We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed as well” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Virgin Fire Bar & Grill

Virgin Fire Bar & Grill
2nd Floor, Mongoose Junction | Mongoose Junction, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
(340) 777-3473
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 42 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Virgin Fire Bar & Grill serves contemporary caribbean cuisine in a comfortable and beautiful dining room.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed as well”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Read an earlier review titled Underwhelmed....I would agree most definitely. Food was not bad, but not great. My opinion is that the prices are too high for the food, service and experience. The service was not the best while there (early dinner) .... very slow and we are used to island time. Many items are seasoned with so much spice it overwhelms whatever you ordered. Bottom-line on this place is there are many other places that will be a better choice for food, service and overall experience.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    33
    22
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Caribbean Jerk Bone-in Pork Chop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I enjoyed the service and the food. The menu is limited but the decor is classy. I had the bone-in pork chop with Jerk seasoning and pineapple. I wasn't expecting it to be as good as it was. I recommend dinner there if you go to St. John.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“So Glad We Didn't Skip This Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The cocktails were delicious, the appetizers were tasty, the entrees were phenomenal, the 2 guys playing live jazz music were on top of their game! Definitely must have the Himalayan Salt Block and the Ribs!!! (making my mouth water thinking about it!) No way we won't be back! The owners Mike and Barbie Barry even came and sat down with us for a while just to chat and make sure everything was perfect. It was! The lighting and music was perfect for a romantic / elegant experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great meals, reasonably price for a nice restauraunt. nice dinner view from the front porch. would def recomend as a nicer place to eat on the island.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This place was amazing. Our waiter was John and I don't think he could have treated us any better. The food was perfect and amazing. Defiantly going there again on our next trip down there. THANK YOU JOHN

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgin Fire Bar & Grill also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Virgin Fire Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virgin Fire Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.