We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our worst vacations ever” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin St. John Resort to your Saves list
The Westin St. John Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300B Chocolate Hole, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“One of our worst vacations ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed at one of the time share villas a few weeks ago. We were scheduled to stay for a week and ended up cutting short our vacation because of the terrible experience. We landed in St. Thomas at 2 p.m. There had been a tropical storm that morning and the ferries were shut down - which, of course, cant be helped. When we got to the Westin desk at the airport, they handed us a list of phone numbers and made no attempt to help us or any of the other stranded guests find alternative accommodation. We finally found two rooms at a nearby hotel and settled in. When we called the Westin later that evening, they told us the public ferries were running (but the Westin ferry was not) and we were welcome to take the public ferries and come to the resort. When we got to the resort (at 9 p.m) , we were told the staff had not shown up because of the storm so the rooms were not ready, but they would give us sheets to make our own beds. We figured we did not have a choice (it was too late to go back to St. Thomas), so we took the villa. When we got there. the previous guests had not vacated the villa and refused to leave, because they had missed their flight and had no place to go. So we went back to the reception area and got another villa. When we got to there, the place looked like a hotel room where a dozen college kids had spent spring break (I kid you not!). My family took one look at the room and decided there was no way we could stay there. When we got back to reception the staff were extremely unhelpful and started complaining to us about what a hard time they had that day (which was true, but not really our problem). There were quite a few other guests with similar problems but no one from management seemed to be around to deal with the issues, leaving the desk staff to their own devices. We asked if they could call around and find us another place to stay but they said nothing was available. My kids then went on to Travelocity and found a room at Gallows Point. It was midnight by this time and when we finally got to Gallows Point they had a wonderful, clean room. Wonder how their workers got to work? Interestingly enough, two other families that were also Westin guests also showed up at Gallows Point, having made their own arrangements like we did. When we returned to the Westin the next day at 3 p.m. there was no power, long lines at reception and our room was still not ready! No apologies, no accomomodation, nothing whatsoever. We finally got to a clean villa at 5 p.m., more than 26 hours after our scheduled arrival time! :-(

Thanks to one of the ladies that was at the time share desk (who was trying to sell us a time share - talk about a tough job) word got back to the manager who reluctantly agreed to pay us for the night we spent at Gallows Point, but no other comp. The resort itself is big and sprawling, pretty mediocre unless you like that kind of set up. Beach is nothing to write home about, especially since there is a huge marina right outside the perimeter. Slim pickings on the food front within the resort. A three star type of place.

On a positive note, most of the staff (outside of the reception desk) were exceptionally nice. St. John itself is a wonderful island, with the prettiest beaches in that region and some fairly nice restaurants. The National Park is wonderful, of course. A jeep is a must, as most reviewers have already commented. However, there are plenty of lodging options. The Westin definitely will not be our choice the next time. But I guess it does not matter - since they will probably find takers for their time shares - nice captive, customer base.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Narasee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
On behalf of the management team I want to apologize for your arrival experience and the information that was communicated to you regarding checking in at the resort. Our team spoke to you during your visit and we hope to have the opportunity in the future to provide you with at true Westin experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here twice and is still a place I would kill to go back for. Great for all ages. The beach is defiantly not a perfect clear water beach. There was seaweed everywhere and I refused to step in it. Although the beach isn't great... The rest of st.john is. I recommend renting a jeep and going to other beaches! The hotels staff is very kind and the restraunts are also very enjouable .

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for posting your review of our resort on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that after your two visits to our resort you are dying to come back. Unfortunately in the summer months we do get some seaweed on our beach which we remove periodically. I’m pleased you enjoyed our friendly staff and restaurants. Thanks again for your review. Please come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Md
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Thirteen years ago, after we fell in love with St. John, we bought some time-share space at the Westin. We go there twice a year, winter and summer. When we come home, we start counting down until the next time we get to go. The Westin has become our home away from home; it's the place where we leave all stresses and tensions behind and spend glorious days swimming and snorkeling with friends and family. The annual maintenance fees on the time-share units are substantial, but they are a fraction of what one would pay for a single hotel room at the Westin for the same period. In fact, they are a fraction of any reasonable rental space in St. John. (Of course, one has already paid to own the week in question.) The villas are well-furnished and well-equipped, so we mostly cook and eat at home, which is far less costly than the local restaurants. The good folks at the Westin take good care of us. Any problems? Just call "service express." They respond right away to send or fix whatever-it-is.

If you are thinking of buying a unit at the Westin, you should be aware that it may be possible to purchase a unit from a previous owner for less than you would pay to Starwood. Also, the villas on the hill are older than the Bay Vista units, but we like the hillside villas better, partly because of the lovely views and the swimming pools adjacent to the buildings.

We love the Westin villas so much that my husband volunteers his time to serve on the time-share board. We are definitely biased, but not because anyone pays him a dime for the good work that he does.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabrielle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
As a loyal villa owner we value your comments and thank you for your raving review. It was a delight to read your review and thank you for sharing your time share knowledge with others. I look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

wow wow had the best time the folks there were the best. I want to win the lottery so I make it my home for the rest of my life. I just cannot say enough about the folks and beaches it was just the best.

Room Tip: any room you cannot go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustinII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
I was delighted to hear your raving review of your recent stay with us at The Westin St. John Resort & Villas. Our friendly Caribbean resort makes you feel at home and wanting to stay longer. We hope to have you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The Westin is located in a beautiful location and is spread out across several acres. We had an ocean view room with private entrance, close to the hotel's restaurant and pool. St. John is gorgeous and this hotel's feel fits right into the island life, whilst offering the luxuries such as nice open rooms, air conditioning, etc. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your delightful review on TripAdvisor. I’m happy to hear we met your expectations and it sounds as though you had a rejuvenating stay with us. See you on your next trip to The Westin St. John Resort & Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This westin is a beautiful resort... If you are not an owner it can be very expensive to stay there. The only reason I gave it a 3 is because it is under construction. They are converting some of the rooms to villas which is going to add to the cost to stay there. You can take a ferry from red hook (St. Thomas) to St. John , instead of the one from Charlotte Amalie which is more expensive.

Room Tip: All beds in these rooms/villas are great. All views From all rooms/ villas are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KB1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
I’m glad you enjoyed our beautiful resort and thank you for posting your informative review on TripAdvisors. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully prior to another 6 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

To start, St. John's is by far... the best Island to visit out of the others. So beautiful and quiet with much smaller population, but great beaches. The Westin was great to us and all the staff were outstanding. There were only a few hiccups along the way, but there were far more positive's than negatives. The inhabitants of St. John's were extremely nice as well, and welcomed us immediately, almost as if we were family. The pool does not have a "Swim" up to bar, but the bar is right beside the pool, and they have waitresses and waiters that ask you for drink refills. The rooms are older but clean. We had an issue with the beds and possibly old mattresses, but other than that... it was a great stay for a week. The trips to Island Gorda was absolutely fantastic and I will be giving a review on that shortly. The August visit was perfect, as it was the "End" of the season over there and the weather couldn't have been any better. The restaurant did a great job with our reception and the food was excellent all week, even if they are relatively a new establishment. Much appreciation to everyone that helped with our beach wedding, it was fantastic and went without a hitch. I will try and include photos. Great place to visit with a wonderful venue and staff.

Room Tip: Get the bottom floor rooms, to have access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Congratulations and thank you for choosing the Westin St. John Resort for your destination wedding and honeymoon. It was nice to hear you experienced true island hospitality and you felt welcomed. I want to apologize you had an issue with your bed but glad you enjoyed your trip and our resort overall. I’m thrilled you were pleased with the food at our restaurants and what was prepared for your wedding reception. We would love to have you back for your one year anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.7 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#4 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. John Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. John Resort

Address: 300B Chocolate Hole, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. John Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach The Westin Resort St. John, USVI is a tropical retreat that's easy to reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin St. John Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
The Westin St. John Resort Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing