We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Grill

Ocean Grill
Mongoose Junction, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
340-693-3304
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 42 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Price range: $1 - $38
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Ocean Grill takes tremendous pride in consistently delivering to you a delicious and personal dining experience - contemporary cuisine with a casually elegant tropical flair - upscale, innovative dishes emphasizing clean, crisp, fresh ingredients without being fussy or heavy. Casual by day and white tablecloth tropical chic by night, within a stone walled courtyard, built in traditional Danish style plantation architecture, visitors & locals alike give rave reviews for our inspired lunch and dinner menus.
Covington, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I ate here last year and enjoyed it as well again. The Fish Tacos are AWESOME! My husband had a grouper sandwich, that was good as well. Nice atmosphere, friendly staff. This is no more expensive than any of the other restaurants that we have eaten at.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    163
    35
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Another great vegetarian dish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

My vegetarian tour of St. John continues, and Ocean Grill does not disappoint! Like many other restaurants they have a main "token" vegetarian entree, theirs being Mediterranean Polenta. It has eggplant, tomatoes, zucchini, onions and green beans with it and ohmygoodness is AMAZING. I'm a huge fan of eggplant and that smoky flavor it gets- and they cook it perfectly here. I am so impressed with this dish, and am going to try and create an eggplant-polenta dish when I get home from vacation. Excellent!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“love the food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

If your in paradise stop here and grab a cocktail, we had the mahi mahi and it was outstanding. Those who said the food was meh or OK are dull and have no idea what good food is about.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place for outdoor dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Ate here twice. The first night had live music. Drinks were great. Go to happy hour if you want to save some money on drinks. Good for kids.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Meh...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Ocean Grill is ok. Food on St John is very expensive, but even with that in mind, I didn't feel like this place served up as good a value as comparably priced restaurants. The food was good but not great, and the service was sluggish during our lunchtime visit. The atmosphere is excellent however.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Grill also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Ocean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.