We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gallows Point Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gallows Point Resort to your Saves list
Gallows Point Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cruz Bay
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Gallows Point resort overlooks the Caribbean and presents breathtaking, inspiring scenery. Our condo was on a lower floor, but we still had an unobstructed view--from the kitchen, the living room, and the outdoor balcony. Other pluses were the friendliness, courtesy, and efficiency of the staff, and uncompromising cleanliness, inside and out.
The kitchen was well designed and stocked, with pretty, matched china and glassware, a good selection of flatware, and a complete supply of cooking implements, bowels, pots, and pans. The cooktop and refrigerator are seemingly new, and our unit had a dishwasher. which perhaps they all do. Each unit has a radio-disk player combination, and two television sets, one of which has a video disk player. The furniture is comfortable and apparently recently acquired. There is splendid and enormous stall shower, plenty of hot water and quality toiletries.
The Gallows Point has no beach, but it is possible to enter the water from a ladder and swim or snorkel and never leave the property. Good beaches are nearby, perhaps a little too far to reach on foot, but accessible by the collective open-air taxis that ride about St. John. The resort's swimming pool and whirlpool are nice indeed.
A decided advantage is Gallows Point's close proximity of the restaurant district, about a five-minute walk down a hill. One food market is just up another hill, and a cab ride from the restaurants or the market is only about $5. Everything on the island is expensive, except rum, so a trip to the supermarket will run about double what you might pay for the same items at home. It is worth remembering that the full-time residents pay these prices year-round. Such considerations and the extraordinary cost of electricity which powers Gallows Point's highly dependable air-conditioning system help drive up the rates, but if you want a nice place to stay, Gallows Point is it.

Room Tip: The on-site ZoZo restaurant is said to be excellent, but a condo away from ZoZo's is quieter tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    94
    29
    13
    7
See reviews for
87
346
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The view especially from 8C was breath taking! The units are amazing- beautifully decorated with all amenities and a full kitchen. It's not on a white sandy beach but the snorkeling is great and they have a pool and decks. Close to everything. Staff is always smiling and really helpful. There is a little store on the property that has a bit of everything too- rentals, food, alcohol. I dream of revisting and being able staying for a month and working remotely.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We came to stay at Gallows Point by chance, having booked what was supposed to be a cottage elsewhere on the island, which, instead, turned out to be a cinder block structure with no view, amenities, no charm whatsoever. We didn't event put our bags down but immediately got on the phone to find other accommodations. It was a holiday week and we were extremely lucky to book Gallows for several days at the end of our planned vacation. (We managed to get a room at the Weston for the first half.). Gallows had a spectacular duplex unit with a vaulted ceiling, loft bedroom, full kitchen, large balcony and stunning views. We were in heaven! We have returned every year since. Gallows Point is a five minute walk from the one cluster of restaurants on the island and the ferry landing. The staff are wonderful. Many have been there for years and years. It is the perfect base from which to explore the island. (We snorkel every day at a different spot - gorgeous and varied.) When the day is done, you get to park the car, jump in the gallows Point pool or take another snorkel off their (tiny) beach) and then freshen up and walk to dinner with no need to skip that second or third glass of wine -- you're not driving. For us, St. John is the perfect easy winter escape and Gallows Point has the perfect combination of location, casual, but beautiful accommodations, gorgeous views, and a very welcoming staff. We've already put our deposit down for next year.

Room Tip: The less expensive units face the harbor. That side gets a bit of noise from the ferries coming and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have now stayed at Gallows Point Resort five February vacations. We never go anywhere else--not even to another Caribbean island--because our vacations at Gallows would be difficult to top. As many have already noted, the location cannot be beat, with its easy walk to Cruz Bay restaurants and shops, its on-property store (for the tanning lotion you forgot and the 2 eggs you want to cook in your beautiful granite-top kitchen the next day), amazing snorkelling (I saw a sea turtle and swam with him this February), and best of all--the ability to open wide French doors and hear the ocean waves crash as you relax in a spacious, updated condo. ZoZo's restaurant, also on property, is one of the best sunset views on St. John and one of the best restaurants as well. The staff is ready and willing to meet all of your needs--and extremely capable, too. Akhil has put together a personable team to help you have the best vacation ever. You can take trips to British Virgin Gorda by boat, and the beaches at St. John are among the most beautiful in the world. My family will never tire of our days spent on this unique property.

Room Tip: Ocean views are worth the extra cost, but the harbor view units are better than anything else you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Gallows Point is a fabulous destination for couples looking for a quiet, romantic location by the sea. We love the views of the ocean, the sound of the little breakers coming in, the great snorkelling, and the perfect location within walking distance of several good restaraunts and the many options that Cruz Bay (the town) provides. This is mostly a destination for couples looking for rest and relaxation in an elegant environment. Kids are scarce, and families with kids who need constant activity should look elsewhere. We have been to St John many times, and this is our second (consecutive) stay at Gallows - and have now stayed in both upper and lower units. Surprise - both are fabulous! We do have a slight preference for the ocean view units, but would gladly take a harbour view unit if ocean view is not available. The on-site restaraunt (Zozo's) is probably the most sought-after dinner location on the island, so make your reservations well in advance (2-3 weeks would be best) - that means BEFORE you arrive on the island. If you forget until you get down there, you should still check with them and with luck you may get a table. Other restaraunts in town are generally expensive and generally well worth it - early walk-in arrivals (5:30-6:00) get the tables with the best views (or reserve by phone in advance). Low-Key waterspoorts runs a good dive operation and you will enjoy their programs if you are a diver. With regard to Gallows Point - having stayed in most every other rental option on the island including villas, we are now convinced that Gallows is the best value and the most pleasant place to stay on the island - and we recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms give sunset views and are quieter than harborside, but harborside gives you a boat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I went here for our honeymoon in March 2012 for 4 nights -we had a great stay here.

Pros:
1. View - the view is simply stunning. We got a great view of the bay and I took many of my best photos of the place right there from my deck.

2. Location - only a 2 minute walk from downtown so everything was in walking distance. This was a major plus point. We went to the Westin resort a lot and the free shuttles from Cruz Bay meant that getting around the island wasn't a problem.

3. Rooms - The rooms really big - I wasn't expecting that. Don't expect rooms anywhere close to this size in the Westin.

4. Wildlife - There are plenty of iguanas and geckos hanging about the place - which is quite nice (although my wife didn't think so). (To be honest though, Iguanas are everywhere on St. John: so I don't know how much credit the resort gets for this - but it's a pro nevertheless).

5. Staff - The staff were pleasant. One of the staff even knocked down a coconut off the tree in our yard and gave us some fresh coconut milk and flesh. A first for my wife - which she greatly enjoyed.

Cons - well not really a con for the resort but a slight problem nonetheless:

1. Zozo's Restaurant (located in the resort) - now, if you're an omnivore you will want to skip this point - it doesn't apply to you. In fact, I hear that Zozo's is one of the best restaurants on the island. But, as vegetarians, we waited for a half hour only to be told that they had no options for us. Usually, we can order pizza or pasta at any italian restaurant but it seems Zozo's lacks even a simple salad to satisfy us veggies. Anyway, there are plenty of other restaurants on the island - we especially liked Rhumb Lines.

Room Tip: Choose one that faces the west - you'll get a great sunset view and you'll avoid a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Last year I stumbled across Gallows when our trip got re-routed departing out of St Thomas rather than Tortola. We decided to spend our last night prior to departure on St. John. We had been staying at The Bitter End on Virgin Gorda (which Gallows blows away as far as service, cleanliness and food!!) I quickly "tripadvisored" a few places and found the reviews for Gallows excellent. But you never know! Our stay here was superb! Better than the pics online. The rooms are maintained very well and exceptionally clean and updated! An added perk, Zozo's, (a restaurant on property, but not jointly owned) is the best on island with spectacular views! And the management went out of their way to make sure we had the pick of 3 different room options. There is snorkeling right on property as well and the gift shop rents snorkel equiptment. This year was our second visit here and we did 2 nights before our return flight. Wished it was longer! Nice work Gallows!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallows Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.