We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. John Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St. John Inn to your Saves list
St. John Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   277 Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I've stayed hear on three different occasions now and enjoyed it very much. I love the convenient location, being able to walk everywhere - the grocery store and restaurants are within a few blocks. Love the bright caribbean colors and the flowers everywhere. Dave and the staff are great - very nice and helpful. The rooms are very clean with all the amenities. Great Value for St. John!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    76
    24
    4
    11
See reviews for
40
162
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We heard about the St. John Inn from Fodor's years ago. We love the friendly staff and all the work Dave has done. It's a treat to come back each year and see what he has added. We especially enjoy the evenings on the deck. Just keep doing what you all are doing so well!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencerville In
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here 3/7/13 for 5 nights. This inn honestly made our trip. Due to flight cancellations with weather we had to move rooms a couple of times so we actually stayed in 3 different ones. The staff was able to accomodate us and we didn't mind moving at all, just grateful they had rooms to switch us too. All 3 rooms we stayed in were wonderful, and different types. We had a 2 bdrm, a 1 bdrm with kitchenette and another 1 bdrm that had the mini fridge and microwave. All rooms were very clean, bright and cheery. The staff and owner are all very friendly and we enjoyed connecting with them all. The owner has 3 small dogs that we would get to see sometimes at breakfast or in the evening during happy hour, which to me made it seem much more relaxed and homey. They were never a nuisance and didn't bother you if you weren't paying attention to them. Was nice connecting with other guests during breakfast and in the evenings. My husband and I talked several times that we were so glad we stayed here instead of a bigger hotel. I would go back to this inn every time. Very relaxing and comfortable. Wish we didn't have to leave! You can walk to restaurants and the shops. I would recommend renting a jeep in advance as they go quick and it's nice to drive around and look at all the different beaches. There are some beaches you can walk to from the inn, a little bit of a walk but not bad at all. I am so happy we stayed at this inn, absolutely terrific!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Colorful and convenient, the St. John Inn offers good value on an otherwise expensive island. Purple bugambilia flowers and tropical vines cover the SJ Inn buildings, which are all painted bright Caribbean colors and arrayed around a sun deck and dining area, giving the traveler the sense that he has stumbled upon a hidden hotel offering treetop seclusion. Although it lacks the direct beach access of St. John's more expensive hotels, the SJ Inn is conveniently located a few blocks up the hill from the ferry docks in Cruz Bay. Many of the best beaches in St. John are accessed by car anyway, and there are numerous car rental options near the Inn. My wife and I were able to snag the last room at the Inn during high season. We found the room to be clean and comfortable, though not luxurious. The room came with a small kitchen, which we did not use. The shower was a bit small, and the shower head was too short for anyone over 6'. The service was excellent and very friendly. The free wifi worked well. The Inn's complimentary evening rum punch and breakfast were both unimpressive. The swimming pool is small but inviting during hot afternoons, and the patio area is very cute with a comfortable hammock and shaded patio table.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the St. John Inn for a couple nights. The Inn is very conveniently located, just a short walk from Cruz Bay, and the outside garden is great. Our room was comfortable, although a bit small and right next to the reception desk. The outside garden is great, and we enjoyed eating breakfast there each morning. We did have one problem -- the shower had next to no pressure, and there was no hot water. We complained, and were told that there was in fact something wrong with the water, but that nothing could be done to fix it while we were there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestjohninn, General Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thanks so much for posting a review. We have found the water leak and now have plenty of hot water for everyone. Please visit us again and we'll help you book a suite that will give you more room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

The St John Inn has a very good location in Cruz Bay. A relaxing atmosphere. Our room and specially the bed at bit on the small side, more with an eye for couples. Good place to meet other travellers and exchange experiences.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is our second visit to St John and thought we would try the charm of St.John Inn. We where not disappointed by the value, location or staff. Everything was wonderful, very friendly staff, our room was beautiful, plenty of space for a family of three, bed and linens outstanding had the best sleep in a long time, now that's a vacation in its own. We will be returning next year maybe sooner I already miss everyone at the Inn.

Room Tip: If you are having more than two in a room I highly recommend a suite for the value you can not go wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. John Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. John Inn

Address: 277 Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St. John Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. John Inn is an affordable, small hotel. It is conveniently located in Cruz Bay in a charming historic building. We are close to shopping, restaurants and all St. John has to offer. We offer modest, budget accommodations with spectacular views of the sunset!Our rooms range from single rooms to two room suites, some with kitchenettes. All rooms have a/c, private bath, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee machines. We offer Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) and Ipod Docking Music Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your St. John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. John Hotel Cruz Bay
St. John Inn Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. John Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.