We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Last Dinner in Cruz Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Virgin Fire Bar & Grill

Virgin Fire Bar & Grill
2nd Floor, Mongoose Junction, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
+1 340-777-3473
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 40 restaurants in Cruz Bay
Price range: $12 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Virgin Fire Bar & Grill serves contemporary caribbean cuisine in a comfortable and beautiful dining room.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Last Dinner in Cruz Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Our party of six wanted a nice place to eat on our last night on St. John. My wife and I had been to St. John many times and wanted to try some place new. We were not disappointed. The food was excellent and reasonable for the island. The service was good and the food was better than expected. I had a steak cooked perfectly and my wife had Mahi which was also very good. One of our friends had pork chops that were thick, juicy, and tasted great. We will come back on our next trip. Hint:.Sit on the porch if possible. They had no A/C inside the night we were there.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    54
    19
    14
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great restaurant - highly recommend the Himalayan salt block appetizer. The seared tuna entree is also excellent!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pretentious but Popular?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We ended up walking out of the restaurant before we ordered any food so I am not sure how helpful this review will be. This location has housed so many different restaurants and we have tried each. The theme of this restaurant is fire and ice. We had been snorkeling early so we hit the restaurant as it opened. Every table was open. We did not have a reservation . We were shown to what had to be the worst table in the restaurant behind a wall of bluish glass that is supposed to represent "ice'' In the stuffy restaurant behind the wall our table for two was hot and claustrophobic. we had to wait for server forever though place was empty.When we asked if we could have another table that wasn't behind the glass we were told they were for others yet in the 20 minutes we were there no one came. We twice asked for a drink server no one came. When one finally was in sight but chatting we gave up and left.Hope others have better experience!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at Virgin Fire Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for the heads up. Most people find the place comfortable, and sorry you didn't. We will review our seating policies with staff and be sure that we are promptly greeting and serving people. Virgin Fire has a tendency to have a number of reservations for 7 pm and thereabouts, which causes the tables you mention to appear to not be in use, and a number of larger parties that require specific tables to be held in reserve. I cannot be certain, but it does seem like we could have done a better job in locating you in the restaurant and serving you appropriately, so we do apologize, and again say thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A good experience, decent food but great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Overall the food we had was good. My wife and I both had the ribs which tasted good - the BBQ was very tasty and the portion size was more than adequate. We also had a Shrimp and Spring Roll appetizers which were OK - not the best we have had but no complaints as they were 1/2 off for happy hour.

That said our server (who was the bartender) was very polite and friendly. He continually checked in on us even though he had a full bar and was very attentive.

The restaurant itself was nice and well decorated. We would go back again but probably just for drinks and to split a meal as a small dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tx
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Eh...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Sorry, I wasn't impressed. The food was average and I was appalled at what they charged for a high-ball-sized glass of tea. I wouldn't put it on my "must visit" list. I was expecting more in terms of quality of food for the price, not average.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at Virgin Fire Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thanks for the review and wish you had enjoyed it more. For clarity, the price of an iced tea ($2.50) includes unlimited refills, so the size of the glass isn't related to the value. However, we can and will use a larger glass for the convenience of our guests.

We are very sincere in our efforts and work diligently with all guest comments. It is so very helpful when guests are specific in any comment so that we can specifically address the issues. For some reviewers, it's tempting to be glib and less than specific, but if you are offering constructive criticism, so much more helpful to be accurate, and a dialog via email (michael@virginfirevi.com) most helpful of all.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgin Fire Bar & Grill also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Virgin Fire Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virgin Fire Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.