We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Grill

Ocean Grill
Mongoose Junction, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
340-693-3304
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 40 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Price range: $1 - $38
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Ocean Grill takes tremendous pride in consistently delivering to you a delicious and personal dining experience - contemporary cuisine with a casually elegant tropical flair - upscale, innovative dishes emphasizing clean, crisp, fresh ingredients without being fussy or heavy. Casual by day and white tablecloth tropical chic by night, within a stone walled courtyard, built in traditional Danish style plantation architecture, visitors & locals alike give rave reviews for our inspired lunch and dinner menus.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 NEW

My husband and I have a timeshare on the island of St John USVI. We have been going there for years and never knew Ocean Grill was there.It's on the 2nd floor in Mongoose Junction.We were so pleasantly surprised.The location is great,the food was wonderful and the service was top notch.Not to mention the Milk Chocolate Moose I had for desert was to die for. I had the Stirfry vegetables over rice with chicken added and my husband had the Bouliabaisse.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    148
    33
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“pretty yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 NEW

4 of us ate there. All claimed it was delicious with the slight exception of the lobster tail of one party being slightly overcooked. Back door lemonade is their signature drink and it is delicious.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing dessert, great ambiance & location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We have been eating at this restaurant quite a few times and it's always a great experience. The food is great, the menu changes frequently, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the desserts are top top notch, simply amazing (best cheesecake ever?). We'll return!!

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruz Bay, St. John
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere, don't forget to order dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

This restaurant situated in beautiful Mongoose Junction is a must do for those dining out on St. John. Desserts are all hand made by the owner Patty and they are to die for!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal and homemade desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The grilled lobster was excellent. As well as, the eggplant appetizer. All of their desserts are homemade. Leave room. The banana and chocolate rolls are to die for. Request a table in the gazebo. The steel band music makes the atmosphere.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Grill also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Ocean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.