK and she would handle everything she could at her end, and she did handle it all and always with a smile in her voice. I couldn't wait to meet these incredible people. We had the penthouse and found it to be not a lot more expensive then the other rooms and worth every penny. The location was also perfect. Could walk anywhere you needed to go including the place where our son was having his wedding reception. Just for the record we do a lot of traveling and I have never written a review on a hotel but I felt I had to do it this time so others could enjoy the experience we had. Thank you everyone at Grande Bay

Room Tip: The penthouse was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Happytraveler1948,
Wow, we are all honored to be your first review based on your stay!! While it is true we do cost a little more than others our people, as you experienced, really make the difference. I could not be more proud to work with such fine individuals who really care about all guests first as people and lastly as "revenue". I will certainly share your kind words with Dawn and the entire team here at Grande Bay Resort & Residence club. Please feel free to reach out to me directly when next you think of visiting "Americas Paradise".
Kind regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We are so happy we chose to stay at the Grande Bay Resort this time in St John (7-101 3 bedroom Sueno del Mar, booked through VRBO #579894). After staying at the Westin the 2 previous times, we were able to get much more of the "St John" local feel this time around. This location is perfect because you can walk to everywhere in Cruz Bay, which is nice because of the many restaurants, Happy hours, and shopping options! I LOVED being able to walk everywhere and not have to rent a car the entire time. We even walked to the property from the ferry with our luggage since it's so close! The view from the specific condo we stayed in was absolutely amazing. The condo owner furnished it with a "Pottery Barn" type of feel, which was a really nice treat. The beds were AMAZING, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else on our future trips to St. John. The deck is a wraparound, and the condo had everything we needed. This resort and this condo is our choice from here on out!

Room Tip: 7-101 3 bedroom has amazing views, wraparound deck, wonderful beds, and was just overall amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I booked our 1-BR suite (4-304) through a VRBO owner (managed by St John Villa Co); you can also rent directly through Grande Bay. Great view, end unit, covered patio facing Cruz Bay. The STJ Villa Co rep met us at the Customs dock (we'd ferried in from Jost) and walked us right over to GB. The location can't be beat...almost all the restaurants, bars and shops are a very short walk (3-10 mins) away.

There is a convenience store about 100 yds up the road, but it's limited - suggest you go to just past the police station to the Dolphin Market (maybe 10 min walk) - great selection of whatever you need.

We didn't want or need a car (I think driving on-island must be an 'experience' for sure), but if you know STJ, the beaches are a drive, no matter where you are. Taxis are plentiful - we took a maxi-taxi to Trunk Bay for a morning beach & snorkel trip ($6pp each way). We dove one morning with Low Key Watersports - their shop is right next door to GB.

There are way too many great spots for food and drink, but a few we really like are MOTU (also right next door), Banana Deck, The Terrace, The Beach Bar, Joe's Rum Hut, Quiet Mon, Woody's, La Tapa, Da Livio, Morgan's Mango, and Margarita Phil's.

Hope you enjoy Grande Bay as much as we did - we'll definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Bay Resort

Address: Bay Street | Cruz Bay Quarter, Cruz Bay 33908, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Bay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club is situated hillside overlooking Cruz Bay on St. John in the US Virgin Islands. Set near Wharfside Village, this St. John condominium resort overlooks the emerald and blue waters of Cruz Bay and St. Thomas to the east and the British Virgin Islands to the west. Offering nightly rentals (min. 2 nights) and fractional ownership opportunities in the heart of "Love City". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Grande Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Bay Hotel Cruz Bay
Grande Bay Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.