We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great snorkeling adventure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sadie Sea Charters

Sadie Sea Charters
St. John National Parks Dock | PO Box 459, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
340-514-0778
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome Aboard!!Come join us on one of St. John's most recognizable boats for an experience that is second to none. Allow Captain Tom & First Mate Amy to guide you around the waters surrounding St. John and come see why it is called the "Jewel of the Caribbean".Sadie Sea is a U.S. Coast Guard licensed and inspected 40' Lindsey Trawler with shaded seating downstairs and a sunny upper deck to satisfy whatever your cruising pleasures may be. Sadie Sea can carry 37 passengers in U.S waters and is perfect for large groups or for a more intimate experience we can take a minimum of 4 passengers.Come to see what can be seen only from a boat and leave with a lifetime of memories and stories. We have many different trips to satisfy your tastes and adventure styles, or come up with your own itinerary and the boat is yours for the day.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Cypress, Texas
1 review
“Great snorkeling adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Captain Tom is a wonderful captain and very knowledgeable about Cruz Bay. Tom took us out to two coves where we were able to see sting rays, turtles and lots of sea life. He took us to remote places where it was not touristy. It was the best snorkeling that I have ever done! We had two children on the boat, and Tom was very patient and generous with them. We never felt rushed or hurried. Tom even gave us some great tid bits about the island. Thanks Tom for the wonderful afternoon that we will always cherish!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best snorkeling adventure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Captain Tom is the owner of the Sadie Sea and treats his guests as personal friends. When he picked our group up from the Reef Bay Hike, there was a family that missed thier Snorkling trip with another company and Tom invited them to join our group at no cost. I was really impressed. He is very paitent with his guests and great with the kids.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Sadie Sea - Great Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

While searching online for fun water things to do while in St. Thomas for our group of four friends I found the link to Sadie Sea, a morning of snorkeling seemed to fit the bill well. What attracted me to Sadie Sea was that her captain, Tom, was the owner / operator and had lots of boating experience with the US Coast Guard and also sailed around the world. For me this spelled integrity, safety and sea knowledge.

I reached out to Tom via the web interface “contact us”, Tom emailed back within a half hour and after a preliminary e-chat, I decided to book.

Coming into the port on the ferry we spotted Sadie Sea anchored to a mooring ball, painted red with crisp white lines, she looked proud. Tom met our group of four guys as scheduled and tendered us out (a short distance) to Sadie Sea.

We met Tom’s crew once on board and we headed out. Tom knows his waters well, we travelled to four spots for snorkelling, on each passage Tom pointed out various landmarks and features. Our time on Sadie Sea was a highlight of our Caribbean Cruise, we had lots of good laughs, felt very comfortable and went to places we would not have if we chose a shore excursion through the ship. Would we book with Tom again, without question yes.

Allan A
Toronto, Ontario

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chelmsford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“St. John USVI - Awesome trip around the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

A week ago we returned from St. John USVI with some of the most awesome memories - the strongest of which were the day spent with Captain Tom and Scott on the Sadie Sea. They took us to amazing places to snorkel - a mangrove cove in Hurricane Hole and Booby Rock to name a few. It's difficult to describe how it felt swimming with thousands of fish, rays and turtles - barracudas, too. Captain Tom and Scott are very experienced with snorkeling and diving and were happy to share their knowledge of natural history with us. They chose a beautiful spot to enjoy lunch which was followed by more snorkeling stops. We had a fantastic day together with our party (11) and with the crew. Our thanks to Captain Tom and Scott. We plan to join with you again in a few years when we plan to return to St. John. Next time perhaps with SCUBA equipment.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Around St John with Captain Tom on Sadie Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was our second time spending a day on Sadie Sea with Captain Tom and Scott. This time we did the "Around St John" tour where the Captain took us to four wonderful snorkeling spots where we were the only boat there. The snorkeling was great and Captain Tom and Scott are friendly, informative, and very helpful. The boat is very comfortable and easy to get in and out of the water. We would highly recommend a day on Sadie Sea. Thanks Captain Tom!! Hope to see you next April.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sadie Sea Charters also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sadie Sea Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sadie Sea Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.