We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Happy Hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spyglass - CLOSED

Spyglass
Second floor, Wharfside Village, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
340-776-1100
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $49
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Spyglass Restaurant Dining with a View. Lunch 11am-3pm Sunset Happy Hour 3pm-6pm Dinner 5pm-til. Enjoy a creative menu and phenomenal view from Spyglass restaurant. Come in for a casual lunch and watch the boats sail by. Want to see the best sunsets on St. John? Happy hour at Spyglass is the place to be. At dinner, enjoy the tranquility of the waves crashing below and the twinkling lights of St. Thomas in the distance. Spyglass Dining with a VIEW! Enjoy.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

A bit hard to find but worth the effort. Happy hour appetizers were excellent, chicken wings among the best I've ever had. Cheap drinks, great view..nothing not to like .

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    112
    33
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I think one of the best location's on St. John. A hidden gem up a few flight's of stair's on over the top of a very popular restaurant. All open air and over looking Cruz Bay. Ship's, Ferrie's, Fisherman sell it all. Hit happy hour the first night in town. As other's mentioned very good taco, and nacho's, etc. We did not make it back for diner, but I would recommend as a must stop for at least a drink and the view.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed happy hour at Spyglass twice during our week's stay in Cruz Bay. Great Wings & Cheap beer! I'd pass on the fish tacos-weird flavor, ,aye it was the salsa?!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Happy hour with great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

A busy place with great food, great view and personable staff. Stopped during happy hour, grabbed a bite to eat with drinks. Ended up coming back another night.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great tacos during happy hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

the 2 for $5 tacos are a great deal and were pretty tasty. The view was fantastic! The happy hour drink prices were decent though the drinks were only average. The bartender and waiter were cordial though not genuinely friendly as the others we met on our trip. I didn't get the "i love my job" vibe that so many others seem to have. They were rather slow as well. One evening i had the sliders and wouldn't recomend them. It took almost 30 minutes to get them and i kinda suspect the waiter forgot to put the order in until i asked about them as it was in no way busy. Will go again for a quick stop of tacos and view during happy hour.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spyglass also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spyglass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.