We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in a long time!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spyglass - CLOSED

Spyglass
Second floor, Wharfside Village, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
340-776-1100
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $49
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Spyglass Restaurant Dining with a View. Lunch 11am-3pm Sunset Happy Hour 3pm-6pm Dinner 5pm-til. Enjoy a creative menu and phenomenal view from Spyglass restaurant. Come in for a casual lunch and watch the boats sail by. Want to see the best sunsets on St. John? Happy hour at Spyglass is the place to be. At dinner, enjoy the tranquility of the waves crashing below and the twinkling lights of St. Thomas in the distance. Spyglass Dining with a VIEW! Enjoy.
Cruz Bay, St. John
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best meal in a long time!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

We usually come here for the happy hour ( fish tacos, wings, drink specials) but came in for dinner when we heard that the kitchen staff had been changed. Were we in for a treat!! Started with spicy mussels and a clam dish with a saffron broth. Then we all shared the lobster risotto, steak over mashed potatoes and fish and chips. Every plate was cooked and presented perfectly. The brownie and ice cream dessert were the perfect end to our fantastic meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    112
    33
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Happy Hour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have spent the last two late afternoon/ evenings at the Spyglass. After a day in the water it's great to find a place with consistent personable and friendly service, great happy hour prices, casual atmostphere, and great view sunset views. Happy hour is from 3-6 with $3 rum drinks and food specials. I would recommend the fish tacos, 2 for $5 and the chicken wings, 6 for $6 as a inexpensive dinner while you watch the sun set.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“They were out of everything I asked for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I gave up and paid a lot of money for a boring pasta dish i could have at home from a jar. 6 people and not one of us had an even ok meal. Hate to write a bad review, but it was our worst night out in St John in 15 years.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“This place ended up our favorite spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

After wandering into this place because their H.H. starts an hour sooner [3:00pm] than the other happy hours in cruz bay, we were pleasantly surprised. View was great and the happy hour specials were fantastic. Mahi tacos were 2 for $5 during HH and they were the best we had ever had. Also great were the pulled pork sliders, pulled pork tacos and wings, all for $5 during HH! We wish we had found this place earlier because we would of visited more than twice. Can't go wrong!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spyglassvi, Owner at Spyglass, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
i would like to apologize for the "out of everything"
we really strive to stay on top of our inventory, however it appears we failed. i offer my apologizes
for you experience.


please forgive us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great sunset view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Service was intermittent, some emergency occurred. Once resolved service was good, nice atmosphere, arrived too late for happy hour but were told that it was the best, so we stayed for the sunset, nice!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spyglassvi, Owner at Spyglass, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
the spyglass thanks you for your pleasant experience and look forward to your visit again.
our staff really strives to provide everyone with a amazing experience and quality service, we stumble sometimes but not because we aren't trying.
thank you again...look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spyglass also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spyglass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.