We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular resort that is only getting better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Westin St. John Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Westin St. John Resort & Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Spectacular resort that is only getting better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lots of renovations and upgrades. A very family friendly, accessible and attentive resort on one of the best islands. We have been going for about 12 years and still love it. There are great restaurants, the small place still seems full of discoveries as well as going back to tried and true places.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    720
    311
    190
    134
See reviews for
613
734
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Friendly staff. Nice room with the exception of a small bathroom. The grounds were lovely, well landscaped and maintained. The beach and pool were great. With the exception of mold on the beach chairs. They only had one dinner restaurant and it was mediocre. Thankfully the deli food was surprisingly good. The female consierge was very nice and helpful, she gave great restaurant recommends . They had a great selection of water craft rentals (free for guests) but the life vests were very stinky and also moldy! We also noticed a few peices of garbage that were left on the grounds for our entire stay! Over all we had a great time!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
branchburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We are currently staying in a one bedroom studio at the Starwood St. John property. I must admit that after reading so many negative reviews I was a bit concerned about what we might encounter. Our studio is very nice ...no mold or bugs as previous reviewers encountered on this property. The lobby and grounds are beautiful. Most of the renovations are completed. I do think a new pull out couch in our studio is needed. I mentioned it to a manager and he informed me that new furnishings are next on the list for renovations of the older units.

We are workout fanatics so we checked out the fitness center on our first night and they were just moving the equipment into the newly renovated facility. As for the employees, we have only encountered friendly and helpful staff. Case in point...we ran out of soap but since our stay is under a week do not get cleaning service. We mentioned to one o the housekeepers outside of our room that we were low on shampoo and soap and came back to our room to find a bag hanging with tons of both! (She was not allowed to enter a room not on the list for security reasons.)

I can't speak for the hotel rooms, but overall I would rate our stay so far as excellent.

One more thing, if you are looking for an excursion, I would HIGHLY recommend Wish Upon a Star Charters. We went on the "Swim with the turtles" all day snorkel charter and the experience was fantastic. My son (21) said it was the best snorkeling trip he had been on (we own at the Atlantis and have done a number of the snorkeling charters in the Bahamas). The owners Matt and Cindy and staff member Taylor were awesome. Each stop gave our family and the other passengers plenty of time for snorkeling. Matt to the time to point out the different sights we passed and Taylor made sure we always had a drink in hand (water soda, beer, etc) or when in the water guided us to the most interesting underwater attractions. There were also snacks galore. Everything from snorkeling to an on board water slide and raft rides make this adventure well worth the $.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What a disappointment, especially given the effort the parent company puts into guest experiences at other properties. Clogged toilets, lumpy beds, cheap pillows, half-hour waits for food service, and of course, an 18% gratuity tacked onto some bills where the service was non-existent. The nadir was a clogged toilet in the room that took three calls and an hour to repair. On a positive note, the water sports teams were consistently first rate, with an emphasis on safety and guest enjoyment, and the maintenance crew professional and upbeat. On balance, I would not recommend this property, to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I traded my Starwood property in order to get to the St John Westin. The villa was wonderful! There were 3 bedrooms, each with an expansive bath, and a powder room off the living area. The kitchen was a nice size and nicely furnished with convection oven, microwave oven, dishwasher, disposal, and 4 burner stove. We had our own pool and hot tub inside our private courtyard. The outdoor grill setup was amazing. The windows in the kitchen could be opened to the courtyard. There was seating at both the window counter (on high stools) and at a table with umbrella. There were recliners and cushioned pool floats poolside. The laundry room had a full size washer and dryer and a closet that included 4 beach chairs and umbrellas that could be used when traveling to the island beaches for snorkeling. There were 2 king bedrooms and the third bedroom had 2 queen beds. (The living room also has a sofa bed if needed.)
The on-site restaurant served some wonderful salads with dinner and the breakfast options were extensive.
There was some construction going on near the hotel units but it was very quiet at the villa. We were never bothered by any construction noise of any type.
All the staff were very friendly and we were provided with clean replacement beach towels within minutes of our call.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have been going to the Westin for a few years. I did stay there, but no longer. We now access boat trips through their property, but I would not suggest this hotel to anyone I know. This trip the property was still undergoing significant maintenance. There are at least 2 buildings under construction. I would not want to stay there and hear all the noise. What was worse was the people spraying pesticide or herbicide. They were wearing full body suits, and they were wearing masks on their faces of some type, and spraying. This was going on two different days we were there, and in the presence of visitors. Management was there, we saw the General Manager of the hotel, and he most likely was aware of the spraying of these chemicals that had the workers wearing full body suits and masks on their faces. Although, to be fair, he was nowhere near the sprayers and I guess it may be possible he didn't know they were spraying. The smell was offensive, and I have never smelled anything like that on any hotel property or seen anyone in full body suits with masks on their faces. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. There is construction, noise, appearance of the area with piles of dirt, and some kind strong smell of chemicals being sprayed. The hotel may improve once the construction is finished. The workers do continue to be friendly. I did not stay here or see the rooms, but the noise, construction, and smell was disturbing.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I went to St John in November. I was freaking out before we left because the weather report predicted 30-50% rain every day. I learned very quickly that 30-50% meant it would probably be clear and sunny. Twice it sprinkled for 2 or 3 minutes while the sun was shining and once it down poured for about 10 minutes. We rented a car in St Thomas because it was several hundred dollars cheaper. We rented from budget and was alittle disappointed to find that even though I had reserved a car months in advance that they did not have a car available. They were able to correct the problem and had us out of the airport in about 30 minutes. Hertz will not allow their vehicles to leave St. Thomas. The roads in St John are crazy! The hills, hairpin turns and general disrepair of the roads would make a 4WD a great choice but we made due with a small car but next time I may upgrade. When we arrived at The Westin, we checked in at their make shift lobby as they were finishing up repairs on a few areas. Over all, the repairs really did not effect our stay. I was disappoint that the spa was not open due to renovations because that's always something I look forward to on vacation. We were located in a studio across the street and up the hill (building 32). The only bad part was that all studios are on the bottom floor therefore you get a jungle view. The upside to this is that you have plenty of privacy! I did really like the private pools on the hillside buildings. The pools areas have small waterfalls, a grilling area and a nice view! They also have a golf cart busing system with bus stops "Iguana stop" at several locations. They can take you around the resort. The staff was always friendly and when I was limping around with a sprung ankle I was offered a ride by security and another time by the landscaping team. They always seemed to go above and beyond. They even left me a bottle of my favorite rum as a welcome birthday gift! I thought that the studio met all our needs. There was plenty of room for the 2 of us. As starwood owners, we received free wifi. We didn't spend too much time on the balcony except in the morning because of bugs since our balcony faced a wooded area. Make sure to bring bug spray..it's a must! The pool area is beautiful and I love the floats that are available. It was never crowded while we were there. There is one grocery store within walking distance of the Westin and an even nicer one up the road a bit farther (the Market place) but would require a car ride. There's also a drug store, deli, and specialty liquor store at the market place location. Although the distance to Cruz Bay isn't that far from the Westin, I don't suggest you walk. The roads are narrow, there are no sidewalks and the drivers are not worried about pedestrians. If you have rented a car, be prepared to worry about parking in Cruz Bay. Its a big issue and it wasn't even high season while we were there. When it comes to food prices, it's high everywhere! Doesn't matter if you eat at the Westin, Cruz Bay or buy food at the grocery store. Keep in mind that this is an island that must import everything therefore it all cost more. You can be prepared to pay $15-20 per person for breakfast or lunch at your basic restaurant. For dinner it's more like $20-30 and this goes up with appetizers or drinks. We stayed away from high end dining! One more bit of information. Make sure to get a map from the concierge. The cartoon maps they have available are by far the best way to learn your way around Cruz Bay. We loved our stay in St John. We loved that it hasn't been taken over by chain restaurants or stores. Its layed back and relaxing! And worth every dime spent!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 2 days ago
It was wonderful to hear how refreshing your visit was. We value your experience as Starwood Owners and look forward to seeing you again next year. Thank you for sharing your review on your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin St. John Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Address: P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin St. John Resort & Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach The Westin Resort St. John, USVI is a tropical retreat that's easy to reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westin St. John Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin St. John Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.