We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smart choice for economical stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. John Inn

Save Saved
You added St. John Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. John Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   277 Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Carrollton, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“smart choice for economical stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

My college- aged children and I completely enjoyed our one night stay at the St. John Inn. It reminded me of a good European budget hotel, of the kind Rick Steves might endorse. The rooms and bath are small, but clean. The staff is friendly and available. The manager, April, even generously gave us a ride to the ferry at check-out. Complimentary happy hour on the cozy deck with a sunset view (albeit of a commercial harbor just past a construction site) and continental breakfast - combined with the fact that you can easily avoid cab fare by walking to Cruz Bay - make this a smart budget choice. For the moderately fit, a gorgeous free day at the beaches near Caneel Bay is a comfortable hike away.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    68
    24
    4
    11
See reviews for
37
135
25
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Hodgepodge upkeep. Needs a good cleaning by my German mother-in-law! Windows and doors not secure. Pool is too cold to use and in the shade so even the Sun can't heat it.

Air conditioning worked great as room was quite cool when we arrived, but we turned it off and didn't use (in the virgin islands to be warm). Water was fine. Kitchen not well stocked and the burner didn't heat well.

Worst part was our first night there coming in at 3am on New Year's Eve, turning the bed down and finding it unclean. In all fairness, could simply be the dryer lint screen needs to be cleaned out more (this is what my husband said to me), but they couldn't be slept on. It was so late, we just took them off and threw our clean beach towels on the bed with my travel blanket, and asked for clean sheets in the morning. They actually balked at first, stating they only change the sheets every other day, until my husband, who is not normally squeamish at all, said, "Listen, the sheets are on the floor of our room if you'd like to go examine them together, and see for yourself the hair that is all over them!" There was no more argument.

We stayed another night, and things were tolerable. It's clear whomever is responsible for the place isn't willing to invest in its needs.

On the positive side, staff were great! A wonderful resident dog that adopted the place, Killer. It's a funky layout, which might be a negative for some, but we liked it. It's a convenient location, and I couldn't hear the hustle and bustle of town. A few blocks to a market, short walk downhill to Cruz Bay center, short walk uphill back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

This is the second time i've stayed at the St. John Inn. My husband an i came here for our honeymoon and because he had never been there before, i did my best to mentally prepare him for what the experience would be, because if you go in expecting luxury you will hate the St. John Inn. If you go in knowing that you'll only be in the room long enough to sleep and shower then you'll LOVE it.

You can look at your room in 2 ways:
At first glance, you could probably say that your room is dive. Paint may be chipping. Water pressure might be weak. Design might be less than stellar - breakfast the same. The pool too small and the location out of the way.

OR, you can see a GREAT place to stay with bright and cheerful colors on every wall. Water systems that avoid wasting the precious resource. Design that isn't cookie-cutter. Breakfast that is MORE than adequate and the perfect start to a day of exploring or lounging on the beach. A sparkling pool that is perfect for a quick and refreshing dip, and probably one of the closest and most convenient place to stay that is within walking distance to all of the most important locations in Cruz Bay.

It really is all about perspective and attitude! You have to keep in mind that island life is very different from the mainland. You can literally eat a $35 meal that is exquisite....while sitting on plastic lawn furniture. You can have the most amazing happy hour cocktails and apps at a place that isn't much bigger than a walk-in closet. Check your pretense at the mainland...you're on the island, and if you can't handle a little peeling paint, then don't bother getting off the boat!

Ok, about our room...We were in a mini-suite at the back of the property. No two rooms are alike, so it's a bit of a crap shoot! The bathroom had a few quirks, but i find that EVERY hotel bathroom has at least some major flaw. In our room, the bathroom lighting was dim, and the toilet paper roll was awkward to get to - we ended up just taking the roll off the dispenser and setting it within reach. Water pressure sometimes doesn't feel like much more than a spray bottle, but it's perfectly capable of washing away the sweat and sand.

Our room was a rather odd triangular shape, but the bed was large and comfy and we had a mini refrigerator and a kitchen sink that we were able to rinse the salt water out of our bathing suits and such.

The AC doesn't keep your room in sub-zero temps, but it still feels AMAZING when you come back from the beach and are sweating like crazy. The AC and the ceiling fans kept us totally comfortable all night.

BRING bug spray!!! I actually brought a tiny spray pump bottle that i kept in my purse and took everywhere with me. When every meal you eat is in the open air, you'll be glad to have it!

The Inn provides beach chairs, coolers and towels at no expense. SO CONVENIENT! Every day of our honeymoon, we woke up in time for breakfast, then grabbed our beach gear and filled a cooler with a couple water bottles and ice before heading to Mongoose Junction to get a picnic lunch from Deli Grotto (amazing!). We spent the day at the beach and came back to the Inn in time for a quick shower before heading out for happy hour and dinner.

Free cocktail hour at the Inn is delicious and very welcome!

Yes, roosters can be an issue in the early morning. I always travel with ear plugs anyway (drowns out the snoring husband!), so i didn't have an issue.

The staff of the St. John Inn are incredibly accommodating and knowledgeable. They can tell you all the best places on the island and how to get there.

The Inn has 2 jeep rental places within about a 20 second walk, so that was nice.

There is wifi out on the deck, but it can be pretty hit-or-miss. We had troubles connecting. But hey, if you're on vacation, you shouldn't be on your phones and computers all day anyway!

Yes, the St. John Inn has "character" in spades. But you don't come to the island just to sit in your room! Why pay (literally!) HUNDREDS of dollars a night for a room that you'll hardly use? The St. John Inn has everything you need to have an amazing visit. But you can't arrive expecting the Hilton. It's not fancy! But the price and location and convenience is worth every penny.
My husband and i agreed to save a hundred dollars a night on a cheaper hotel room and use that money to put towards a great meal and drinks. We couldn't have been happier!

I can't even put a price on being able to WALK back to your room after a night out tossing back delicious (and potent) Painkillers. No need to have a designated driver, or try to get a taxi. And the Inn is at the end of a block/road that is just far enough to stay quiet and out of the traffic. PERFECT!

I really hope i did this place justice. If you have any questions, feel free to ask because i will be completely honest. I will definitely go back to the St. John Inn on my next visit to the island. I just hope it is soon!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We visited St John over New Years eve and we found the staff and owner accomodating, hospitable and knowledgeable of the island.
The rooms were clean and cozy and a nice continental breakfast as well as rum punch happy hour were put out everyday.
The view of the sunset is memorable and you can enjoy the staff's dogs running around the property as you enjoy the deck and meet other travelers to share stories of the island.
we'll definitely come back!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

Our room had no real windows and let in no light. It was never quite clean. The sink in the bathroom never worked. Music was piped into the area right outside our door at around 9:00 every morning, not fun for younger travelers who have taken advantage of the local night life. TV did not work and there were water stains on the ceiling. Staff was friendly, and helpful but NOT proactive.

This is an inexpensive hotel in a decent location. If all you want to do at your hotel is sleep and shower, this is the place for you. If you are looking for somewhere you can relax, try another location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed at the St. John for 4 nights during our Thanksgiving vacation. We are a family of two active adults and two children under 10, who have traveled the Caribbean quite a bit. This was our second visit to St. John (first for the kids). Prior to our arrival, the St. John Inn team quickly and completely answered our questions about the island (it had been five years since we'd be to STJ), snorkeling spots and safety/accessibility for the kids.

Our flight to STT was late and we were later getting to St. John than we expected, but the St. John staff was in their office when we stumbled in, exhausted. Finding the Inn is easy, but it is a bit of a walk up from the ferry dock (very do-able...our kids made it after a full day of traveling, and were pulling their own small suitcases). It's easy to find and don't be worried about the neighborhood: there is a loud, hopping local bar on the same block as the Inn and they were the very friendly.

We stayed in a suite, with a room w/ pull out bed for the kids and a separate bedroom for us. The bathroom is small but who cares? There is nightly rum punch and always ice cold water. In the morning, there is a light continental breakfast w/ coffee and juices on the deck overlooking the harbor where the car barge arrives.

The staff is very kind and jovial; they chat with you and give you pointers and ideas to make your trip even more enjoyable. The Inn also has beach towels and coolers for guest use - and an ice machine! And you have a small fridge/microwave in your room. So awesome!

There is not a lot of parking - we rented a jeep one day from a spot just down the road (same block as the Inn) and didn't keep it overnight. Parking would be a challenge for sure.

All in all, we can't wait to head back to the St. John Inn, and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

My wife and I found St. John Inn to be the ideal place to stay given our desire to keep costs low, yet find a decent place to stay. The rooms do differ in quality from each other, but overall they are reasonably clean and fine for getting a good's night rest. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and a nice bonus is being able to borrow beach equipment such as coolers and beach chairs at no cost! The location of St. John Inn is also ideal being right in town so that stores and restaurants are accessible by foot. However, you will enjoy your time on St. John a lot more if you have a car to drive around (but I would say that this is the case for the island overall and not just this hotel).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. John Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. John Inn

Address: 277 Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St. John Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. John Inn is an affordable, small hotel. It is conveniently located in Cruz Bay in a charming historic building. We are close to shopping, restaurants and all St. John has to offer. We offer modest, budget accommodations with spectacular views of the sunset!Our rooms range from single rooms to two room suites, some with kitchenettes. All rooms have a/c, private bath, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee machines. We offer Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) and Ipod Docking Music Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your St. John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. John Hotel Cruz Bay
St. John Inn Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. John Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.