We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Grill

Ocean Grill
Mongoose Junction, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
+1 340-693-3304
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 47 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Caribbean, Dessert, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ocean Grill takes tremendous pride in consistently delivering to you a delicious and personal dining experience - contemporary cuisine with a casually elegant tropical flair - upscale, innovative dishes emphasizing clean, crisp, fresh ingredients without being fussy or heavy. Casual by day and white tablecloth tropical chic by night, within a stone walled courtyard, built in traditional Danish style plantation architecture, visitors & locals alike give rave reviews for our inspired lunch and dinner menus.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Based on reviews, etc we went there with another couple. I thought the food was very good, but not blown away. My husband was not impressed with the servers knowledge of wine and was disappointed with the bottle ordered (notwithstanding the hefty price on it). I liked it, but probably not enough for the wait and price.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    195
    38
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“There are much better for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Love the idea of ocean grill. Mongoose junction has excellent shopping. But skip this restaurant unless your wallet runeth over. Food is overpriced, service is ok and worst of all is air flow. Can we get a fan up in here? Better off going to virgin fire also at mongoose junction. Best 2 restaurants in Cruz bay are rhumb lines and tapas if you are looking for a truly spectacular meal accompanied by great service and yes, plenty of fans so you can keep your cool.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We ate here after our wedding and weren't disappointed. The food was great and there was live music. The staff are very polite, professional, and were extremely accommodating with helping with our wedding dinner. Nice outdoor atmosphere (isn't air conditioned).

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Don't skip dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The prices are a bit on the high side. The atmosphere is nice sitting under the shady palms. Our waiter was attentive and helpful to suggest options. We didn't experience any food poisoning as some of the other reviews stated. We would sum up our experience by saying that the lunch was good and the desserts were really good. My husband had the tuna and chicken BLT. The fresh-made bread was a nice addition to the meal. We should have skipped the sandwiches and just ate all the desserts. Worth stopping in, but be prepared for two people - 2 lunches, 2 beers, 2 desserts about $80 with tip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant on St. John”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We liked everything about our experience at Ocean Grill. The outdoor setting was very comfortable. We loved the earthy smell! The seafood was delicious and the service was superb. It was our 17th anniversary and we were very glad we chose Ocean Grill!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.