We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second trip back after 6 years” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Westin St. John Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Westin St. John Resort & Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cruz Bay
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Second trip back after 6 years”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This westin is a beautiful resort... If you are not an owner it can be very expensive to stay there. The only reason I gave it a 3 is because it is under construction. They are converting some of the rooms to villas which is going to add to the cost to stay there. You can take a ferry from red hook (St. Thomas) to St. John , instead of the one from Charlotte Amalie which is more expensive.

Room Tip: All beds in these rooms/villas are great. All views From all rooms/ villas are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
I’m glad you enjoyed our beautiful resort and thank you for posting your informative review on TripAdvisors. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully prior to another 6 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    720
    312
    190
    134
See reviews for
614
734
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

To start, St. John's is by far... the best Island to visit out of the others. So beautiful and quiet with much smaller population, but great beaches. The Westin was great to us and all the staff were outstanding. There were only a few hiccups along the way, but there were far more positive's than negatives. The inhabitants of St. John's were extremely nice as well, and welcomed us immediately, almost as if we were family. The pool does not have a "Swim" up to bar, but the bar is right beside the pool, and they have waitresses and waiters that ask you for drink refills. The rooms are older but clean. We had an issue with the beds and possibly old mattresses, but other than that... it was a great stay for a week. The trips to Island Gorda was absolutely fantastic and I will be giving a review on that shortly. The August visit was perfect, as it was the "End" of the season over there and the weather couldn't have been any better. The restaurant did a great job with our reception and the food was excellent all week, even if they are relatively a new establishment. Much appreciation to everyone that helped with our beach wedding, it was fantastic and went without a hitch. I will try and include photos. Great place to visit with a wonderful venue and staff.

Room Tip: Get the bottom floor rooms, to have access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Congratulations and thank you for choosing the Westin St. John Resort for your destination wedding and honeymoon. It was nice to hear you experienced true island hospitality and you felt welcomed. I want to apologize you had an issue with your bed but glad you enjoyed your trip and our resort overall. I’m thrilled you were pleased with the food at our restaurants and what was prepared for your wedding reception. We would love to have you back for your one year anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We (4 friends) rented a 2 bedroom, 3 bath condo at the Westin, from St. John Condos. The booking agents, Amie & Kevyn, were very patient with all my booking questions, and we were lucky they were. The Westin is a lovely property. Our villa, 3310, was perfect! It was clean, contemporary, and had a super balcony view of Great Cruz Bay. The kitchen was well equipped, and we received a welcoming gift of cleaning essentials, so we did not need to buy dishwashing soap, laundry detergent etc. The condo had a washer & dryer, which were indispensable with all our beach going, snorkeling, and swimming. The employees with whom we spoke, Ricky, Ricardo, Caroline, Jeff, & Rosemary, to name a few, were terrific. Caroline and Jeff were outstanding, as they went out of their way to make sure our stay and departure were just perfect.
We purchased the Westin Transfer--do it! It's pricey, but they pick you up right at the St. Thomas airport, no fuss, no muss, and deliver you to the Westin private dock. They take care of you & your suitcases, coming & going, and get you back to St. Thomas in time for your departing flight. We were there during the 6 hour storm, Bertha. Jeff worked tirelessly getting us and our suitcases loaded onto his golf cart and on board the Westin boat, so we did not miss any connections in St. Thomas.
Oh! While there we took the Sunset Cruise & the snorkeling trip to Norman Caves. Spectacular!
We were lucky!!! It was a great vacation.

Room Tip: Our condo couldn't be beat. We were on the hillside, which had a communal private pool to enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
I was thrilled to read your review and hear that as first time guests to our resort you thoroughly enjoyed your stay from the room to our outstanding staff and our convenient transfers. Thank you for choosing the Westin St. John Resort for your vacation and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have a time share at the Westin St. John Resort.. We absolutely love it. The beach is absolutely gorgeous with warm water, along with the view, you never want to leave... So much to do. The pool is also warm all year round. We have our villa, with 3 bedrooms and our own pool.. It's so comfortable, you never want to leave. Service at the bars and restaurant is fantastic.. We look forward to coming here every 2 years... Take a tour of the island - to the different beaches, or around the whole island.. Views are incredible..

Room Tip: They are remodeling the hotel rooms that are on the beach.. If you can't stay at a 3 bedroom vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
As a villa owner we value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful experience on TripAdisor. We offer a variety of activities to keep everyone busy and I’m pleased that your home away from home is all that you expect. See you in another 2 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Chatham, New York, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Resort is in a beautiful location- took the ferry service right from the airport- transfer was smooth and easy- definitely recommend- drops you right on the doorstep - room was nicely done- had the patio right on the beach - view was gorgeous- only negative was the very limited food options- dinner was good - room service had very few choices- service overall was great and friendly

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
I was grateful to read your nice review on your experience with us. Our ferry transportation is a convenient way to arrive to our resort creating a smooth transition from the hectic travel to the relaxing vacation. I’m happy you appreciated your room along with its location and our 1,200 ft. long beach. Thank you for also providing helpful feedback on our dining options. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Me and nine of my best girlfriends rented two villas for a week. At check in we experienced some problems but the staff was great in helping us fiend a solution. The rooms were big and spacious. Equipped with all appliances except an oven. All the rooms had its own on-suite. The pool and pool area bar was great. The property is very large which leads to lots of walking. So pack few heels. There are golf carts that can take you around the property also. The restaurant was pretty centrally located and food was good. Didn't really visit the hotel beach because we were on all the other beaches on St. John.

Pretty good stay overall

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our resort on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear you and your girlfriends had a great stay and enjoyed your villa, our pool, and our Snorkels restaurant. See you next girls trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My husband and I just got back from St John after a 7 day stay at the Westin Resort. We stayed in a poolside room. I asked at check in if we were in a "renovated room" and he said we were. I think maybe they painted....? The room served fine as a place to sleep and have as a home base, but it was nothing special....especially for the price. Housekeeping did a great job cleaning our room and replenishing things every day. Pool was beautiful! Beach was OK - we did not spend ANY time here as St John has so many more STUNNING beaches to visit that this beach could never compare to. We had breakfast at the Lemongrass Restuarant on property which was a great meal both visits and very friendly staff! Front desk staff & gift shop staff were also both very friendly. There was quite a bit of construction going on, but we left early every morning and came back at night to get ready for dinner out in town and then back again to go to bed, so it really didnt affect us much at all. I can't recommend St John enough and I also can't express how much you need to explore the island and all it has to offer! Side note - Cruz Bay Watersports on property was AMAZING! We booked a Sunset Sail and a Trip to Jost Van Dyke and both excursions were well worth the m oney and the crew was amazing - Full Review on their page.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are further away from the construction. Poolside rooms were near construction as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor. It was nice to read your review on how you enjoyed our friendly staff and your meal at our Lemongrass Restaurant & Bar. All of our 96 resort rooms have recently been refreshed with new carpet, paint, draperies, and a new storm patio door. I am glad you were able to enjoy our resort as well as the island of St. John. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin St. John Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Address: P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin St. John Resort & Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach The Westin Resort St. John, USVI is a tropical retreat that's easy to reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westin St. John Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin St. John Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.