We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in St. John!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virgin Fire Bar & Grill

Virgin Fire Bar & Grill
2nd Floor, Mongoose Junction | Mongoose Junction, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
(340) 777-3473
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 47 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: With a palatable menu sure to satisfy anyone's hunger, Virgin Fire is an amazing option for a night out on the town in Cruz Bay, St. John. Come and join us today upstairs in Mongoose Junction!! If interested in coming in for dinner, call ahead for seating or a reservation for parties of 5 persons or more.
Nashville,Tn
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in St. John!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This upscale, friendly restaurant serves outstanding Caribbean cuisine. The experience was fantastic from start to finish--our waiter was attentive, the atmosphere was sophisticated but welcoming, and the food was some of the best I have ever had. Highly recommended! Don't leave St. John without dining here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    53
    31
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Under Construction”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our table was charming , overlooking the harbor and street.
But 3 items on the menu were sold out , and what we ordered very ordinary - like being at Bennihana's.
The martini was Luke-warm and the service poor.
All rationalized by staff as a function of being new and still figuring things out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sundogcafestjohn, Owner at Virgin Fire Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi Anne

Thanks for the review, and we apologize for your experience. In order to keep everything fresh, we do run out of certain items occasionally, but being new isn't an excuse. We are committed to continually improving and we hope that you will try us again in the future.

Thanks
Michael, VF proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ambiance-Awesome, Food-Ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our seats on the outdoor balcony and the dim red lighting. Himalayan Salt Block was unique and tasted great. However that was the highlight of our meal. The crab&corn fritters, fries w/blue cheese fondue, & paella sliders left much to be desired. I was surprised to see my virgin mojito (I'm pregnant) on our bill for $10 as most restaurants typically charged $3 for the club soda (including waterfront/zozo's etc). Service was great.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sundogcafestjohn, Owner at Virgin Fire Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks, Maria

Glad you enjoyed at least some aspects of the dining experience. Not sure why the items you ordered "left much to be desired", but we will review our techniques for them. Any insights you would like to share would be most helpful. Please send to michael@stjohnhost.com. As to the mojito, I completely agree and will address this with the staff. It's not a menu item, but the staff member should have adjusted the price accordingly.

We thrive on guest comments as they help us to improve. Thanks!

Michael, VF proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great new option with a very eclectic menu and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I'll start with the menu as its not your normal island offering and something for everyone's taste. The restaurant has a main seating area, a cozy seating area by the bar and seats on the balcony, so something for every mood (like the menu). The service was great and we had the chance to meet the owner, Michael, who was most accommodating. Given the years of success at the Sun Dog Café, I expect this new restaurant to be around for a very long time. So go and enjoy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompano beach
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Virgin Fire Restaurant 'rocks'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Ate dinner here on Sunday, December 22. Sat on the porch and the weather was spectacular. Service was great and the food was outstanding. I had the Mahi and it was yummy. Caesar Salad was not so much like your regular Caesar but it was deelish! My husband had the Churrasco steak and it was just the best. The potatoes gratin were to die for. Don't miss this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgin Fire Bar & Grill also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Virgin Fire Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virgin Fire Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.