We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never been better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Westin St. John Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Westin St. John Resort & Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
A TripAdvisor Member
“Never been better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2005

The beautiful Westin in St. John was the perfect place for a honeymoon! The staff was quietly accomodating, taking care of our every request without being seen. The views were amazing and the amenities fulfilled every desire - from snorkeling, luxury boats, pools, tennis and dining. You can't go wrong at the Westin St. John!

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    765
    325
    202
    137
See reviews for
664
774
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2005

It was so lovely that it was hard to drag ourselves away from the hotel to go and take advantage of the beach and the duty free shoping! It was so hot and busy there, its not like any other Caribbean vacation I had experienced, The Westin St. John give you the peace and tranquility we were expecting!
We stayed on a beach front room and I adored waking up to see the beach from my lovely heavenly bed! During the afternoon the sun sets are something to remember, we were on a wedding anniversary so it was really romantic.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2005

Just a short, but not sweet review! My fiance and I stayed at this resort for Thanksgiving Week 2004. TOO many children, we are platinum starwood members, this hotel was terrible. Our room was shabby and not chic. tattered curtains, old bed linens, no view after we payed extra for one. Also not our trash but other trash remained outside our room the entire week. We could not enjoy the pool due to an overwhelming amount of children. The food on the resort was pricey and not good. Would recommend taking the short taxi ride in to town for some great restaurants. We have stayed in several Westins including the Luxury European Collection.

Final words this resort needs to be remodeled, also NO bother complaining at the front desk the line is too long behind other guests complain. My other main concern the beach was terrible and the chairs always had emptied cups that were not cleared between guests! St John great Island just pick another place to stay!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2005

Just return from a six night stay at the Westin and had a wonderful time! The rooms were huge and so were the bathrooms. We were in building 22 which was a great location for couples. Definitely request rooms either on the second or third floors, because first floor rooms have to keep their curtains drawn because people walk by the patios. We loved our garden view room on the second floor and could still see the water! We ate at the beach restuarant twice and the food is priced right along with the rest of the island. The gym at the Westin is wonderful, bring your headphones because they have Cardio Theater. Starbucks coffee is served in the Mango Deli (right next to the gym) We took a FABULOUS snorkel sail trip right from the cruz bay watersports located at the hotel and it was the highlight of our trip!!! To Waterlemon Cay Captain Larry and the crew were awesome! And the 60 foot catamaran is only two months old! Just outside the property is a gourmet deli which is a bit cheaper than Mango Deli on the property. The woman at guest service was super helpful and we enjoyed the lush greenery and grounds of the Westin. Must dos while on -St John Dinner and mini golf at the Compass Rose at Pastory Gardens (free drink at Sunset) Rent a jeep right from the Westin and tour the island. Tour the old sugar plantation ruins, hike the national park trails especially Lindt Point trail to Honeymoon Beach. So much to do on St John, its nice to come back after a long day of exploring to the Westin and dip in the beautiful pool and drink a wonderful frozen drink, go back to the room shower relax and head out for a wonderful meal at Lime Inn or Fish Trap or Margarita Phil's in Cruz Bay. ENJOY!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulf coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2005

I was a bit apprehensive about our stay after reading the reviews on this site, but I would have to say that our stay was fine.

I agree with everyone that the food at the westin is mediocre at best, but you are a short cab ride away from plenty of good food in town.

We did not spend much time at the resort. The rest of the Island is too beautiful; everyday we visited a new beach or part of the island. Really the only time we spent in our room was in the evening and the morning before we headed out for the day.

If you are planning on going to St. John and going to spend all your time at the resort, then it is a waste and you should probably find a place with a pool closer to your home.

The only reason we stayed at the Westin is beacuse of our SPG points, otherwise we would have stayed somewhere less expensive, since the whole point of our trip was to enjoy the island.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2005

The good: The resort exterior, pool and beach is very nice and well maintained. Good restaurants are a cheap cab ride away in town. The island is beautiful and easy to get around. Great sailing, hikes, snorkeling, etc...

The bad: The service is the worst I've ever experienced. For our honeymoon, we were put in an unclean room that had mold growing up the curtains....2 ft high! I called for a room change and was told that someone would come by to investigate. We waited for an hour until I got angry enough to go to the front desk. I waited there for a while because the line was long (full of others who were unhappy) and because the staff was generally unattentive. After a considerable length of time and discussion, we were finally switched to another room. Over our week stay, it became very evident to us that service was not a priority at the resort....we came across many others who were not happy.

Overall, I was pretty disappointed based on the amount of money spent. On your honeymoon (I gave the resort advance notice twice that this was our honeymoon trip), you kind of expect some little recognition of the special occasion. We received nothing from westin....opposed to a bottle of wine and a room upgrade from the AIRPORT marriott before our trip. You would think that Westin would address the resort service after many reviews about this issue, but I guess as long as people show up what do they care. In the future, I'll spend my money elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2005

Our family spent the week before Christmas at the resort. It was a fantastic tropical holiday week! From the moment our ferry boat arrived at the resort where we were greeted by a friendly staff, complete with welcoming rum punch drinks, to the seamless handling of our luggage, the resort has thought of everything a guest could need. The guest rooms are newly renovated in fun tropical colors and the property grounds are pristine with local flowers and plants.
Each day we were provided an itinerary of complimentary activities taking place throughout the resort. They even have a family movie night by the pool with popcorn! When not taking advantage of the activities we relaxed on the beach for a quiet day of reading and swimming. We enjoyed the prompt service of food and beverage on the beach and at the pool each day.
The spa provides all the services one would expect. The massage was amazing. The gift shops have a great selection and we all took a souvenir home. The tennis courts were fully engaged and there was a fantastic playground for the kids. The Kids Club was a buzz of activities while their parents relaxed. The restaurants were a great treat at the end of each day. The food was delicious whether you dined casually or more dressy. There was always a friendly taxi waiting at the lobby court to shuttle us in to town for more adventure.
We watched a beautiful wedding on the beach where the bride and groom were glowing.
The staff is professional, helpful and friendly, the resort beautiful. We look forward to returning soon. Thank you Westin St. John for a vacation our family will always remember!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin St. John Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Address: P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin St. John Resort & Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach The Westin Resort St. John, USVI is a tropical retreat that's easy to reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Media 8, Inc., Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Westin St. John Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin St. John Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.