We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bread and chocolate coconut bars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deli Grotto - CLOSED

Deli Grotto
507 Mongoose Junction, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Huntsville, TX
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Excellent bread and chocolate coconut bars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We just ordered the home baked bread and chocolate coconut bars but both of these were delicious. They sliced the bread for us which was a large round loaf. The chocolate coconut bars were so delicious that we came back and ordered more.. The prices here are reasonable for St. John.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    65
    15
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pa.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good pastries, OK sandwiches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I stopped for lunch one afternoon. I had the balsamic marinated portobello, but it was like eating pure vinegar, too much. My husband thought his sandwich was good, but nothing super special. I did return almost everyday for their pastries. They have a great selection on the island and everything was really good. Banana bread was a tad dry, but tasty and everything else we tried was fantastic. Highly recommend the pastries. Will go to Sam and Jacks for sandwiches.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches to take to the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We always stop here to pick up lunch on our way to the beach. Very fast service. Good value. They have salads and good smoothies too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Bought a couple sandwiches for our trip on the dingy to the beaches. They were large and filling for the typical island price for food. Open early so plenty of time before rental to have made fresh.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“TO GO sandwiches are a must - when taking the Reef Bay Trail hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We forgot to bring sandwiches for the Reef Bay Trail hike, led by a USVI Park Ranger, a great 3 miles DOWNHILL hike with no uphill, because the Park Service has arranged for a boat to pick you up at the bottom and take you back to Cruz Bay.

We forgot to bring any food for the hike, but the Grotto Deli came to the rescue!! Great sandwiches, especially after hiking for a few hours. Sandwiches, pastries, you name it, they have conquered YUMMY!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deli Grotto also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deli Grotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.