We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Grande Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grande Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Bay Street | Cruz Bay Quarter, Cruz Bay 33908, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Loved the laid back atmosphere of St John. Stayed at the Grande Bay Resort which turned out to be the best possible choice for location and comfort. The unit was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. We were within easy walking distance to downtown Cruz Bay and all the bars and restaurants. We were a short walk from the ferry dock and several nice grocery stores. There was a nice shopping area, Starfish Market, that had everything you could possibly need. We enjoyed our trip immensley and hope to return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
87
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was the second stay on St John for my husband and I. We couldn't have been happier with our choice of the Grande Bay Resort. The condo was beautiful, very nicely decorated and immaculate. All of the resort staff were very friendly and helpful. The owners John and Barbara were very easy to work with. The onsite manager Rochelle was great. The condo was perfectly located in Cruz Bay. We were in easy walking distance to all of the bars and restaurants. We really appreciated all the amenities available for our use. The condo had every possible thing we could need to make our trip a success.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed a week at Grande Bay on our Honeymoon in St. John. We stayed in the penthouse suite and rented from an owner through VRBO. I suggest this, since you can stay for much cheaper. The suite was very nice and well decorated, and had all the right amenities for cooking your own meals. We cooked breakfast and made sandwiches for lunch, but it is hard to resist the great restaurants in Cruz Bay. The view from the huge balcony might have been the best part. Every night we had a glass of wine while we watched the sunset. We also enjoyed the nice pool and hot tub after a long day at the beach. The location was perfect for St. John. We did not rent a car except for one day. When we went to the beaches, we just walked into town and took a taxi. We also walked to dinner each night. Some of our favorite restaurants withing walking distance were the beach bar, banana deck, and Zozo'$.

Room Tip: Book through VRBO if you want to save some money.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

First time traveler to St. John and opted for Grande Bay. Honestly, could not have been happier with the location. I explored every day on the island but in the evenings I explored Cruz Bay. Could walk everywhere without a care in the world, no plan on dinner or drinks, and have a great evening. Would highly recommend. Location easy. Only complaint would be tight parking spots (if thats all I complain about I am stretching) and lack of ESPNU (no one on the island had the Gator game). Otherwise, wonderful and I expect to return with my entire family next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We just returned from a fantastic visit to St. John and a terrific stay at Grande Bay. My husband and I have visited STJ several times over the years and have stayed at various properties around the island. This particular trip was just a quick 3-night getaway, so we knew we wanted to just take it easy and maximize our "island" time - this was the perfect spot!

Arrival: We arrived via cruise ship from New York and "jumped" ship in St. Thomas so we could spend the remainder of our vacation on our favorite island! We had actually rented a unit through VRBO (studio A202) and were met at the ferry dock by a member of the property management staff and driven to the property. We were luckily able to check in immediately, drop our luggage and meet back up with our friends who were continuing on the cruise and only visiting STJ for the day. This is a testament to how ideally located GB is! It took maybe 20 minutes to get to GB, change, grab the cooler/towels (both conveniently included with the unit rental), stop at the Bayside mini market for snacks/beverages and head to the beach!

A202: The unit itself was impeccably decorated with tropical colors and quality furnishings. The king bed was very comfortable (though I didn't much like the pillows). The studio was well laid out and the kitchenette was stocked with everything you could possibly need. One element I particularly appreciated was the abundance of paper towels! It’s such a small thing, but when making coffee each morning, preparing snacks – they are nice to have on hand! I knew there was a washer and dryer in the unit and had brought along a one-load tide pack, but there was already detergent and dryer sheets which came in handy. I also must mention how much we LOVED the balcony. It was actually quite larger than it looked in the pictures and I loved how the owners placed large palms on the right side to deter the view from the neighboring unit. We so enjoyed coffee in the morning and cocktails in the evening and spent a great deal of time here! I should also mention that there is some noise from the beach bar nearby – it did not bother us, but it may be an issue for some.

Grande Bay: The grounds are nicely landscaped and well maintained. Everyone we encountered was very helpful and friendly. We did take advantage of the complimentary coffee and pastries one morning in the main reception building, which is a very nice perk. Alex who staffed the area was very welcoming. I understand that several of the units are being sold for “fractional ownership” aka, time shares. This is not something of interest to us so thankfully we were not pressured into a sales pitch. The pool area is very lovely and there are plenty of chairs and a nice bit of deck space. We loved taking a swim and hitting the hot tub post beach! Again, I cannot say enough about the location – it is completely ideal for anyone wishing to be within walking distance of the many bars, restaurants and shops of Cruz Bay. (We love the Coral Bay side, too!)

Final thoughts: This visit for us was not about exploring the island (which we have done and LOVE, too!). We had a routine - coffee on the balcony, fill the cooler, grab a sandwich at Deli Grotto, hike Lind Point Trail, lounge & snorkel Solomon/Honeymoon, Happy Hour, Dinner, balcony, bed – REPEAT. Grande Bay was the ideal location for our daily “routine” and offered so much in the way of comfort, convenience and amenities. I am so, so pleased with our decision to stay here and the choice of unit. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel is incredible, the staff are the friendliest!
I highly reccomend this hotel to anyone that wishes to travel to St John. The last time we were there we had stayed at the Westin, which don't get me wrong is beautiful, but this hotel is walking distance from the ferry and town and again the staff are wonderful, wonderful people!
We flew back to New York on Sunday right before the hurricane and we wish that we were still there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Monica4321
On behalf of everyone here at Grande Bay thank you for staying with us. I sincerely hope that everything and everyone is OK after the storm in New York. Looking forward to your next visit .
Sincerely
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed at numerous places in the islands and Grande Bay outshines them all. The people here are all tremendously talented and Paul must be commended for hiring such a proffesional, courteous staff. Everyone is so friendly and the entire resort is beautiful. Tastefully decorated rooms, comfortable beds, well stocked kitchens and everything you need for a beach outing is available. Pool and hot tub area is awesome. Walk to town In less than 5 minutes and a great bad, Motu, right near the entrance. We are returning in June and can't wait to be back. Sunney and David.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear David B
I am extremely proud of my co-workers and thank you for the kind words about them...they are the best! All of us here anxiously await your return "home" to St. John. Hurry back!
Sincerely,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grande Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Bay Resort

Address: Bay Street | Cruz Bay Quarter, Cruz Bay 33908, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Bay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club is situated hillside overlooking Cruz Bay on St. John in the US Virgin Islands. Set near Wharfside Village, this St. John condominium resort overlooks the emerald and blue waters of Cruz Bay and St. Thomas to the east and the British Virgin Islands to the west. Offering nightly rentals (min. 2 nights) and fractional ownership opportunities in the heart of "Love City". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Grande Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Bay Hotel Cruz Bay
Grande Bay Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.