We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, but tired property at premium price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gallows Point Resort

Save Saved
You added Gallows Point Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gallows Point Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% Savings
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cruz Bay
chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Convenient location, but tired property at premium price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Can't beat the walkable proximity to everything in town, and the restaurant (Zozo's) located on the property has some of the best views and food on the island. Unfortunately, these units are privately owned so there is a lack of consistency in the standards & upkeep of the units, although they were clean. Furniture is likely original and was never top quality. We had to cover our couch with a sheet because it was so dirty we felt uncomfortable even sitting on it. The bed pillows were stinky and ancient, and linens were just plain old and certainly not of quality consistent with the $600/night price. Overall, even with basic kitchen and bath renovations, the units are tired and cheaply appointed, but the views & location is great.

Room Tip: Harbor View is a bit noisy but is beautiful and provides an interesting view of boats, birds & w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    409
    83
    29
    13
    8
See reviews for
81
322
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We were married on St Johns and have stayed here every 5 years for the past 20. This place is a fabulous resort with the feel of home. The suites are so comfortable and elegant, views are amazing yet it has a feeling of home. We love being able to walk down the hill to the "town" with local restaurants and shopping. Plus the snorkeling in front of the resort is some of the best. The restaurant is amazing and the "gift shop" has breakfast foods, beer and wine and the most helpful staff to make all kinds of reservations for you.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Gallows for 3 nights on the front end of our Jost vacation and we were not disappointed. We were met at the ferry dock in Cruz Bay and taken up the hill to the resort. Check in was a breeze and all the staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were beautiful! Well kept and clean. We were shown to our room which was right on the water. The room was, well, awesome! It had everything anyone could want or need. We loved the outdoor patio which was private enough so that you could sit out there in your pajama's and have coffee in the mornings. The bathroom had a walkin shower that was so relaxing, actually, the whole place was relaxing and quiet. They have a small store on sight where we purchased drinks and snacks as we weren't going to be there very long. Yes, you can walk in to town with no problems. Just down a small hill and back up again. The views were great and the day we checked out we had a bit of a wait for our ferry so we stayed by the pool and beach area. Nice way to start a vacation. We ate at the onsight restaurant, Zozo's and it was delicious. Best meal we had during the entire vacation. DO make reservations, I think they fill up quickly. Check out was smooth with no issues and they even took us to the ferry dock. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in January in room 15C (upper ocean view). This is a great base to explore St. John. It is an easy 5 minute walk to the restaurants and shops in Cruz Bay, as well as several grocery stores. The resort itself is very nice. Grounds are well maintained and the pool/deck area has several levels with pool chairs and plenty of sunny and shady spots to relax. The snorkeling off the pier is decent, but the water is a bit rougher than elsewhere on the island, and as the ferry boats go by, the wake creates more choppiness.

The room itself was nice. Some of the pros: lots of space, great balcony overlooking both the bay and the other islands, full kitchen. Some of the cons: no shades to keep out light - without an eyemask, pretty tough to sleep past sunrise; even with all the windows closed, a fair amount of noise from the harbor - primarily the ferry boats reving their engines as they leave the harbor every hour.

The staff was overall very friendly, especiallt those at the on-site shopping store. Prices were a bit higher than in town, but the staff was friendly and helpful. We had one issue during our stay (didn't let this influence our overall rating). While I cannot say it was resolved, the manager was available to discuss the issue and took note of the problem.

When we were there, the clientele was older (50+) and few families - pretty quiet overall, which suited us fine. Overall we had a very good stay.

Room Tip: Pick a room as far from the harbor as you can get to avoid hearing the ferry boats hourly
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Be careful when booking Gallows Point! It states on Trip Advisor that is is #1 in a Family Hotel but it is far from a family friendly place. Pool is small, beach is rocky, surf is rough. They do not allow any children 5 or under. But I would suggest that if you have a child 10 and under book at Westin or Caneel Bay. They are family friendly, better pool, awesome beaches, and better service. We will not return to Gallows Point. We love St.John, just a bad experience at Gallows Resort!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karlamrktng, Manager at Gallows Point Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
The management at Gallows Point Resort is here to rent units for the condominium association and we are under obligation to follow their policies. If the owner’s association has decided they do not want children under five on this property we are under obligation to enforce that policy.

We have posted in bold letters on what we think is the appropriate page of our website (under Policies and Information on the Rates page with a link to it on the Reservations page) our policy of not allowing guests to bring children under 5 years of age. This policy is also stated on the guest’s confirmation letter. We don’t think our resort is geared to children. As you have stated the beach is rocky, there is no “kiddie” pool or lifeguard. We do not offer a kid’s camp or babysitters and the restaurant does not have a kid’s menu. There is not one photo on the website showing children under five at the resort.

We cannot be everything and have instead tried to excel in what we can offer. What we have tried to offer our guests is a peaceful, tranquil retreat. The hammocks on the beach are a great place to relax and listen to the waves, or the lounge chairs on the sun decks are a great place to read a book. The lower sun deck is the gathering spot for the early morning yoga class that is currently being offered. And while the beach is rocky it does make for very good snorkeling. We have even installed a special walkway to get in and out of the water with ease. And if a guest wants to party they can walk to the town of Cruz Bay where they will find a number of beach bars, restaurants, the casino and maybe a steel pan band playing in the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed five days over New Years in 2 different units. Property grounds and staff were exceptional with friendly, efficient, and unobtrusive service throughout the entire stay. The pool is small but was never crowded even though the resort appeared fully booked. The waterside beach is rocky but there is access to a swim platform and lots of lounge chairs and a few hammocks on decks along the water. And the sunset views were terrific from those decks.

Stayed in 2 different 1 bed/1 bath lower level units (A or B units, C or D are the 1 bed/1.5 bath larger upstairs units). Units 1-9 looked towards the water and St John and were very peaceful at night. Unit 12 (and probably 11-15) got a little noise from holiday parties down the bay and the larger ferries but it wasn't excessive even on NYE. On site market had nice selection at reasonable prices including alcohol and breakfast supplies, and it's staff also couldn't have been more helpful in suggesting outings and destinations.

The units were very nicely furnished and considering the property's units turned out to be individually owned, much better maintained than any timeshare condo I've ever stayed in. Fully equipped small kitchen, newer electronics and TV (though we didn't give them much use), and comfortable with new A/C controls in each, tons of windows, and multiple ceiling fans. Very comfortable spot to vacation. Best of all was the location close to Cruz Bay, we were able to walk down a short hill for dinner and drinks every evening. We'd been debating between this place and the Westin, but if you have any interest in getting off your vacation property, this place is a much better location.

We like to hit different destinations every year and see more of the world, but after our experience at St John, and especially Gallows Point, we'll definitely be getting back here soon.

Room Tip: Units 1-7 probably have the best ocean views, but none of the units seemed to have a bad view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Gallows Point is a little gem on St. John. The property is beautifully landscaped and maintained, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There's a terrific restaurant on site--Zozo's--and a great little market with wines, small sandwiches, toiletries, etc. (The concierge in the market is also happy to book adventures for you, and has snorkeling gear for rent.) There are also laundry facilties on the property.

We stayed in Unit 15A--known as the Blue Orchid--and it's a wonderful, stylish, restful and private unit. Everything you could possibly need is provided, and the owners were kind enough to leave a small gift for my husband (we were in St. John to celebrate his birthday. The views from the unit are incredible. Even though it's located right on the point, we didn't have any problem with noise drifting over from Cruz Bay. We also enjoyed the proximity to the many restaurants, shops and bars of Cruz Bay.

If--I hope when!--we return to St. John, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gallows Point Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallows Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.