We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Save Saved
You added Westin St. John Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin St. John Resort & Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Cruz Bay
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in April for spring break and had a great experience here. Our room faced the beach and was super clean and a perfect spot for reaching pool and deli, etc. easily. The kids went to Westin Kids Club which gave us the chance to enjoy some of the islands amazing dining. Everyone we met was very friendly. This was our 4th stay at the resort and we love it there!

Room Tip: We really like the pool hotel buildings. Last trip we stayed in a villa, but liked the ease of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    633
    664
    288
    178
    119
See reviews for
561
674
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Used SPG points to stay for a few nights prior to checking in to a rental home on St. John. We drove there using our rental car & ferry from STT, so no experience with hotel boat shuttle.

Our room was a standard double in the 1200 building. Typical comfortable updated Westin room, no flowering praise or complaints. A double bed though is a bit small for two average sized adults, I wish they still put queens in rooms...but what can you do?

It was great that the room included a mini-fridge so you could store personal food/bev. There is a small (overpriced) deli/mini market on site, but if have any qualms about typical resort prices you can also walk about 200 yards down the road to a larger store. Nicely appointed gym on site as well, but it can get crowded at peak times!

Of course all the usual resort complaints are true for this place as well. But if you don't want to pay a $40/day "resort charge", spend $15 on a poolside hot dog, or shell out $8.00+ for a small rum & Coke, you probably shouldn't stay at ANY resort hotel ANYWHERE.

We enjoyed our time. The staff was friendly and experienced none of the negatives that prior posters have mentioned. The pool area met our needs nicely, regularly scheduled activities were offered pool and beach side, and our kids had a ball. Although it might be getting close to time to update the tiling, water feature, etc on the pool, over all is is a great space with lots of loungers, umbrellas, etc.

It would be a shame for you to go sot St. John and never leave the resort though. The island is verdant, underdeveloped and beautiful. In our rental car we went to the gorgeous Maho Bay beach a few times and it was wonderful, especially with our young kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We are currently staying at the Westin St John. The staff is rude and un accommodating from the moment we checked in (which took an hour) we felt un welcomed and a burden. We booked 4 people in a room and they insisted we had not and gave us a King size bed. We requested a rollaway and they are going charge us $5 a night even though one of our party is on the floor (does this seem accommodating? The Westin is known for there "Heavenly Beds and the one bed we have is not even close to Heavenly"!!! They charge a whopping $60 a kid for the kids club for 3 hours ( thought it was family Friendly)! The Restaurant is overpriced and service is ridiculous-had to ask for water several times and there was no one else except us in restaurant, but yet the staff had time to gather and chit chat about there previous night activities. I will come back to St Johns but not to the Westin.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for week end June thro to July 3rd. The room which was poolside was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Despite the ongoing renovations we had a great time. One key feature was the friendliness of the staff. Our friend working at the pool bar was always helpful and smiling! Beach was great too. The excursions on the catamaran were excellent and well worth the money.

Room Tip: Poolside room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We love St. John and the Westin is a great hotel. I've given glowing reviews in the past. In the last couple of years the rooms have started to show some aging, especially the villas up on the hillside (where we stayed). This is likely why they are undergoing a massive renovation now. We didn't even really notice the construction and the service continues to be good.
As our family is a getting a bit older, we found Caneel Bay to be more fun (stayed there a couple of nights after the Westin). When the kids were little, the Westin was the best. Now that the are 5 and 8, they enjoyed the "big kid" Caneel activities more.
My best advice is to not spend too much time at the resorts, get a jeep and get out and explore the most beautiful beaches on earth.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Township, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here for my honey moon and thought it was very nice! The resort sits right across from St Thomas USVI, on St John and is perfectly located near the ferry.

The rooms were immaculate and the restaurants were top notch.

The area seemed very safe so venturing off the resort was not an issue

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a Starwood Resort owner I have been trying to get to this property for years. I am sorry to say that the resort just didn't live up to my expectation.. It was just okay. We had a 3 bedroom villa that was nice. It was spacious with a full kitchen,. The 1 pool area was okay however the pool was dirty. At one point, you could see the remnants of lotion and stuff collecting to one side of the pool. The beach area was just okay too.. There were cats roaming around the property which was off putting. The excursion to Virgin Gorda was great as well as the island tour..
With all of that said, the staff was very nice and friendly. They were helpful and accommodating. St. John itself is a beautiful island. We visited other beaches on the island that were breath taking. I would go back just for that. Cruz bay was great as well. The restaurants are plentiful. Morgan's Mango on Tuesday night is Carribean lobster night. The lobster was awesome. You must make a reservation though.
St. John is great for families. The kids had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 6 days ago
As an Owner, your feedback is very important to us and we’d like to thank you for your consistent loyalty to Starwood Hotels and Resorts. We do our very best to control the cat, iguana and chicken population at our resort. We work closely with the Animal Care Center in an effort to safely and humanely remove some of these animals off of our property. We do apologize if you were inconvenienced by their presence and we will continue to strive to provide our guests with the utmost satisfaction. I was glad to hear that other than a few concerns, your stay went well and you and your family enjoyed your time with us. Thank you again and we hope you will come back to our property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin St. John Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Address: P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin St. John Resort & Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach The Westin Resort St. John, USVI is a tropical retreat that's easy to reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Starwood, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Westin St. John Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin St. John Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.