We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Battery Hill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battery Hill Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Battery Hill Condominiums
Save
You added Battery Hill Condominiums to your Saves list
Frangipani Lane | Of Route 105 (Genip Street), Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
Hotel amenities
VA
1 review
“Loved Battery Hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2008

Battery Hill proved the perfect spot for our family of 4. Property is comprised of only 9 condo units, so has a cozy feel; it is very well maintained and only a short walk to downtown Cruz Bay. Bedrooms have air conditioners, but, being January, there was no need for them. The pool area was a great place to relax after a "tough" day at the beach. We stayed in "Tropical Breeze" which is the largest unit. The kids loved the loft bedroom and we were mesmerized by the awesome views from the deck. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

We stayed at Battery Hill this January and had a wonderful time. "We" included myself, hubby, our 12 year old daughter and 13 year old niece. We booked "Palm Breezes" because it has a large loft bedroom upstairs as well as the downstairs master which gave everyone room to spread out. The decor is tropical, and the condo is very well equipped. This condo has beautiful views in almost every direction, especially from the covered balcony. We spent the days doing the beach thing, and then came back "home" in the afternoons. The kids hung out at the pool until dinnertime while we adults enjoyed our freshly blended frozen margaritas on the balcony, taking in the views of the busy little harbor and open sound. The unit is fully AC, and the kids did use it at night. We never turned it on downstairs as we loved the breezes. You can either grill poolside, eat in or take a short walk downtown for dinner; we did all three. This is a fine family spot; we would come back.

  • Liked — views, convenient loction, well furnished kitchen
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2006

We moved to Battery Hill to avoid construction noise but were sorry to see that construction is alive and well with Grande Bay Resort right next door to Battery Hill! Luckily the noise was minimal but it will be a few months before it is finished. The new complex (right next to Stone Terrace and the Beach Bar) blocks the views across Pillsbury Sound and St. Thomas but luckily the views of Cruz Bay remain unobstructed--for now. Our unit was 'Rainbow's End' and we loved it, nice and airy, quiet air conditioning and cool breezes depending on time of day, and a wonderful outdoor living area, complete with house cat. Right next to the pool, which was nice as we had it to ourselves most of the time. We had heard about noise from the Beach Bar on party nights but since were there during the week it didn't bother us. Might be loud on big weekends or during Carnival. Tom from Suite St. John rental agency was great. We enjoyed the stock of books and games for days when it rained. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2006

My wife, three kids and I spent a wonderful week in St. John and THOROUGHLY enjoyed staying at the Palm Breezes condo. The unit was spacious enough to handle the five of us with room to spare. The main level was open, well furnished, clean and comfortable. We cooked all our meals in the condo and the kitchen was well stocked with all the necessities. Our kids LOVED sleeping in the loft, while the master bedroom downstairs was perfect for the "old folks". The views from the balcony of St. John and Cruz Bay are stunning (see posted pics). We enjoyed the majority of our meals on the balcony trying to soak in as much as possible. The entire condo was air conditioned, but most of the week we just opened up the windows and enjoyed the constant breeze.

The entire Battery Hill complex was very clean and provides use of the pool, gas grill, beach chairs, beach toys and snorkel gear. Its location is only minutes from Cruz Bay and all it has to offer. The locals are very nice, eager to please tourists and just generally love telling about their beautiful island.

The local Battery Hill contact was attentive to any/all of our needs. We had a WONDERFUL time and will DEFINITELY stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2006

The location is good if you want to walk into town, but the town isn't very nice and doesn't feel very safe. There is no meaningful beach to walk to. This is not a scenic place by any means

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2005

We spent a wonderful week in beautiful St. John, staying in Palm Breezes, a penthouse condo with phenomenal views of the turquoise sea, the harbor and the town of Cruz Bay. We enjoyed breakfasts by the pool and cocktails on the balcony, beachcombing during the day and walking into town each evening for dinner at a different restaurant. This unit is well named, as it gets terrific ocean breezes and is fully AC to boot. Palm Breezes is quite family friendly as well, with a large loft bedroom immediately claimed by the four teens we had on the trip, cards and games, and room to spread out. It is decorated in a tropical style that puts you in vacation mode. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2005

St. John is one of the best places in the world! I have never been before and did not know what to expect. I stayed at the Battery Hill Panacea, which is a two-bedroom condo up on a hill with views that are breathtaking. The condo has a balcony in which you can see the ferry come to shore with all the boats and excitement down below. The porter was handy if you needed anything in the condo. The pool was quaint with views of the other islands and romantic sunsets. What I thought was a great aspect of the condo was the proximity of its location to all the action down below. I had my own parking space and could walk everywhere. Parking in St. John is nonexistent pretty much. So, you need to be able to leave your car at your vacation spot, so that you can walk to the fun. This condo was perfect for that. I would stay at the Battery Hill Panacea again. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Battery Hill Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Hill Condominiums

Address: Frangipani Lane | Of Route 105 (Genip Street), Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Battery Hill Condominiums Hotel Cruz Bay
Battery Hill Condominiums St. John/Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battery Hill Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.