We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for couples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gallows Point Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gallows Point Resort to your Saves list
Gallows Point Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Perfect place for couples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This property is the absolute best value for couples on St John! You hear it said all of the time: What makes a property valuable? Location. Location. Location. And Gallows point has that. Perched on the point as you enter Cruz Bay, these one-bedroom bungalows are perfect for a couple that desires luxury at a reasonable price. Sure, you can pay more at the luxurious Caneel Bay, but you are so far removed from the nightlife downtown that you suffer. Gallow Point, on the other hand is a short walk to the bars, restaurants and shopping downtown that it makes the entire St John experience a lot more fun. The property has a great pool and excellent snorkeling. But it also has lots of greenery and space that softens the peoperty as opposed to the neighboring Grand Bay Resort. The only thing we found missing was that there was not a pool bar or wait staff taking drink orders. There is a great on-property restaurant, Zozo's, but that is not our Cruz Bay favorite. That would go to the Lime Inn. Compared to the top-end and pricey restaurants Asolara, La Tapa and Zozo's, Rich just provides a better value at the Lime Inn. Our favorite bar is the Beach Bar, where all of the locals ahng out and start happy hour as early as noon; but Woody's also has a great happy hour. Our favorite beach bar is Skinny Legs in Coral Bay. You will need a rental car to get to the beaches, but there are so many wonderful beaches, it is well worth renting. Leinster and Maho Bay are our personal favorites.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    105
    31
    13
    8
See reviews for
99
379
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in 2D which is upper ocean front. Peaceful breakfast on the balcony overlooking beautiful ocean. Snorkeling is fantastic right from resort. Two sea turtle were just hanging out. Location is perfect to Cruz Bay. We walked every night there for dinner and shopping. Rent a car and go around the island. Trunk Bay is a must.

Room Tip: 2D Ocean View is worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was my fifth time returning to St. John and it is by far my favorite place to stay. For me it was a much better option than any big hotel. We had an upper duplex unit (11C) that faced the harbor and had a ocean view. The space was beautiful and comfortable. It was super clean, well stocked and had wi-fi. We went grocery shopping and ate breakfast and took lunch to the beach everyday. We rented a jeep so that we could explore the island beaches during the day. In the late afternoon we used Gallows pool and swim platform and met other guests. It was very relaxed. Guests brought their own drinks down to the pool- though one night the hotel had a free cocktail time. The pool was also a great place to watch the sunset.

For dinner each night we walked into town to eat. This is so much better than having to try to find a parking spot downtown or take a taxi.

Some reviews talked about this not being a good place for kids, but I think that is only referring to the fact that there is no programming for kids. I don't think kids under 5 are allowed at all. We were there during school spring break and there were tons of kids and families. The kids all seemed happy to me.

The negative was that there is no gym and their on-site general store was lacking in expertise, snorkeling equipment and basic supplies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karlamrktng, Manager at Gallows Point Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for the very flattering review. I just want to take this opportunity to explain our children's policy. We do not allow guests to bring children under 5 years old. We also do not recommend children under 12 years old. We do allow our owners to bring their children, but that is a rare occurance.

As you stated there are no kid programs here. Our beach is not a very kid friendly beach because it is rock and coral which makes excellent snorkeling but not a good playground for a young child. Another guest had reviewed our property and thought this was a negative, so I want to be sure everyone understands our property. There are usually few or no children on property, however at spring break time, when you were here, guests do bring the kids. Last week we had do be extra vigilant to remind the kids there was to be no jumping in the pool. Everyone still had a great time. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

It is so much nicer than the Westin! It is smaller and has no gym, but otherwise it was great. The employees at the concierge/gift shop/convenience store were so nice and helpful, the view is amazing, the snorkeling is really great and the accommodations were spacious and very comfortable. It is also very nice to be able to walk into town and Wharfside Village. we will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Gallows Point resort overlooks the Caribbean and presents breathtaking, inspiring scenery. Our condo was on a lower floor, but we still had an unobstructed view--from the kitchen, the living room, and the outdoor balcony. Other pluses were the friendliness, courtesy, and efficiency of the staff, and uncompromising cleanliness, inside and out.
The kitchen was well designed and stocked, with pretty, matched china and glassware, a good selection of flatware, and a complete supply of cooking implements, bowels, pots, and pans. The cooktop and refrigerator are seemingly new, and our unit had a dishwasher. which perhaps they all do. Each unit has a radio-disk player combination, and two television sets, one of which has a video disk player. The furniture is comfortable and apparently recently acquired. There is splendid and enormous stall shower, plenty of hot water and quality toiletries.
The Gallows Point has no beach, but it is possible to enter the water from a ladder and swim or snorkel and never leave the property. Good beaches are nearby, perhaps a little too far to reach on foot, but accessible by the collective open-air taxis that ride about St. John. The resort's swimming pool and whirlpool are nice indeed.
A decided advantage is Gallows Point's close proximity of the restaurant district, about a five-minute walk down a hill. One food market is just up another hill, and a cab ride from the restaurants or the market is only about $5. Everything on the island is expensive, except rum, so a trip to the supermarket will run about double what you might pay for the same items at home. It is worth remembering that the full-time residents pay these prices year-round. Such considerations and the extraordinary cost of electricity which powers Gallows Point's highly dependable air-conditioning system help drive up the rates, but if you want a nice place to stay, Gallows Point is it.

Room Tip: The on-site ZoZo restaurant is said to be excellent, but a condo away from ZoZo's is quieter tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The view especially from 8C was breath taking! The units are amazing- beautifully decorated with all amenities and a full kitchen. It's not on a white sandy beach but the snorkeling is great and they have a pool and decks. Close to everything. Staff is always smiling and really helpful. There is a little store on the property that has a bit of everything too- rentals, food, alcohol. I dream of revisting and being able staying for a month and working remotely.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We came to stay at Gallows Point by chance, having booked what was supposed to be a cottage elsewhere on the island, which, instead, turned out to be a cinder block structure with no view, amenities, no charm whatsoever. We didn't event put our bags down but immediately got on the phone to find other accommodations. It was a holiday week and we were extremely lucky to book Gallows for several days at the end of our planned vacation. (We managed to get a room at the Weston for the first half.). Gallows had a spectacular duplex unit with a vaulted ceiling, loft bedroom, full kitchen, large balcony and stunning views. We were in heaven! We have returned every year since. Gallows Point is a five minute walk from the one cluster of restaurants on the island and the ferry landing. The staff are wonderful. Many have been there for years and years. It is the perfect base from which to explore the island. (We snorkel every day at a different spot - gorgeous and varied.) When the day is done, you get to park the car, jump in the gallows Point pool or take another snorkel off their (tiny) beach) and then freshen up and walk to dinner with no need to skip that second or third glass of wine -- you're not driving. For us, St. John is the perfect easy winter escape and Gallows Point has the perfect combination of location, casual, but beautiful accommodations, gorgeous views, and a very welcoming staff. We've already put our deposit down for next year.

Room Tip: The less expensive units face the harbor. That side gets a bit of noise from the ferries coming and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallows Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.