We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved since last year.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. John Inn

Save Saved
You added St. John Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. John Inn
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   277 Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 7 Cruz Bay B&B and Inns
Boston
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Improved since last year.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in the two room suite at this inn for one night before our villa rental. We had stayed in this same suite last year and found that it had been renovated. The room had been painted, a modern wall air conditioner added and new windows installed. The manager said that only one room was left to renovate.The suite has a large outdoor private area which is a vey nice place to sit. The suite consists of an entrance foyer with a closet and small fridge, bathroom and two separate bedrooms. It is a cheaper option for two couples or a couple with kids. The Inn still has a nice breakfast in the common area and a deck area around a small pool. We didn't really have time to use the pool area. The only reason I wouldn't give it a five is that the water was luke warm, not hot. This might be a temporary thing but we didn't feel like complaining since we were leaving after one night. Parking is right in front of the Inn and you are right in Cruz Bay but it wasn't noisy at all. This is a budget inn, not Caneel Bay but a very good value for your money on St John.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestjohninn, General Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
It is really nice to see repeat guests like yourselves notice the improvements that have been made within the last 4 months.
Another addition, is that we found the reason for the lack of hot water. We had a leak in the hot water line that has now been found and repaired. We then had a complaint of the water being too hot. ha-ha So now, our water temperature is very nice for all.
We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks for the review!
Remember, repeat guests receive a 5% discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    67
    24
    4
    11
See reviews for
36
128
25
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for The Four Seasons, this isn't a good choice for you. But if you like intimate inns staffed with folks who treat you like family, it's perfect.

Cons: Rooms are on the small side, but if you are using your room for anything other than sleeping in, you are not going to truly experience St. John. The showers have water saving heads, but that's due to water conservation...a big deal on the island.

Pros: Everything else. Value. Location. Service. A nice breakfast and pool area. Fast wi-fi. Admittedly it's out by the pool but that actually was a great spot to check email while sipping coffee in the am or free evening rum punch. What else? Beach chairs, coolers and beach towels ready to take with you on your journeys to the many outstanding beaches on St. John. Ice always available along with filtered water. Staff wise...they are very friendly and know the island. Looking for advice on a beach or a sail or a nice dinner? They KNOW.

Yea, I liked this place. A lot. If you like inns with character you will love it. They have put a lot of effort into renovating the place and it shows. Forgot all the beautiful plants on the property, another nice touch.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed in room 113 which was a mini suite, a large bath with a nice size bedroom and sitting area.m the bed was exceptionally comfy with good pillows. The bath is dimly lit however, I believe this is due to the color of the walls which fit the Caribbean color scheme. If you are looking for a hot shower, you will need to settle for Luke warm. Given location and availability of natural resources, we were ok with this. We didn't vacation for a long hot shower, after all, we spent our days on the sunny hot beaches of St. John so Luke warm to a cooler shower was welcomed.
The Inn keepers are very kind and available to assist, direct and provide beach chairs, large beach towels and coolers.
The pool area is small as shown in the photos, but again, we were interested in the beaches and used the pool for a quick dip.
The Inn is a short 7 minute walk from the ferry terminal and shopping area. The directions for walking to the hotel were spot on.
The inn is located near a nice grocery store too.
We recommend you rent a jeep. Without, you will not see much of the beautiful areas St John has to offer. The taxis will only take you so far. The inn is near 5 or 6 jeep rentals. Don't wait until you arrive to look into a rental, they are typically sold out. New got lucky and did get a jeep last minute with C & C Rental and at a rate of $72/day because we were staying at the inn.
If we return to St. John, we would stay at the inn again.

Room Tip: Room 113 is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I/we have been to St John many times but never had the simple pleasure of staying at the St John Inn. The staff and owner were approachable and friendly. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable (tempurpedic mattress with high thread cound egyptian cotten). We will be back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The St.John Inn is an economical (for St. John) little place that is a convenient, safe, short walk from town past a grocery store, with another a little bit better grocery only a 5 min walk the other way. I did the walk with a large size rolling case. Quiet neighborhood. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is generally clean and maintained. Room 113 in the structure with the front office, however, had a sewer smell like from plumbing without a trap and the AC was not working at the time. The lighting in the bathroom was rather dim and there was no electrical outlet. The shower water was somewhat tepid too. The continental breakfast was a little underwhelming, something a small place could rather make a calling card. I have stayed in another room also in the structure with the front office that did not have the smell or AC problem, but also with tepid shower, and all of these rooms suffer a little noise from the front office in the morning as much as they try to keep it down. There is a structure with rooms separated from the front structure that would have less office traffic.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the structure separated from the one with the front office for less noise in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestjohninn, General Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we welcome the comments. I apologize for any noticeable odor in your room during your stay.
We will take into note the dimness of the bathroom and please provide any suggestions for breakfast ideas that you may have.
Please come back and stay with us again and I will be quieter in the office.
Actually we are moving the office to the breakfast bar area and updating the deck area with a breakfast bar within the next 4-6 months. We are turning the present office area into a media room for a library of dvds, books, a computer for the guests to print out boarding passes or watch a movie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We were spending a week in St. Thomas and decided that we wanted to spend a night in St. John. We stayed in the 2 room suite with our 2 kids (ages 3 & 5). The rooms were clean and nice, there were flat screen Tvs in both rooms with direct tv. The bathroom was fine with nice colorful towels (shower did not get real hot, but it was ok). We had our own little patio outside of our room. The room doors have codes so you don't have to worry about keys, which was nice. There is parking on the street, so that was not a problem like it is at the Cruz Bay boutique. The Inn is in walking distance to downtown Cruz bay, and also you can walk right down the street to the marketplace, which was a nice grocery store. There is a mini fridge, coffee pot, and microwave in the room.The staff was helpful with suggestions for restaurants and places to go. You could also sit and chat with the other guests about things to do on the island during happy hour and breakfast. Breakfast was included and served on the patio. They had free rum punch on the porch where you could watch the sunset when we arrived. We only stayed for one night, but if you were staying longer, they provided beach towels, beach chairs, coolers and ice for you to take with you during the day, which was a really nice touch. The patio has a view of the car ferry dock, which is not the most beautful scenery, but if you look beyond that it is still a nice location. St. John is really the most beautiful island and one of our favorite places to be. If you want to spend a night or two there at a reasonable price, the St. John Inn is a good choice.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

st John inn has to be the prettiest place on the island. you wake up to a wonderful light breakfast......enjoy conversations and hear everyone's suggestions for the day. the sunset view is a wonderful experience. Dave has a wonderful knack of making everyone welcome and making you feel just perfect in paradise!!!!!!!

Room Tip: it looks like every room would be perfect but they have one room with patio and hammock that looks l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. John Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. John Inn

Address: 277 Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St. John Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. John Inn is an affordable, small hotel. It is conveniently located in Cruz Bay in a charming historic building. We are close to shopping, restaurants and all St. John has to offer. We offer modest, budget accommodations with spectacular views of the sunset!Our rooms range from single rooms to two room suites, some with kitchenettes. All rooms have a/c, private bath, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee machines. We offer Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) and Ipod Docking Music Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Priceline and Venere so you can book your St. John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. John Hotel Cruz Bay
St. John Inn Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. John Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.