We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing setting for our honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Grande Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grande Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Bay Street | Cruz Bay Quarter, Cruz Bay 33908, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Marlboro, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing setting for our honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We rented a studio (Seaside) directly through the private owner, and it worked out beautifully. She sent greeters to meet us at the ferry, and as we made the short walk through town, they gave us the rundown on where to go and what to do, which was great. The Grande Bay is a great place to stay because of its central location in Cruz Bay. We cabbed it or rented a car to go on adventures and to beaches during the day, but we were thrilled to be steps away from everything, especially the Beach Bar, where we hung out often. Although the beach that the Grande Bay overlooks is not a swimming beach because of boats moored there, it is still a gorgeous view from the balcony, where we spent lots of mornings having breakfast, as well as evenings, watching people stroll past, then falling asleep to the sound of the softly lapping waves. The studio itself was beautifully decorated, with high-quality bedding and a good mattress, which is so important. The pool and hot tub area also overlooks the water, and is a nice place to relax on a night in. We really couldn't have been happier with staying at Grande Bay. Everything was more than satisfactory, and the setting cannot be beat. I have to say, as beautiful as a lot of the villas look, it was pretty terrifying driving up in the insanely steep hills, so I was thankful that we were on flat ground, right near town.

Room Tip: "Seaside" studio....it adjoins two more bedrooms for larger groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    34
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
88
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Grande Bay twice now. Both times we were given a free room upgrade, which was a pleasant surprise! We've stayed in villas & the Gallows previously, but find Grande Bay to be our favorite spot. The location is SO CONVENIENT, with Cruz Bay restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Assigned parking is also nice (spaces can be tight, but at least you're never looking for a spot). The staff is friendly and very helpful. We will definitely go back. Everything is clean, smells new & the views are spectacular from your private balcony! I'd definitely recommend a visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Loved the laid back atmosphere of St John. Stayed at the Grande Bay Resort which turned out to be the best possible choice for location and comfort. The unit was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. We were within easy walking distance to downtown Cruz Bay and all the bars and restaurants. We were a short walk from the ferry dock and several nice grocery stores. There was a nice shopping area, Starfish Market, that had everything you could possibly need. We enjoyed our trip immensley and hope to return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was the second stay on St John for my husband and I. We couldn't have been happier with our choice of the Grande Bay Resort. The condo was beautiful, very nicely decorated and immaculate. All of the resort staff were very friendly and helpful. The owners John and Barbara were very easy to work with. The onsite manager Rochelle was great. The condo was perfectly located in Cruz Bay. We were in easy walking distance to all of the bars and restaurants. We really appreciated all the amenities available for our use. The condo had every possible thing we could need to make our trip a success.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed a week at Grande Bay on our Honeymoon in St. John. We stayed in the penthouse suite and rented from an owner through VRBO. I suggest this, since you can stay for much cheaper. The suite was very nice and well decorated, and had all the right amenities for cooking your own meals. We cooked breakfast and made sandwiches for lunch, but it is hard to resist the great restaurants in Cruz Bay. The view from the huge balcony might have been the best part. Every night we had a glass of wine while we watched the sunset. We also enjoyed the nice pool and hot tub after a long day at the beach. The location was perfect for St. John. We did not rent a car except for one day. When we went to the beaches, we just walked into town and took a taxi. We also walked to dinner each night. Some of our favorite restaurants withing walking distance were the beach bar, banana deck, and Zozo'$.

Room Tip: Book through VRBO if you want to save some money.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

First time traveler to St. John and opted for Grande Bay. Honestly, could not have been happier with the location. I explored every day on the island but in the evenings I explored Cruz Bay. Could walk everywhere without a care in the world, no plan on dinner or drinks, and have a great evening. Would highly recommend. Location easy. Only complaint would be tight parking spots (if thats all I complain about I am stretching) and lack of ESPNU (no one on the island had the Gator game). Otherwise, wonderful and I expect to return with my entire family next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We just returned from a fantastic visit to St. John and a terrific stay at Grande Bay. My husband and I have visited STJ several times over the years and have stayed at various properties around the island. This particular trip was just a quick 3-night getaway, so we knew we wanted to just take it easy and maximize our "island" time - this was the perfect spot!

Arrival: We arrived via cruise ship from New York and "jumped" ship in St. Thomas so we could spend the remainder of our vacation on our favorite island! We had actually rented a unit through VRBO (studio A202) and were met at the ferry dock by a member of the property management staff and driven to the property. We were luckily able to check in immediately, drop our luggage and meet back up with our friends who were continuing on the cruise and only visiting STJ for the day. This is a testament to how ideally located GB is! It took maybe 20 minutes to get to GB, change, grab the cooler/towels (both conveniently included with the unit rental), stop at the Bayside mini market for snacks/beverages and head to the beach!

A202: The unit itself was impeccably decorated with tropical colors and quality furnishings. The king bed was very comfortable (though I didn't much like the pillows). The studio was well laid out and the kitchenette was stocked with everything you could possibly need. One element I particularly appreciated was the abundance of paper towels! It’s such a small thing, but when making coffee each morning, preparing snacks – they are nice to have on hand! I knew there was a washer and dryer in the unit and had brought along a one-load tide pack, but there was already detergent and dryer sheets which came in handy. I also must mention how much we LOVED the balcony. It was actually quite larger than it looked in the pictures and I loved how the owners placed large palms on the right side to deter the view from the neighboring unit. We so enjoyed coffee in the morning and cocktails in the evening and spent a great deal of time here! I should also mention that there is some noise from the beach bar nearby – it did not bother us, but it may be an issue for some.

Grande Bay: The grounds are nicely landscaped and well maintained. Everyone we encountered was very helpful and friendly. We did take advantage of the complimentary coffee and pastries one morning in the main reception building, which is a very nice perk. Alex who staffed the area was very welcoming. I understand that several of the units are being sold for “fractional ownership” aka, time shares. This is not something of interest to us so thankfully we were not pressured into a sales pitch. The pool area is very lovely and there are plenty of chairs and a nice bit of deck space. We loved taking a swim and hitting the hot tub post beach! Again, I cannot say enough about the location – it is completely ideal for anyone wishing to be within walking distance of the many bars, restaurants and shops of Cruz Bay. (We love the Coral Bay side, too!)

Final thoughts: This visit for us was not about exploring the island (which we have done and LOVE, too!). We had a routine - coffee on the balcony, fill the cooler, grab a sandwich at Deli Grotto, hike Lind Point Trail, lounge & snorkel Solomon/Honeymoon, Happy Hour, Dinner, balcony, bed – REPEAT. Grande Bay was the ideal location for our daily “routine” and offered so much in the way of comfort, convenience and amenities. I am so, so pleased with our decision to stay here and the choice of unit. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Bay Resort

Address: Bay Street | Cruz Bay Quarter, Cruz Bay 33908, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Bay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club is situated hillside overlooking Cruz Bay on St. John in the US Virgin Islands. Set near Wharfside Village, this St. John condominium resort overlooks the emerald and blue waters of Cruz Bay and St. Thomas to the east and the British Virgin Islands to the west. Offering nightly rentals (min. 2 nights) and fractional ownership opportunities in the heart of "Love City". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Grande Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Bay Hotel Cruz Bay
Grande Bay Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;