We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap accomodations in Cruz Bay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Tamarind Court

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Tamarind Court
Save
You added Inn at Tamarind Court to your Saves list
Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Cruz Bay B&B and Inns
Pullman, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cheap accomodations in Cruz Bay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2006

My wife wants to point out that the staff was very accommodating in allowing us to have an extended checkout time. They allowed us to leave by 3 pm which was much appreciated.

We had two very nice breakfasts at their restaurant…very affordable. If you have any state-side expectations, best leave them at the airport. You can see from the pictures, this is a very economical place to stay. An easy walk down to the water, and Star Market, Dolphin Market, and the shops at Mongoose Junction. The National Park Service Headquarters is less than 4 blocks away. The air conditioner worked well. As for previous reviews of the erratic hot and cold water in the shower, while we don’t disagree, here in the Caribbean tap water is plenty warm for us. I slept very well. Now I must admit, after having spent most of my career on the road, in the Dakotas, this place is amongst the seediest I’ve ever spent the night in! We came to St. John to Scuba Dive, and have a place to shower & sleep. The Inn at Tamarind Court served our purpose.

Our room was just over $100.00 per night. CHEAP, by St. John standards.

  • Liked — The Price & Proximity to our Dive Boat
  • Disliked — The place is just seedy!
  • Tips/Secrets — LOWER your expectations. You came for the beach, the water and the Caribbean...not the lodging.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    39
    18
    23
    20
See reviews for
11
38
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2006

just returned, 9th trip to st john. have done from the westin to renting villas.tamarind is a great location, walking to everything, clean,great bar and food. we had the apt. great for a couple, but for anyone on the couch, it was noisy in the a.m. because there was no air in the living room so one could shut the windows. my ONLY "complaint". last year we rented a house that had a rooster that woke you up at a.m.!!! so all in all GREAT for the $ and no car rental was needed!! thanks again

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2006

even for a reasonable rate it is not worth it. at check in no one even explains the hotel layout. you are given a key period. once you find your room which looks ok but worn. the sheets are very rough. the floors are dirty. the shower is either freezing or scalding. there is no safe not even office has one. there is no alarm clock and no blow dryer. i found out later that there are some beach towels left in the courtyard but there is not enough for everybody. the so called restaurant states 5-9 dinner however most nights there is no more food left at 7p. for sunday brunch they will let you sit 40 min then tell you they are out of food. the help is minimal at best. really locals no longer hang out other than a quick beer. hat food i did have was good. but there are much better deals to be had in cruz bay. there is no pool and all rooms are non smoking. so for a night and a hot shower ok other than that skip it. in a very noisy area

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2006

St. John's is gorgeous and this place is four or five short blocks from the ferry building and all the shops, transport, etc. The staff is pleasant and the entrance court yard with restaurant an upbeat place; unfortunately, the rooms are in very poor shape (loose tiles in the room; rusty fixtures in the bathroom; grouty grout in the shower). For the price I expected better ... a good spot for a couple of college boys to stay while sleeping off rum drinks.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2006

You can pay a lot more to stay on the Island without finding truly 1st class accommodations. The Inn at Tamarind provides a basic room with a cranky A/C unit and very basic plumbing. There is a decent bar/restaurant on the premises frequented by locals. The bed was comfortable but the showers are terrible with little water pressure and dangerous hot/cold balance. Having said that, St. John is a very "rustic" destination; in our experience even the most expensive lodgings leave something to be desired. So, if you can just relax, accept the basic services and Island pace you will have a great time.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2005

We have stayed at Tamarind Court several times. It is a friendly island-style place, but not for everyone. If you are expecting a fancy hotel/resort, go and stay at the Marriott or some such place. If you want to have a place near downtown Cruz Bay and thus have easy walking access to all the restaurants and nightlife, yet be on a quiet street, Tamarind is for you. They have a nice easy-going courtyard, good food, a little outdoor bar and are very friendly. You'll likely meet some locals who come for the 'guest local chef' nights or to hang out at the little bar after work. But if you expect a classy, state-side experience, stay somewhere else, please. This is island life. Kick back and enjoy. The rooms are basic, but clean. Nothing fancy, but who is going to spend their vacation in paradise in their room anyway?

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2005

This is one of the least expensive places on St. John. It’s located right in Cruz Bay and so it is a very convenient place to stay. The restaurant is excellent and has a different chef every night of the week and has a different culinary theme every night. The rooms are adequate, though a bit dark. The hotel is clean, well-run and quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Tamarind Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tamarind Court

Address: Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quant Inn blends island charm, resonable rates and conveniently located in the town of Cruz Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Tamarind Court Hotel Cruz Bay
Inn Tamarind Court
Inn At Tamarind Court St. John/Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Tamarind Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.