We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd trip to Gallows- still love it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gallows Point Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gallows Point Resort to your Saves list
Gallows Point Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cruz Bay
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“2nd trip to Gallows- still love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2005

This is my second time to Gallows. First trip was 10B, this time in 2B. The best part of Gallows is location...it is so easy to walk downtown to the restaurants, shopping, ferry, etc. Second, the units are very clean and well kept. There is a store on site to buy some necessities, as well as an excellent restaurant. The snorkeling out front can't be beat either! The only complaint: there is no beach and the couch bed is quite uncomfortable. I would definitely stay again and recommend it highly. The 2 times I stayed, my boyfriend and I have shared it with another couple, and it has plenty of room!

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    94
    29
    13
    7
See reviews for
87
346
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2005

Stayed in 3C, upper oceanview. Have stayed in lower unit in bldg 3 before and much prefered this one due to the view. It may be the best view of all the units, there is no obstruction at all due to it being situated way in front on the point. On many of the other ones, when you open the side windows your view would be of another building. It's very close to the shore so we could hear the waves especially at night upstairs in the loft. Also we turned off the A/C in the afternoons when we were there so and it was not uncomfortable at all with all the doors/windows open. We were very hot in the lower unit. The furnishings do need some updating but it was very clean and comfortable. There is a stereo with a couple of CD's so you may wan't to bring your own favorites. It's also very private - during our week stay we never saw any of the other guests walk in front of ours, I guess since it is near the end.

Stayed November 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2005

We just returned from our Honeymoon at Gallows Point. We absolutely loved St. John. Gallows is about a 5 minute walk to Cruz Bay and there is no need to take a cab to the city. We stayed in 3c right on the point. I think this was the best view in the entire resort. However, our room could have have used a little care. Housekeeping and water pressure was the only thing that we did not really care for at Gallows. The staff was very quick to fix the pressure to the best of their abilty. (Water is precious on St. John and their isn't much pressure at any of the places.) However, three times during our stay, Gallows ran out of washcloth's and we had to wait about three hours to get them. It was a good thing that we like to eat late. Overall, I think Gallows is the best choice of the main three resorts, Gallows Point, Westin, and Caneel. We toured the Westin and did not like the look of it at all. We also toured Caneel Bay and their beaches are beautiful. Hoever, many of their rooms looked old and they are very expensive. We made the mistake of eating the lunch buffett their and payed $65.00 for lunch. Be sure to rent a car for a couple of days to tour the island. Their are some great views. Also, the food on St. John is wonderful. Be sure to eat at Stone Terrace, The Lime Inn, Cafe Romas, and Morgans Mango. These were our favorites. It was a great trip!!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2005

We just returned from one week on St. John, and stayed at Gallows Point. We found the desk staff to be helpful and friendly, and twice when we asked for more towels, they arrived within 5 minutes. The convenience store staff were great! They arranged our rental car, BVI trip, and more. Our room was clean, great AC, with a view that could not be beat. We went to the Westin for breakfast during our stay and were so glad that we had not stayed there. Very commercial and not a great view, where Gallows was small and very tropical with a beautiful snorkeling beach. Wild parrots, a resident ostrich, and lots of cute lizards. Make sure you plan a daysail with Capt. Phil on the Wayward Sailor-he and Alison were great and it was our favorite day! We learned so much about the sea world from him. Also, make sure you eat at the Lime Inn (especially the Blue Cheese stuffed filet-delicious) and the Bermuda salad. My husband misses it already. All said, we will be booking our return vacation to Gallows next year.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2005

My new Bride and I just returned from our honeymoon, and we loved Gallows, not to mention St. Johns. We stayed in unit 1C, and when we arrived, the sun was just setting, and we enjoyed it on the balcony with the free bottle of champagne that was waiting for us in our room. It was a perfect start to our vacation. Come to find out, the best place to watch the sunset is from your balcony, or at the upstairs bar at Zo Zo's (which is the restaurant at Gallows).

Gallows was great in so many ways. First of all, the location is terrific. Just a short walk into town (Cruz Bay) where you will find many great restaurants and bars, as well as many shops and other activities. Secondly, the pool and deck area right on the water is a great place to relax, and the snorkeling right in front of Gallows is one of the best places to snorkel on the entire island. Thirdly, the staff was very friendly an helpful to anything we needed, and the little gift shop had many goodies for our stay at reasonable prices.

Our first day, we rented a jeep (which Gallows took care of for us) and we drove all around the island. yes, you have to drive on the left side of the road, but its not too difficult to get around. There are some amazing vistas as you drive around the island, and there are pull-offs on the side of the road so you can stop, take it in, and get some great pictures. We stopped at a couple of beaches, did some snorkeling and relaxing. We brought a cooler with us, and had a great day of just exploring.

The second day, we rented a 22' boat from Ocean Runner which is right in Cruz Bay (walking distance again). They were very helpful, and gave us very well marked charts. We originally planned to go to the British Virgin Islands (Tortolla, Jost Van Dyke and Virgin Gorda), but it looked like we might get some weather in the afternoon, so we decided to just cruise around St. Johns. We had heard that the best place to snorkel was Water Lemon Cay which is near the old Sugar Plantation ruins at the northeast end of the island. Well, we weren't disappointed. We saw tons of starfish, turtles, and all kinds of other tropical fish. This place is a must see. Its easier to get to by boat (even one of the dinghies on a nice day), but you can also get there by land and swim to the little island after a small hike.

The rest of the time we spent doing a few other things, but mostly we relaxed and snorkeled right off Gallows Point. Our favorite restaurant by far was the Fish Trap. They had the best fish (the tuna that we ate came off a boat just a few hours earlier) and all of their sauces and dressings are home made daily. We liked it so much, we went back for a second dinner. The owner recognized us, and sent over a free appetizer. We also liked the Banana Deck and the Lime Inn (look for all you can eat peel & eat shrimp on Wednesdays at Lime Inn). The Beach Bar was a great place to throw back a few drinks, and they had the best Bushwhacker on the island. Another must go to bar is Woody's (a divey hole in the wall, but lots of fun - apparently Kenny Chesney's favorite hang out).

The only negative thing I can think of is that the phone in our unit wasn't working, but we didn't really need it. Also, we have Sprint cell service, and got a great signal at Gallows, so if we needed to make any calls, we could.

We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2005

I had previously posted a poor experience that we had at Gallows Point. Because of the exceptional way that the property owners handled the problem, I think it is important to add an addendum to my review. After our trip, we contacted the owners of the property, who were fantastic - they responded quickly and were clearly distressed at our poor experience. They genuinely cared about our experience and made our satisfaction a number one priority. I truly believe that given the owner's response, this issue will be solved on the going forward, and that on-site management will be more cognizant and trained to handle these types of problems. The owners were wonderful, and if considering this property, please know that the owners care about your experience and will do everything to ensure your satisfaction. That should speak volumes, as I do not know many properties that would go the extra mile after your stay. Given the excellent response, I would encourage those considering a visit at Gallows Point - I know I would feel better knowing that the owners had a vested interest in my vacation experience.


Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2005

As someone who travels on business frequently to St. John, I have stayed at many different resorts there-Gallows point surpassed all other accommodations-not only is it an extraordinarily beautiful property, it is peaceful, the staff was kind and friendly, the General Manager and the Resident Manager were knowledgable and attentive, the unit we were in was fantastic-my favorite amenity was the wireless internet in my unit-excellent and innovative decision by Gallows Point-I highly reccommend it for an incredible and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallows Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.