We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, view was disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Grande Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grande Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Bay Street | Cruz Bay Quarter, Cruz Bay 33908, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Location, view was disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our family of 5 (3 teens) had plenty of space in our 3 bedroom 2 bath condo. It was clean and well appointed. The parking was very tight in the garage for our jeep and took a couple of days to get the hang of parking the car. Our unit was on the lowest floor, so our balcony had a view of the telephone lines and transformers, which was quite ugly. Great spot to be able to walk to the Beach Bar and Cruz Bay restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a space on a higher level for a better view from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    33
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
88
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Souderton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I almost hesitate to write this because this is now one of my closely guarded, lesser known gems. But the staff, the room, and everything about our stay at Grande Bay was too great to keep it all to myself.

From the moment we arrived (when our room was ready 4 hours early for us), the staff couldnt be nicer - every single one of them. The room was so well appointed - clean, well decorated, and had such nice nexpected amenties (complimentary bottle of rum and cokes was our favorite). They thought of everything (beach chairs, cooler bags, etc)!!

The beds were comfy and the views were great. The complimentary happy hours offered every Monday and Wednesday (we went Monday) are truly great (and there is no sales pitch, I was expecting one, just drinks and fun with a really fun staff and locals that help you enjoy the island).

My only complaint is that the pool was in shade all day (liekly the time of year we visited - Decemeber) and there is no pool bar. But with sun on the pool deck, a hot tub, and two bars within about 100 yards of the hotel (and the complimentary rum and cokes) we made do :-)! Oh, also, I am used to resorts where the towels are changed and turn down service occurs daily, and that didn't happen here, but that is such a minor point and we were having too much fun to care.

After staying in a VERY pricy villa for the first few days of our trip, if I was being honest with myself I would have to say that Grande Bay was more fun, more comfortable, and a better value. I will be back!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Michalski
I am glad you didn't "hesitate" to write such a wonderful review; it is much appreciated. I have shared your writing with the entire staff and we are all grateful that you had a memorable stay.

Our Sales Team is second to none and the last thing we would ever want to do is "pressure" a guest into going through a dreaded "fractional sales presentation"! As for the daily Housekeeping usually associated with hotels we model ourselves more like private villas and avoid daily room intrusions. Happy to do so on your next visit!!

Thank you again for your review and please reach out to me directly when you next contemplate travel to "America's Paradise".
Best regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We loved everything about Grande Bay Resort! The penthouse condo we stayed in was clean, modernly decorated, and had such picturesque views from inside & outside on the balconies. We did not need a car..walking distance to Restaurants, shops, ferry dock etc. The Grande Bay staff were so friendly & we loved the fitness center & free Keurig coffee & espresso each morning! I loved Grande Bay & St. John so much, I have already asked my husband if we can go back next year for our 8th anniversary! :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandy, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Loved the location and the beautiful deck views. Some of the friendliest staff I have met throughout my travels. They always went out of the way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Close enough to walk to everything.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear SPenaRobinson,
Thank you for the comments and compliments on our staff! I couldn't agree more that they are our greatest asset. As for the best view ever...that would be when we see you and your family returning to the property, hopefully soon!
Kind regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed in this 4th floor penthouse to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. Chose Grande Bay because of it's proximity to all of the conveniences of Cruz Bay and were not disappointed! Very tastefully appointed and kitchen was well-stocked , however we only used the coffee maker and fridge ;) Having a parking spot in the garage allowed us to rent a jeep and explore the island by day and return to Cruz Bay for dinners and walking around the town by night. Absolutely beautiful views from porch and lanai. Would highly recommend. Zozo's restaurant is absolutely outstanding. Reserve a chair at the bar for dinner at sunset! My only complaint was that the condo is located closest to the beach bars, so when there was a live band at one of these places such as Joe's, do not plan on sleeping before 2-3:00am! Would return to this villa regardless.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We rented a studio (Seaside) directly through the private owner, and it worked out beautifully. She sent greeters to meet us at the ferry, and as we made the short walk through town, they gave us the rundown on where to go and what to do, which was great. The Grande Bay is a great place to stay because of its central location in Cruz Bay. We cabbed it or rented a car to go on adventures and to beaches during the day, but we were thrilled to be steps away from everything, especially the Beach Bar, where we hung out often. Although the beach that the Grande Bay overlooks is not a swimming beach because of boats moored there, it is still a gorgeous view from the balcony, where we spent lots of mornings having breakfast, as well as evenings, watching people stroll past, then falling asleep to the sound of the softly lapping waves. The studio itself was beautifully decorated, with high-quality bedding and a good mattress, which is so important. The pool and hot tub area also overlooks the water, and is a nice place to relax on a night in. We really couldn't have been happier with staying at Grande Bay. Everything was more than satisfactory, and the setting cannot be beat. I have to say, as beautiful as a lot of the villas look, it was pretty terrifying driving up in the insanely steep hills, so I was thankful that we were on flat ground, right near town.

Room Tip: "Seaside" studio....it adjoins two more bedrooms for larger groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Grande Bay twice now. Both times we were given a free room upgrade, which was a pleasant surprise! We've stayed in villas & the Gallows previously, but find Grande Bay to be our favorite spot. The location is SO CONVENIENT, with Cruz Bay restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Assigned parking is also nice (spaces can be tight, but at least you're never looking for a spot). The staff is friendly and very helpful. We will definitely go back. Everything is clean, smells new & the views are spectacular from your private balcony! I'd definitely recommend a visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Bay Resort

Address: Bay Street | Cruz Bay Quarter, Cruz Bay 33908, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Bay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club is situated hillside overlooking Cruz Bay on St. John in the US Virgin Islands. Set near Wharfside Village, this St. John condominium resort overlooks the emerald and blue waters of Cruz Bay and St. Thomas to the east and the British Virgin Islands to the west. Offering nightly rentals (min. 2 nights) and fractional ownership opportunities in the heart of "Love City". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Grande Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Bay Hotel Cruz Bay
Grande Bay Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.