We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location; good value for St. John” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. John Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added St. John Inn to your Saves list
St. John Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   277 Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Convenient location; good value for St. John”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Colorful and convenient, the St. John Inn offers good value on an otherwise expensive island. Purple bugambilia flowers and tropical vines cover the SJ Inn buildings, which are all painted bright Caribbean colors and arrayed around a sun deck and dining area, giving the traveler the sense that he has stumbled upon a hidden hotel offering treetop seclusion. Although it lacks the direct beach access of St. John's more expensive hotels, the SJ Inn is conveniently located a few blocks up the hill from the ferry docks in Cruz Bay. Many of the best beaches in St. John are accessed by car anyway, and there are numerous car rental options near the Inn. My wife and I were able to snag the last room at the Inn during high season. We found the room to be clean and comfortable, though not luxurious. The room came with a small kitchen, which we did not use. The shower was a bit small, and the shower head was too short for anyone over 6'. The service was excellent and very friendly. The free wifi worked well. The Inn's complimentary evening rum punch and breakfast were both unimpressive. The swimming pool is small but inviting during hot afternoons, and the patio area is very cute with a comfortable hammock and shaded patio table.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    82
    24
    4
    11
See reviews for
47
172
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the St. John Inn for a couple nights. The Inn is very conveniently located, just a short walk from Cruz Bay, and the outside garden is great. Our room was comfortable, although a bit small and right next to the reception desk. The outside garden is great, and we enjoyed eating breakfast there each morning. We did have one problem -- the shower had next to no pressure, and there was no hot water. We complained, and were told that there was in fact something wrong with the water, but that nothing could be done to fix it while we were there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestjohninn, General Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thanks so much for posting a review. We have found the water leak and now have plenty of hot water for everyone. Please visit us again and we'll help you book a suite that will give you more room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

The St John Inn has a very good location in Cruz Bay. A relaxing atmosphere. Our room and specially the bed at bit on the small side, more with an eye for couples. Good place to meet other travellers and exchange experiences.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is our second visit to St John and thought we would try the charm of St.John Inn. We where not disappointed by the value, location or staff. Everything was wonderful, very friendly staff, our room was beautiful, plenty of space for a family of three, bed and linens outstanding had the best sleep in a long time, now that's a vacation in its own. We will be returning next year maybe sooner I already miss everyone at the Inn.

Room Tip: If you are having more than two in a room I highly recommend a suite for the value you can not go wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in the two room suite at this inn for one night before our villa rental. We had stayed in this same suite last year and found that it had been renovated. The room had been painted, a modern wall air conditioner added and new windows installed. The manager said that only one room was left to renovate.The suite has a large outdoor private area which is a vey nice place to sit. The suite consists of an entrance foyer with a closet and small fridge, bathroom and two separate bedrooms. It is a cheaper option for two couples or a couple with kids. The Inn still has a nice breakfast in the common area and a deck area around a small pool. We didn't really have time to use the pool area. The only reason I wouldn't give it a five is that the water was luke warm, not hot. This might be a temporary thing but we didn't feel like complaining since we were leaving after one night. Parking is right in front of the Inn and you are right in Cruz Bay but it wasn't noisy at all. This is a budget inn, not Caneel Bay but a very good value for your money on St John.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestjohninn, General Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
It is really nice to see repeat guests like yourselves notice the improvements that have been made within the last 4 months.
Another addition, is that we found the reason for the lack of hot water. We had a leak in the hot water line that has now been found and repaired. We then had a complaint of the water being too hot. ha-ha So now, our water temperature is very nice for all.
We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks for the review!
Remember, repeat guests receive a 5% discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for The Four Seasons, this isn't a good choice for you. But if you like intimate inns staffed with folks who treat you like family, it's perfect.

Cons: Rooms are on the small side, but if you are using your room for anything other than sleeping in, you are not going to truly experience St. John. The showers have water saving heads, but that's due to water conservation...a big deal on the island.

Pros: Everything else. Value. Location. Service. A nice breakfast and pool area. Fast wi-fi. Admittedly it's out by the pool but that actually was a great spot to check email while sipping coffee in the am or free evening rum punch. What else? Beach chairs, coolers and beach towels ready to take with you on your journeys to the many outstanding beaches on St. John. Ice always available along with filtered water. Staff wise...they are very friendly and know the island. Looking for advice on a beach or a sail or a nice dinner? They KNOW.

Yea, I liked this place. A lot. If you like inns with character you will love it. They have put a lot of effort into renovating the place and it shows. Forgot all the beautiful plants on the property, another nice touch.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed in room 113 which was a mini suite, a large bath with a nice size bedroom and sitting area.m the bed was exceptionally comfy with good pillows. The bath is dimly lit however, I believe this is due to the color of the walls which fit the Caribbean color scheme. If you are looking for a hot shower, you will need to settle for Luke warm. Given location and availability of natural resources, we were ok with this. We didn't vacation for a long hot shower, after all, we spent our days on the sunny hot beaches of St. John so Luke warm to a cooler shower was welcomed.
The Inn keepers are very kind and available to assist, direct and provide beach chairs, large beach towels and coolers.
The pool area is small as shown in the photos, but again, we were interested in the beaches and used the pool for a quick dip.
The Inn is a short 7 minute walk from the ferry terminal and shopping area. The directions for walking to the hotel were spot on.
The inn is located near a nice grocery store too.
We recommend you rent a jeep. Without, you will not see much of the beautiful areas St John has to offer. The taxis will only take you so far. The inn is near 5 or 6 jeep rentals. Don't wait until you arrive to look into a rental, they are typically sold out. New got lucky and did get a jeep last minute with C & C Rental and at a rate of $72/day because we were staying at the inn.
If we return to St. John, we would stay at the inn again.

Room Tip: Room 113 is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.3 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
4.0 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westin St. John Resort & Villas
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. John Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. John Inn

Address: 277 Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St. John Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. John Inn is an affordable, small hotel. It is conveniently located in Cruz Bay in a charming historic building. We are close to shopping, restaurants and all St. John has to offer. We offer modest, budget accommodations with spectacular views of the sunset!Our rooms range from single rooms to two room suites, some with kitchenettes. All rooms have a/c, private bath, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee machines. We offer Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) and Ipod Docking Music Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your St. John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. John Hotel Cruz Bay
St. John Inn Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. John Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.