We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal overlooking Cruz Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spyglass

Spyglass
Second floor, Wharfside Village, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
340-776-1100
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 40 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Price range: $15 - $49
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Spyglass Restaurant Dining with a View. Lunch 11am-3pm Sunset Happy Hour 3pm-6pm Dinner 5pm-til. Enjoy a creative menu and phenomenal view from Spyglass restaurant. Come in for a casual lunch and watch the boats sail by. Want to see the best sunsets on St. John? Happy hour at Spyglass is the place to be. At dinner, enjoy the tranquility of the waves crashing below and the twinkling lights of St. Thomas in the distance. Spyglass Dining with a VIEW! Enjoy.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great meal overlooking Cruz Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

After a short ferry ride over from St. Thomas, the Spyglass was our first stop in Cruz Bay; the drinks were cold, the food was hot, and the view from this upper-deck bayside restaurant was great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    111
    33
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“So-So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

While it has a decent view the prices may seem ridiculous. Penne pasta with pomodoro sauce $24 or one crab cake $17, Caesar salad $13, Lobster Bisque $11. The lobster bisque was actually pretty good. Stick to drinks ant the view why your here and I suggest going elsewhere for food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paris, IN
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Place for Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Four of us went to Happy Hour here. Drinks were great. Service was great and the view fantastic. We ordered off the Happy Hour menu and were very pleased with every thing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good drinks, inexpensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

After dinner we had some time to kill before the next ferry back to St. Thomas. Spyglass was one of the few places that was still open after 9pm on a Thursday night. We enjoyed piña coladas at the bar where we chatted with the bartender and a server who were also from the States.

Friendly atmosphere. Good prices. I hope that you find this review helpful. Message me or check out my reviews for Morgan's Mango or High Tide in St. John or for Coco Blue and the Ritz-Carlton in St. Thomas.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Mind blowing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Most amazing atmosphere and frendly people I have ever had the chance to meet and as well as be a server to us !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spyglass also viewed

 

Been to Spyglass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spyglass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.