We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gallows Point Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gallows Point Resort to your Saves list
Gallows Point Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“As good as it gets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Gallows Point is paradise. True, it's expensive and the service can be a little wobbly, but this is the Carribbean. Leave your expectations at the door and relax in an incredible setting. My favourite hotel in the Carribbean. I have been four times and I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    104
    31
    13
    8
See reviews for
98
375
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was my first time to the Caribbean. It won't be my last, and I have Gallows to thank for that.

Suite - Incredibly home like. The bed was super comfortable. Kitchen had granite, stainless, and a full size refrigerator. We stayed on the ground floor right on the ocean facing St Thomas - it was the most beautiful sunset EVERY evening. Patio outside with furniture so you can enjoy the scenery and the peaceful environment. The entire front opens and almost turns the place into your own tropical tree house - just watch for the black cats (very friendly) who may sneak in. Huge shower!

Concierge - Aubrey was the nicest and most helpful person I have ever encountered while traveling. She made our trip happen, cuz without her we would have been lost. She was incredibly "chill", as an island dweller should be! We probably drove her crazy with how many visits we made to the gift shop, but she never let us down.

Ocean 362 - Expensive, as everything is on this slice of sandy heaven. You can't beat the view for sunset though! Drinks are very tasty, but you'll pay $13 for one.

Housekeepers - Amazing. Great service and always a smile.

Grounds - Simply awesome. Hammocks by the beach, coconut trees, and a nice pool area. Private snorkeling area with floating dock allows you to meet Frank the barracuda (Frank is what the bartenders in Ocean 362 called him/her). Don't worry, this 4-5 foot long predator of the sea loves tourists and will gladly take a close up of you (he/she hangs out under the floating dock). Tons of fish to see while snorkeling, and you may even catch a glimpse of the local octopus.

Now for the only negatives I could come up with after 8 days...

THERE'S NO GYM. I love working out but had no place to do it here, so we went hiking the island instead (an acceptable alternative when you see the raw beauty of the forests/beaches).

The Wi-Fi here is terrible. We struggled mightily to connect our entire stay, which stinks when you're trying to post the memories of your honeymoon for friends and families to see.

In a nutshell, EVERYONE SHOULD STAY HERE AT LEAST ONCE IN THEIR LIFE. I didn't want to leave. You won't want to either. Gallows... may we meet again in the near future! Thanks for making our honeymoon better than I could have ever imagined.

Room Tip: Unit 3B is where we stayed and it was fantastic. stay away from Harbor rooms, as they pick up the ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were in Unit 2B. We stayed 5 nights. It was on the ocean side with great ocean views as advertised. The Unit was clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower was fabulous. The decor was "tropical average" and the amenities were hit and miss. E.g. the first few days there was no bar soap only liquid, which I do not like to use on my face and in the shower. Around the 3rd day bar soap showed up. Beach towels were there the first few days, then not restocked after that. The kitchen dish towels were removed about the 3rd day and not restocked. Little annoyances, true but for close to $700 a day, these things should not have to be chased down. The two things that really bothered us about Init 2B/ Gallows are:

1) The air conditioner was very loud, particularly when it first kicked on, we were woken up every night, several times a night by the noise. It sounded like a jet engine. Heed this warning if you VALUE your sleep. We checked out of the resort exhausted. We tried sleeping one night without AC, but woke up drenched with sweat during the night. Again, for the cost of the unit, AC should be a non-issue. A Mr. Slim type AC unit would work very well in this unit. It is possible to have quiet with a split duct system. The owners really need to address this.

2) The staff were not very pleasant I am sorry to say. Except for Jean the bellhop and one of the night front desk guys, we received a cool response almost anytime we asked a question at the front desk. My whole family felt we were inconveniencing them or interrupting something when we made a simple request ( May we have some beach towels, chairs, a taxi). I wish the room was as chilly as the reception area. Sadly, we were very put off by this. The manager's reception was very nice and the receiving line was very pleasant but that was it.

Finally, I will tell you if you don't value your time, and don't mind wasting lots of time sitting in taxis, because you will be at the mercy of taxi drivers all week, then you will enjoy the island. One time the front desk called a taxi for us and we were told it would be about 15 minutes so my daughter went back to the room for her hat. The taxi driver showed up in 5 minutes and proceeded to yell at us because we were wasting his time. Literally it was a few minutes before my daughter returned. And, after waiting up to 40 minutes in taxi vans all week it seemed incredible to us a driver had the nerve to yell at us.

St. John's is beautiful, the beaches are great, and almost every restaurant we went to was really good, Miss Lucy's, Sogo's, The Fish Trap, Ocean Grill and Banana Deck, were all good. We also Loved the Beach Bar for drinks and snacks. They serve a really good crab dip (wish I got the recipe).

Only wish Gallows experience was better because that is a lot of money to walk away disappointed.....Sorry to say we won't return to St. John's there are other islands which treat tourists better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was our third visit to Gallows and we still love it. We could not imagine staying anywhere else on the island. The only thing missing is a beach. Some of the best snorkeling on the island is right in front of your room, you are a very quick walk down the hill to town for restaurants and shopping, and you get the best view on the island. We always stay in the Loft Oceanview rooms and have had a different one each visit and they are all great. I need quiet when I sleep so would never get a Harbour view room and the loft's offer better views than the lower units. The store on the property is awesome. Need some wine, beer or a snack, take a one minute walk to the store and come right back to your room. They also make a pretty good latte, although the coffee that was in our room this time was soooo good. They leave you creamers and sugars in your room so you don't need to leave if you don't want to. The food at Ocean 362 I found to be just as good as ZoZo's. You have to make a reservation for a seat at the bar around 6pm for the sunset. I have done lots of research on other properties in St John's and for us, the convenience, luxury and view from Gallows outweighs our desire to have a beach in front of the hotel. We will definately be back soon! We miss you Gallows!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Gallows Point was awesome and without a doubt was better than we had expected. Room was beautiful and nicely furnished, of course the location was amazing. Anna at the front desk was very nice, helpful and very funny. What really stood out was how beautiful the grounds were and how close you are to everything, the location really is perfect. The unit and the pools definitely could've been cleaner, nothing atrocious but considering the fact that its a rather pricey hotel you do expect those things to be up to par. This was just a small thing and it didn't effect our trip really. We stayed in a harbor view room and there was noise at night from a bar down the street but it was no big deal and we all slept fine. Overall Gallows Point was perfect, we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms are really not as bad as everyone makes them out to be-you can hear noise at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Gallows has a reputation and all I can say is that it lived up or down to its perception. I would not stay here again; staff not friendly, room dirty and sandy, very loud hearing ur neighbors or kids from hot tub, ac worked great,the little gift shop is useless. PS I wouldn't stay at Westin or caneel. Rent a house front Catered Too and enjoy the Island the best was and it's not I. A hotel, I spend less money of a four bedroom house with a pool for one night at Gallows; put your money to. Enter work. If you want a full service resort stay at the ritz.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Park, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

After, traveling by plane, taxi, ferry, you would expect at least a pleasant welcome when finally arriving at your resort destination. Not, so at Gallows Point, not even a smile or hello. Our room was a little dirty, and way too hot to enjoy our balcony(we stayed in an upper ocean room) .In our room we could hear our neighbors whenever they were talking loud. Pool is too small. and not that clean. Breakfast is only sold in the gift shop and is limited to first come first serve basis for muffins and hard bagels, coffee is available at least, if you do not want to make it in your room. . Positive side is the beautiful grounds, Anna at the front desk (the only pleasant one) and short walk into town. Please note that the locals are not all friendly...it is as if they resent you for being there.Stay away from the Dolphin Market the cashiers try to charge you too much for their merchandise Example Two packs of strawberries and two packs of blueberries for $42.00. and a real unfriendly disposition. Bays are beautiful enjoyed cinnamon bay the most (with our teenage son) Morgans mango, banana deck, and beach bar favorite restaurants .

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karlamrktng, Manager at Gallows Point Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We apologize for your disappointment. We are always hoping to give our guests a wonderful, satisfying experience. We do not know why you a didn't receive a kind greeting on your arrival but want you to know we really appreciated your choice to stay with us. Be assured we will address the issue and that of the room and the pool. Thank you for taking the time to post a review to help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallows Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.