We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin St. John Renovations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Westin St. John Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Westin St. John Resort & Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Manasquan, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Westin St. John Renovations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have stayed the Villas at St. John Westin in the past and we loved it. Loved it so much, in fact that we are going again November 17-24 and are bringing friends who haven't been away sans children in 15 years. How sad we were to hear that there won't be a POOL, Snorkles or Steakhouse. When we booked we were never told of the impending work and only last week did we receive a postcard in the mail from The Westin which states that the staff is planning "creative and fun activities" for us. Sorry to say, we aren't interested in Slip and Slides and water guns! We are 4 adults trying to enjoy two luxuries while away POOL and QUIET. Sadly, we are now aware that we won't have either. The Westin needs to 'step up' and provide guests with more than a couple of shuttle passes to Trunk Bay Beach. There should be resort credit at a minimum to compensate for the obvious lack of amenities we can enjoy during our stay. When we called we were told they have no plans to give guests anything additional besides the beach pass for 2 days.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments and suggestions. We apologize that you will be inconvenienced by the pool closure during your upcoming November stay. I am unclear when you booked your stay, but the renovation may not have been announced at that time. An email communication was sent in June regarding the renovation and potential pool closure. I do apologize that you just received a postcard last week, as Starwood mailed the notifications if we did not have an email address on file. While I am unable to access your reservation without your last name, based on the compensation being offered to you, I believe you booked a Bay Vista villa. Starwood Hotels and Resorts asks that we remain consistent with our compensation during the pool closure, and everyone in your party will receive three complimentary beach vouchers to and from Hawksnest beach. Our Activities team has implemented multiple activities on our beach, and you will be surprised to find that many of them are for adults, including drink tastings, corn hole, bobbing for beers, etc. Floats will continue to be available to you for your enjoyment and there will be food and drink service on the beach. Our dedicated beach staff will do their best to ensure you have the most pleasurable experience possible. Thank you for expressing your concerns. We look forward to welcoming you and providing you with a stay that despite our much-needed renovation, exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    765
    325
    202
    136
See reviews for
664
773
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were overall very happy with our stay here. As a platinum member we were upgraded to one of the 3 bedroom villas, which was fantastic. The property is a little spread out so you will need to walk a bit, but employees in golf carts were always willing to let us hitch a ride with them (there also is a golf cart shuttle if you want to wait for it). One caveat is there are some villas on the other side of the main road, which would make getting around pretty annoying I think, but luckily we were not in those. The grounds are great, nice pool with bar that also serves the beach right next to it. The beach is nice and quiet with free chairs and floating rafts. There are a lot of moored boats in the harbor, which doesn't allow for the most photographic spot. They also rent a variety of water sports. Kayaks, hobie cats, and paddle boards are all free to take out and they rent motor boats to take around the island for the day (must do in my opinion). The one thing that annoyed me was that they charge for tennis rackets (and they weren't cheap). This seemed unnecessary. There is also car rental onsite (although we used a company in town).

Speaking of cars, you will probably want a car to explore the island or even get into town for dinner. There are so many awesome sights to see around the island that it is worth getting out of the hotel grounds. Plus the resort isn't in the best location relative to town or the beaches so that is one drawback.

We had free breakfast each morning (as a platinum member), but other than that we didn't eat at the resort. We went into town each night for dinner as there are plenty of great little places. We did have a drink in the steakhouse bar and it looked nice, but can't comment on the food.

The staff was all very friendly and helpful, especially the folks at the watersports rental when I lost a pair of glasses to the sea!

Overall, it was a great stay. There aren't many places to stay on St. John, but this is definitely a good one.

Room Tip: I wouldn't want to stay in the bungalows across the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
As a Platinum SPG member, we’d like to thank you for your consistent loyalty to Starwood Hotels and Resorts. We value your feedback and I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of many of our amenities on property. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Westin 3 nights. Since the poolside rooms were closed for updating, we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom ocean view bldg 23. Great location. Very spacious with balcony.
True it is in serious need of upgrading, dirty carpet, cracked tile, stained grout. But it was a great room. Comfy bed, wonderful toiletries, robe. Found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The golf cart drivers all stopped if you waved them down. It is a wonderful resort for families. Also, we got a free 2 nights to come back after the renovation as compensation. Very happy with them.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Westin St. John. We appreciate your understanding regarding the tired condition of your room accommodations. As you mentioned, we are in the process of a major renovation and will be working on Building 23 in the near future. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and for acknowledging something we pride ourselves greatly on, being a family-friendly resort. We look forward to your return with your two-night Gift Certificate. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in villa #4213, 3 bedroom w/pool. Although across the street and somewhat removed from the main property we loved it. Lush landscaped lawns, complete with palm trees, surrounded a cluster of about 12 villas in a quiet cul de sac. Anytime we need a shuttle, just dial 0 and within minutes our golfcart was there to whisk us to the beach or a taxi to town. The St John market was just a block behind us down the street and well supplied for groceries.

Clean, nicely appointed, spacious and fully stocked kitchen and baths with everything we needed. Large master with king bed, patio doors to the pool, hugh whirlpool tub, seperate shower, double sink and seperate toilet room and sink with access to the living area was ideal for our party of seven. Up the skylighted stairway to the left were two bedrooms with comfy kings that had sliding doors for privacy or could be left open for families. Also, another large bath with double sinks and tiled shower were in the hallway. To the right on the stairs were a full waher and dryer in a nice utility room with folding counter.

The living/dining area had hide-a-bed sofa, 2 chairs, lounger, tables with lamps and a gigantic entertainment center complete with TV, stereo and shelves, closets and drawers for my brother's belongings since he slept on the pull out. Table for 6 and granite bar with 3 stools connected the kitchen with stainless appliances and pass through window to the outside pool area. It was a perfect set up for our crew.

The outdoor patio area with seperate keyed entrance was entirely private with slate tile, concrete fence, built in gas grill, loungers, table, chairs, umbrella, bar and stools. It felt like our own private resort...so beautiful with foilage all around! The private pool was quite large, L shaped with a lovely rock waterfall and complete with foam mattresses for floating.

The main resort just a few blocks up the road was entered on a divided brick paver drive, lushly landscaped with circle drive to the huge open air lobby with marble floors. This overlooked the grounds (again lovely) and more brick paver walkways to the main pool, beach bar and the beach of Great Cruz Bay. Karen, our concierge, was most helpful with giving us the lay of the land, activities, local sights, discount cards and nice Westin bags. Thanks girl you're awesome!

We knew ahead of time that the main pool would be closed for renovations the day after our arrival, so that was our main objective the first day, to hit the pool. Had a blast playing water volley with "Alabama" and her crew! Hey Alabama!!! The bartenders were quick to serve us buckets of beer or whip up a satisfying rum concoction...yummy! Our only dinner that evening at the beach bar consisted of chips and salsa, turkey sandwich, grilled chicken sandwich, nachoes, mahi mahi and quesadillas. All was very tasty, but the servers were on "island time" and rather on the slow side...but no worry...no problem!

Since we were there in mid-September the resort seemed rather deserted thanks to it being the off season. Other than a few other guests, we pretty much had the place to ourselves...including the activities! We won a full sized bottle of rum playing snorkel hide and seek, a pizza from Mango Deli playing PLINCO and tons of free beer samples during the beer tasting event. Also played corn hole with all the challengers we could muster up. A lot of fun from friendly employees who were trying to make the best of the slow times. Too bad our schedule didn't allow us to participate every day. The resort also offers complimentary use of non motorized kayaks, paddle boards and hobie cats, etc.

Although the rooms nearest the pool area were also being renovated, we did not have any issues with the noise anytime we were on the beach or nearby on the grounds. I'm sure, once completed they will be a lovely addition to this wonderful resort. All of the staff we encountered were helpful, friendly and quick with all our requests.

The only unsatisfactory comment I would make about the resort is transportation to Cruz Bay. Taxi fare is $5pp one way. For our group that added up to at least $70 each time we went to town and back...outrageous! I feel the Westin should consider providing a free shuttle several times daily for it's guests. Afterall, it's only a mile or so.

Would highly recommend...beautiful island, beautiful resort, beautiful people!

Room Tip: Be sure and check out the activities for a chance at free prizes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed review and for taking the time to share it on Trip Advisor. It sounds as though you enjoyed your three bedroom private pool villa – aren’t they the best? Thank you for the details regarding your specific room accommodations and all of the amenities it included. That will be very helpful for future guests. I was very pleased to read that despite the renovation and pool closure, your large party of seven had a great time and experienced instinctive Customer Service from our associates. We look forward to your return in the future. Thanks again for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Okay...So what was very apparent was that there are two distinctly different "rental" options on this property. One is a hotel with six buildings around the pool (now undergoing renovations). The other is the "timeshare" rooms through Starwood. I was bracing for a battle going in after reading some of the reviews. The studio room we stayed in was on the hillside which was fantastic for my husband and me. The staff was quick to get a golf cart to the room to take us down the hill - literally a few minutes. We were hard pressed to not have someone offer us a ride every time we were walking around the resort. Most of the drivers were very outgoing - a few were more quiet. We only had a few meals on the resort but found the wait staff to be very attentive and the food to be fine although a bit pricey. We dialed 0 for everything from a tv that needed reset, to a tree that needed trimmed in front of our balcony, and to the routine for checking out with our bags to catch the ferry. Every time the front desk folks were great. The pool was under construction which we knew when we booked, but we enjoyed lounging on the beach and using the pool at the hillside area. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Many, many thanks for your review. We appreciate your patience and understanding when pertaining to our anticipated renovation. I was proud to hear that our shuttle service, Front Desk and Service Express teams, and your studio villa all exceeded your expectations. Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed there with my family in May 2013. I used my Starwood points for the stay. The location was great and our room was right off the beach. Overall we had a great time there. There were ample amenities. We used public transportation to get to the resort from St Thomas. Westin has a boat service from St Thomas to St John's but I thought it was very expensive. It would be very convenient if they had priced it a bit better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thanks for sharing your feedback and for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. It sounds as though you enjoyed your May stay and we appreciate your loyalty to Starwood Hotels and Resorts. Thanks for sharing and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have not stayed here, however back in April 2013 we booked a villa for our extended family to stay for a week. We were NEVER told there would be renovations, and I just found out last night by reading the reviews here on TripAdvisor. We were never contacted by the Westin or Starwood about this, and had we just gone as planned that would have been an AWFUL surprise. We have been looking forward for months to our Beach/Pool vacation. They advertise their amazing 1/4 acre pool. We have small children and the reason we booked here was to enjoy St John, but also be at a resort w/the amenities of a Beach AND POOL. I am incredibly disappointed and we are now scrambling to figure out what to do. The Westin/Starwood will offer to cancel, however we have no way to get back the $4200 in airfare. UNETHICAL BUSINESS< DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR MONEY.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, when you booked in April of 2013, our renovation had not yet been announced. However, you certainly should have been notified prior to finding out on Trip Advisor. An email communication was sent out to all guests with an email address on file. Letters were mailed to our guests that had not yet provided an email address. I truly apologize if you did not receive this notification and I will check with our Corporate team to see what the issue is. We can certainly imagine your frustration regarding the upcoming reservation for your family. You mentioned that you booked a villa – our Virgin Grand villas do have access to two semi-private pools, so if you booked a Virgin Grand villa, your family will have a pool to enjoy during their stay. If the villa was booked for Bay Vista, the group will receive three complimentary beach transfer vouchers to and from Hawksnest beach for everyone in the party. We do apologize but are doing our best to ensure that our guests staying with us during this time are compensated fairly and well taken care of. We have received glowing feedback from our guests regarding the Activities and amenities that were moved from the pool area to the beach. Food and drink service will also still be provided and our beach produces no waves and is very calm for your small children. We hope to welcome you in order to show you a relaxing and refreshing stay, despite the pool closure. Thanks again for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin St. John Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Address: P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin St. John Resort & Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach The Westin Resort St. John, USVI is a tropical retreat that's easy to reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Media 8, Inc., Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Westin St. John Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin St. John Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.