We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, cool atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Virgin Fire Bar & Grill

Virgin Fire Bar & Grill
2nd Floor, Mongoose Junction, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
+1 340-777-3473
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 40 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Price range: $12 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Virgin Fire Bar & Grill serves contemporary caribbean cuisine in a comfortable and beautiful dining room.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, cool atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

Great food, great service and a cool atmosphere. Excellent selection of the Caribbean favorites, easy to get to, with parking out front

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    21
    15
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hockessin, Delaware
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great new restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Unfortunately we went to Virgin Fire on the last night it was open for the season. Therefore there were several menu items which were unavailable. The seared ahi and cajun jambalaya were both very good. The highlight for me was the Kiss of the Jumbie Margarita! If you like hot/spicy this drink is for you! The habenero tequilla was sooo hot...I absolutely LOVED it!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We ate there twice because we liked it so much the first time. Great food - highly recommend the ribs, pork chops and flourless chocolate cake. Service was excellent too One of the best restaurants in St. John!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Thomas, VI
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fun, Interactive Dining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The Himalayan salt block grilling was something I had read about in the trendy food articles about Stateside restaurants. Very excited to see it locally at Virgin Fire. Something new to try!

It exceeded my expectations. I was able to cook my proteins as I liked them, anddthe shrimp, beef, and tuna were all moist and delicately seasoned. Everything was also very tender - nothing was tough.

The sauces could have been a little better though, so they lost a star because of the sauces. The mango chili was the best, imo. It didn't over power the proteins. I thought the ponzu sauce was too salty and the horseradish tartar sauce for the beef. I would have preferred a regular horseradish or low salt mustard sauce. Or a bbq sauce?

I also would like to see the sides a la carte on the menu. I asked Mike the bartender about the sides and he had me at potatoes au gratin. I like to order several small tastes instead of one meal, so having more a la carte items lets me design my own meal.

Will definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at Virgin Fire Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thanks Ms--

For the very positive review. They're very helpful to us, especially when a critique, such as yours, is so specific as to help the mgmt really understand how to make your experience better.

We're all about giving our guests a variety of tastes and size plates on the menu, to encourage sharing and to accommodate every appetite. We will be updating our menu for next season, and add all of our side dish choices, as you suggest. Ironically, we had already decided to rework the sauces on the Himalayan Salt Block, so you help us reinforce what we were thinking.

So, thanks! We hope to see you again soon!

Michael, VF Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love the Off Season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Tried to visit a few times during the season and there was always a wait. Managed to eat there in August for my wife's birthday and it was worth the wait. Service was outstanding as was the dinner and dessert. Beautiful setting in what i would have to call one of the "coolest" malls i have seen at Mongoose Junction. This restaurant belongs on everyones list to visit when coming to St John.
We sat on the balcony and people watched to our hearts content.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgin Fire Bar & Grill also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Virgin Fire Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virgin Fire Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.