We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "happy" place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden by the Sea B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden by the Sea B&B
Save
You added Garden by the Sea B&B to your Saves list
PO Box 37 | Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Cruz Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
West Creek
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Our "happy" place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

How many times have we stayed at GBTS? Five times, we think. And there's no looking back--we return, year after year. Nancy and John (and their little dog Winnie), Mickie and Frank -- they make us feel special and welcomed.

GBTS is a small 3-room inn just on the outskirts of Cruz Bay. We get a jeep so we can visit the far beaches, but it's a very easy walk into town at night to go to the restaurants. It's painted in vibrant colors, and has wrap-around deck, wind chimes, hummingbird and bananaquit feeders, overlooking a salt pond, and the ocean and St Thomas beyond.

The day starts with coffee on the deck. Between 8-9 am, breakfast is served on the deck--will it be Pina Colada french toast? Eggs benedict? Blueberry pancakes? Frittata? Always juices and home-made smoothies. Chatting with our hosts and the other guests, we plan our day--what lovely beach shall we visit? Where shall we dine?

We normally stay in the Terrace View room--it has it's own little porch. Inside, the vibrant colors continue, along with the bamboo four-poster bed. Love the bathroom with its cobalt blue tiles.

There are robes, plenty of towels, a CD player. All of the comforts of home. I can't wait until next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
109
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed at GBTS for our 3rd time, again in the room upstairs. Place is still great, Frank and Mickey were great hosts and prepared a great breakfast every morning. If we come back without the kids this is definitely the place to stay, just off the beaten path but short walk to town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centereach, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

First, I'd like to say how much I liked St. John. Because much of the island is
National Park area, it hasn't been turned into an island of condos and high rises as have some
of the other Caribbean islands.
What made St. John even more special was our stay at Garden By The Sea. After a remake of the movie Planes, Trains and Automobiles(and boats), we finally arrived at this B&B and all the tension of travel was dissolved quickly. We were greeted as soon as our jeep pulled into the driveway by our hosts Frank and Mickey. Frank grabbed our bags and guided us to a little paradise within a bigger paradise. The home is elevated above ground level with a balcony that overlooks palms, papayas and lots of other vegetation. Bird feeders around the balcony bring colorful little birds close to you. Breakfasts are also served on this balcony. There is a very comfortable large common room that opens out to this balcony. A table in this room has a wealth of informative books spread out covering reef fish, coral, island history, hiking trails...
And if you aren't into reading, Frank and Mickey can suggest hiking trips, snorkeling locations, restaurants and pretty much anything you liked to know about the island. Coffee awaited us when we stepped out of our room in the morning and a delicious breakfast was served on the
balcony. Our room, the Garden Suite, consisted of a bedroom, separate living space that could accommodate another sleeper and a bathroom with a unique shower that was open-
air(but secluded). All comfortable and clean.
There is an honor bar in the common room. After your active day, grab a cold V.I. brew, drop a couple bucks in the basket and relax on the common room couch while flipping through some of
the reef books to identify what you had been looking at during a fun day of snorkeling.
Probably our only problem(a small one) was the cycling of the room air conditioner, which would awaken us each time the compressor cycled on. Neither of us is used to A/C so maybe one becomes used to that intermittent sound. We resolved it by cooling the room before retiring and then switching to "fan" mode at night when the cooler night air was enough for us. After a long day of activities, we were soon sleeping like rocks.
The other guests we met during our stay were all wonderful. It was very hard to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Saint-John was exactly what we expected and hoped for: sandy white beaches, crystal clear water, a laid-back atmosphere, amazing playground for anyone who likes to camp, hike, snorkel, sail, paddle board and more. What we hadn't expected was to fall in love with this little B&B tucked away behind Cruz Bay. Garden by the sea was one of the highlights of our trip. The house is colorful, clean, surrounded by garden and tall trees, and the occasional hummingbird. Our hosts were wonderful cooks and they showed nothing but kindness, authenticity and humor, as well as infinite knowledge of the Island. They played an instrumental role in the last 5 days of our trip, organizing our activities and guiding us towards the best spots on the island. We stayed 4 nights...but we would've stayed forever! MJ&Frank

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

It is our last day in paradise today. Spent eight incredible days here at Garden by the Sea. Our hosts Frank and Mickey went out of their way every day to make sure their guests had a wonderful time. From the moment we arrived we were treated like family.
The B&B overlooks a salt pond just south of Cruz Bay. It is only about a 10 minute walk (tops) to town. Just the perfect distance to have dinner in town without the need for a car, and without the hustle and bustle of Cruz Bay when you are looking for some quiet time.
We were in the Garden Suite. This particular room has a screened in garden shower that we really enjoyed. Still can't figure out how they keep that room so clean and without a single no see 'um insect. It is really beautiful.
You won't need to pack beach towels, chairs, coolers, or snorkel gear for your trip. All that is provided at the B&B for no additional charge. You can use the phone in the sitting area to make dinner reservations. Our favorites are Morgan's Mango and Rhumb Lines, but there are many great restaurants in town Mickey and Frank were very helpful with dinner suggestions. They also made arrangements for day sails, and kayaking for us which we highly recommend as well.
Probably the best part of staying here had to be the breakfasts; enjoying gourmet frittatas, Maine blueberry pancakes, eggs Benedict and other culinary delights while Bananakeets, Bull Finches, and Hummingbirds flit about this serene deck overlooking Frank Bay.
We had to rebook our trip to the islands due to a family illness. Garden by the Sea worked with us to get our full deposit back. Other establishments and of course the airlines all kept their 'deposit' with no discussion of their ability to rebook other guests. We were so pleased with Garden by the Sea's kindness, that we chose them for the full stay once we were able to finally rebook our trip.
As noted by many others, Trip Advisor's ranking system sometimes doesn't make any sense at all. Here's another case. Garden by the Sea is hands down the best B&B on St. John!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We just recently returned from a very relaxing and enjoyable vacation on St. John, staying at Garden by the Sea B&B. Frank met us as we stepped off the cab with a very warm welcome! We were sold from that point, however it only got better! Frank oriented us to our home away from home and drove us downtown to show us how to get there. Now that's service! The walk into town each night was refreshing, fun walking down the path, and above all, safe. Breakfast each morning was excellent, we never went away hungry or dissatisfied. Frank and Mickey are the perfect hosts. We so enjoyed talking with them each day. They asked us each morning what our plans were and if they could help with them. Each suggestion they gave us were right on the money, from the beaches to the restaurants, to the hiking trails, where to get a good sandwich, directions to the various beaches, best snorkeling spots, etc. They provided beach chairs, coolers, beach towels, water bottles (plenty of water by the way), apples, oranges, and frozen water bottles to keep our lunch cold and also served as more water to drink. They are willing to help out in any way they can to make your vacation the best.

They have an honor bar which we used each night. Having a cocktail on the deck before dinner was a great way to start the evening. There is a refrigerator with a shelf designated for each room so you can put purchased items in there to keep fresh. They have extra sunscreen and bug spray (which we never needed) amongst other items.

We stayed in the Garden Terrace room at the top of the stairs. A very well appointed room and so comfortable. We slept SO sound each night! We just loved it. And the views, well, just beautiful.

The day we left, our flight didn't leave until late afternoon. Frank and Mickey stored our luggage so we could walk around town and shop. They meet us by the ferry dock prior to our departure with our luggage so we didn't have to go back and get them. That is going above and beyond and we truly appreciated that.

This was the most relaxing and best vacation ever. Frank and Mickey are the best. We can't wait to return to our home away from home. Don't think twice about staying at Garden by the Sea, this is the place to be. Thank you!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. No matter what your choice, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We spent 4 nights at Garden by the Sea and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were in St. John to attend a family wedding and had the opportunity to see not only our choice of lodging but also that of other family members who chose to stay closer to the center of town. We were so glad we that we made our decision to stay at Garden by the Sea!

Our innkeepers, Mickey and Frank, warmly welcomed us after a long day of travel and oriented us to the amenities of Garden by the Sea. A full hot breakfast served from 8 – 9 a.m. with a pot of coffee ready and waiting in the kitchen by 7:00 a.m. couldn’t help but get each day off to a good start. We stayed in the Wild Ginger room and especially enjoyed the garden shower and the tropical room motif. Our room was fresh and inviting, including terry cloth robes, beach towels, plenty of shower towels, A/C and Wi-Fi. Our hosts were available to answer questions about island activities and restaurants as well as provide a ride to town with our suitcases when it was time to leave (no need to call a taxi).

The 15 minute walk linking Garden By The Sea to town included a variety of points of interest including a tropical path that passed by The Coconut Coast Studio (home of a local watercolor artist whose ornaments were displayed at The White House), Frank Bay (picturesque with a variety of boats anchored), and an assortment of residential and vacation lodging properties that reflect the flavor of the island. We walked this trek multiple times a day, both after dark and during daytime hours.

If you are looking for a relaxing tropical Bed & Breakfast experience, you won’t be disappointed by Garden by the Sea!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden by the Sea B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden by the Sea B&B

Address: PO Box 37 | Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden by the Sea B&B is the quintessential Caribbean home: bright, colorful walls; local art and paintings; gingerbread trim; lush gardens with coconut and banana trees; & nesting birds, iguanas, and peacocks. We are located in the heart of Estate Contant and Enighed – a funky little neighborhood within walking distance of Cruz Bay and 1 ½ blocks from Frank Bay Beach. Your hosts have lived on St. John for over 12 years and are very familiar with the island and the national park and are very willing to help plan your daily activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden By The Sea Hotel Cruz Bay
Garden By The Sea Bed And Breakfast
Garden By The Sea B&B St. John/Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden by the Sea B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.