We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Save Saved
You added Westin St. John Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin St. John Resort & Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cruz Bay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have stayed here twice and is still a place I would kill to go back for. Great for all ages. The beach is defiantly not a perfect clear water beach. There was seaweed everywhere and I refused to step in it. Although the beach isn't great... The rest of st.john is. I recommend renting a jeep and going to other beaches! The hotels staff is very kind and the restraunts are also very enjouable .

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for posting your review of our resort on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that after your two visits to our resort you are dying to come back. Unfortunately in the summer months we do get some seaweed on our beach which we remove periodically. I’m pleased you enjoyed our friendly staff and restaurants. Thanks again for your review. Please come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    691
    298
    183
    126
See reviews for
592
694
21
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Md
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thirteen years ago, after we fell in love with St. John, we bought some time-share space at the Westin. We go there twice a year, winter and summer. When we come home, we start counting down until the next time we get to go. The Westin has become our home away from home; it's the place where we leave all stresses and tensions behind and spend glorious days swimming and snorkeling with friends and family. The annual maintenance fees on the time-share units are substantial, but they are a fraction of what one would pay for a single hotel room at the Westin for the same period. In fact, they are a fraction of any reasonable rental space in St. John. (Of course, one has already paid to own the week in question.) The villas are well-furnished and well-equipped, so we mostly cook and eat at home, which is far less costly than the local restaurants. The good folks at the Westin take good care of us. Any problems? Just call "service express." They respond right away to send or fix whatever-it-is.

If you are thinking of buying a unit at the Westin, you should be aware that it may be possible to purchase a unit from a previous owner for less than you would pay to Starwood. Also, the villas on the hill are older than the Bay Vista units, but we like the hillside villas better, partly because of the lovely views and the swimming pools adjacent to the buildings.

We love the Westin villas so much that my husband volunteers his time to serve on the time-share board. We are definitely biased, but not because anyone pays him a dime for the good work that he does.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
As a loyal villa owner we value your comments and thank you for your raving review. It was a delight to read your review and thank you for sharing your time share knowledge with others. I look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

wow wow had the best time the folks there were the best. I want to win the lottery so I make it my home for the rest of my life. I just cannot say enough about the folks and beaches it was just the best.

Room Tip: any room you cannot go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I was delighted to hear your raving review of your recent stay with us at The Westin St. John Resort & Villas. Our friendly Caribbean resort makes you feel at home and wanting to stay longer. We hope to have you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Westin is located in a beautiful location and is spread out across several acres. We had an ocean view room with private entrance, close to the hotel's restaurant and pool. St. John is gorgeous and this hotel's feel fits right into the island life, whilst offering the luxuries such as nice open rooms, air conditioning, etc. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to post your delightful review on TripAdvisor. I’m happy to hear we met your expectations and it sounds as though you had a rejuvenating stay with us. See you on your next trip to The Westin St. John Resort & Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This westin is a beautiful resort... If you are not an owner it can be very expensive to stay there. The only reason I gave it a 3 is because it is under construction. They are converting some of the rooms to villas which is going to add to the cost to stay there. You can take a ferry from red hook (St. Thomas) to St. John , instead of the one from Charlotte Amalie which is more expensive.

Room Tip: All beds in these rooms/villas are great. All views From all rooms/ villas are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I’m glad you enjoyed our beautiful resort and thank you for posting your informative review on TripAdvisors. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully prior to another 6 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

To start, St. John's is by far... the best Island to visit out of the others. So beautiful and quiet with much smaller population, but great beaches. The Westin was great to us and all the staff were outstanding. There were only a few hiccups along the way, but there were far more positive's than negatives. The inhabitants of St. John's were extremely nice as well, and welcomed us immediately, almost as if we were family. The pool does not have a "Swim" up to bar, but the bar is right beside the pool, and they have waitresses and waiters that ask you for drink refills. The rooms are older but clean. We had an issue with the beds and possibly old mattresses, but other than that... it was a great stay for a week. The trips to Island Gorda was absolutely fantastic and I will be giving a review on that shortly. The August visit was perfect, as it was the "End" of the season over there and the weather couldn't have been any better. The restaurant did a great job with our reception and the food was excellent all week, even if they are relatively a new establishment. Much appreciation to everyone that helped with our beach wedding, it was fantastic and went without a hitch. I will try and include photos. Great place to visit with a wonderful venue and staff.

Room Tip: Get the bottom floor rooms, to have access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Congratulations and thank you for choosing the Westin St. John Resort for your destination wedding and honeymoon. It was nice to hear you experienced true island hospitality and you felt welcomed. I want to apologize you had an issue with your bed but glad you enjoyed your trip and our resort overall. I’m thrilled you were pleased with the food at our restaurants and what was prepared for your wedding reception. We would love to have you back for your one year anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We (4 friends) rented a 2 bedroom, 3 bath condo at the Westin, from St. John Condos. The booking agents, Amie & Kevyn, were very patient with all my booking questions, and we were lucky they were. The Westin is a lovely property. Our villa, 3310, was perfect! It was clean, contemporary, and had a super balcony view of Great Cruz Bay. The kitchen was well equipped, and we received a welcoming gift of cleaning essentials, so we did not need to buy dishwashing soap, laundry detergent etc. The condo had a washer & dryer, which were indispensable with all our beach going, snorkeling, and swimming. The employees with whom we spoke, Ricky, Ricardo, Caroline, Jeff, & Rosemary, to name a few, were terrific. Caroline and Jeff were outstanding, as they went out of their way to make sure our stay and departure were just perfect.
We purchased the Westin Transfer--do it! It's pricey, but they pick you up right at the St. Thomas airport, no fuss, no muss, and deliver you to the Westin private dock. They take care of you & your suitcases, coming & going, and get you back to St. Thomas in time for your departing flight. We were there during the 6 hour storm, Bertha. Jeff worked tirelessly getting us and our suitcases loaded onto his golf cart and on board the Westin boat, so we did not miss any connections in St. Thomas.
Oh! While there we took the Sunset Cruise & the snorkeling trip to Norman Caves. Spectacular!
We were lucky!!! It was a great vacation.

Room Tip: Our condo couldn't be beat. We were on the hillside, which had a communal private pool to enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I was thrilled to read your review and hear that as first time guests to our resort you thoroughly enjoyed your stay from the room to our outstanding staff and our convenient transfers. Thank you for choosing the Westin St. John Resort for your vacation and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin St. John Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Address: P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin St. John Resort & Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach The Westin Resort St. John, USVI is a tropical retreat that's easy to reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Westin St. John Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin St. John Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.