We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Grill

Ocean Grill
Mongoose Junction, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
340-693-3304
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 40 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Price range: $1 - $38
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Ocean Grill takes tremendous pride in consistently delivering to you a delicious and personal dining experience - contemporary cuisine with a casually elegant tropical flair - upscale, innovative dishes emphasizing clean, crisp, fresh ingredients without being fussy or heavy. Casual by day and white tablecloth tropical chic by night, within a stone walled courtyard, built in traditional Danish style plantation architecture, visitors & locals alike give rave reviews for our inspired lunch and dinner menus.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I had lunch after wandering around town and mongoose junction. We had beef tacos and prime rib sandwich special with au jus on side. Very happy and surprised how good the food was. Drinks where great also although small. I expect to eat there again on our next usvi trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    147
    33
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

After a day of swimming and snorkeling at Trunk Bay, we took advantage of the showers at Trunk Bay and dressed and had a taxi drop us at Mongoose Junction for a little shopping. Stores were pricey and close early so we had dinner at the lovely outdoor restaurant Ocean Grill. Limited menu but we all found something we liked and the service was good too. Plus is that it was only a 1 minute safe walk to the ferry from there so we didn't have to take another cab.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very good dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very nice outdoor restaurant. The menu was not that big but what we had was great, steak and chicken. The deserts were also very good and homemade, we had the vanilla cheesecake. The restaurant is also very reasonably priced.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a nice evening out. My husband had blackened mahi and I had the salmon. Both were good. We would definitely return.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Calorie-rich offerings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our entrees were well prepared, but I was surprised to see how calorie laden most of the offerings were, given the hot humid temperatures here. The restaurant is outdoors but within Mongoose Junction shopping area, so any breezes come from fans, rather than from off the ocean. I asked for, and received, a table near the floor-level fans so I was comfortable from a temperature point of view. The seats were not comfortable at all with their backs so far sloped, however. They would have been better on a porch near an end table, rather than for table seating. Our server was pleasant, but not all that pleased when we declined wine and elected to share an appetizer and dessert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Grill also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Ocean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.