We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virgin Fire Bar & Grill

Virgin Fire Bar & Grill
2nd Floor, Mongoose Junction | Mongoose Junction, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
(340) 777-3473
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 48 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: With a palatable menu sure to satisfy anyone's hunger, Virgin Fire is an amazing option for a night out on the town in Cruz Bay, St. John. Come and join us today upstairs in Mongoose Junction!! If interested in coming in for dinner, call ahead for seating or a reservation for parties of 5 persons or more.
Connecitcut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great service, nice view, pleasant staff. The mahi mahi I had was superb! A nice ginger glaze and served over butternut squash...sounds weird but tasted amazing. My husband loved his Tuna, cooked just the way he liked it...just seared. I will go back if ever on St. John again

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    65
    35
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cruz Bay, St. John
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go for happy hour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We excited to find a new restaurant this year. We saw the sign for 1/2 price appetizers from 4-6. I consider this a cost effective way to test out a new restaurant. We took over the bar and tasted everything on the appetizer menu. The spring rolls were excellent, we loved the flatbread pizza, artichoke hearts, prawns and everything else. We went back a second time for dinner and I loved the salt block cook at your table small plate. The prices are reasonable which is rate on St John. Definitely give this restaurant a try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Salt block!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

So fun! We enjoyed cooking our food on a Himalayan salt block! Steak, ahi tuna, shrimp all seared to our liking. Rubbing our food on the salt block added tons of flavor and a unique experience. Cucumber mojito was delicious too!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“New restaurant worth a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This restaurant has only been open 3.5 months but is certainly worth a try. It's upstairs in Mongoose Junction where Paradiso used to be. Food was good and wine was reasonably priced compared to many places in USVI.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Casual dining but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We were seated on the outside deck overlooking the street, which was totally lovely on a lovely night. It appeared that most if not all the couples were seated there, with groups of younger people inside, perhaps so they could spread out more. Our service was shaky from the start, with one server (I wish I got her name) making up for it with her willingness to take our orders and for her friendliness. She was great. Our assigned server was totally perfunctory in his attitude, although he did nothing wrong per se. My husband started with 1 paella slider that he liked a lot. Then he had the jambalaya which he was totally disappointed with. The shrimp were highly seasoned for no good reason, and the rest of the dish was a meh. I had the ribs which were okay and the fries, which I hardly touched. The key lime pie was a nice dessert. Prices on St. John are just high for reasons listed elsewhere in these reviews. While I didn't think the dinners themselves warranted the prices, you've got to give the restaurant some slack for the nice ambience they provide. But would we go back? I'm pretty sure not.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at Virgin Fire Bar & Grill, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thanks, Tooter

Every review is a so unique and helpful for us to try to understand our guests. Thanks for noting that good service teamwork helped you have a better experience, and that nothing was wrong with the assigned server. We'll take your food notes to heart, and sorry you didn't enjoy as much as you might have. It's always good to share while there, and give us the opportunity to improve your dining experience– we listen very carefully to what our guests have to say, so don't be shy. We do care, and strive to provide an thoroughly enjoyable meal and we do have a nice ambiance, glad you appreciated that.

We hope you will try us again.

Thanks

Michael, VF Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgin Fire Bar & Grill also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Virgin Fire Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virgin Fire Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.