We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin St. John Resort to your Saves list
The Westin St. John Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300B Chocolate Hole, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our family really enjoyed our stay at The Westin!! The rooms/villa was very clean, spacious and had great floor plans. The staff was very friendly - a few almost too friendly (seemed like they were going overboard and insincere). Loved the beach - with the exception of the no see'ums!! Liked the fact that it wasn't located in town. The drive to town was very short and convenient but it was nice that you're not in the middle of everything by staying at The Westin.

Only complaints include - pool/deck size and chairs not large enough for the size of the resort. When you're paying the nightly fee that we were, you shouldn't have to race out to reserve/hold your space at the pool. Also, the staff didn't seem to want to always help you. At the beach, a waitress walked past my family and I numerous times, with tray and menus in hand, without stopping to take an order or offer to get us a drink or food. Lastly, the bellman drove past us many times with fellow employees in their carts instead of offering us rides back to our villa. Or they would make us wait or them to drive in front of us or cross the road instead of waiting for their guests. We just thought there would be better customer service. There should be more guest transportation more readily available from the parking lot throughout the property.

All in all great place to visit!

Room Tip: If you're not going to cook but still travel with your family, ask for a villa away from the BBQ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boulderbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I was glad to hear you enjoyed your stay but want to apologize for the lack of shuttle service provided to you. I will speak with my Service Express Manager in an effort to improve our Customer Service and number of shuttles available for our guests. Thank you for bringing this to my attention, as I am sometimes unaware of areas that need improvement. We look forward to welcoming you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our family had another fantastic stay at the Westin St. John villas! We go every year in June, and have always had great weather and a great vacation. We love the convenience of the villas with the kitchen and washer/dryer units. It makes for a much more enjoyable stay, feels much more like home. We prefer the Bay Vista villas, as they are closer to everything and can easily walk to everything. The Hillside units are farther away and require a wait for the shuttles, which can take awhile at times. The beaches of St. John are truly amazing, so rent a car if you can and explore a bit. You can even rent a car directly from the Westin. St. John is a wonderful little island, it's truly a place to unwind and enjoy the beautiful Caribbean!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachgirlusvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks for your review and for choosing us year after year for your vacation. We look forward to seeing you next June. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were given a stay at the Westin by our son as an anniversary gift. The property is nice, not great, and is undergoing some construction. Aspects of the property were very well maintained (landscaping, pool) while others were very worn- gym equipment that was not well maintained, walkways with peeling paint. Overall, it was a mostly positive trip, but again, not what we have found in other Westin properties in terms of the attention to details. For example, our room was not made up the first night, but was well cleaned the second. We had a very bad experience with a service that operates a sales desk on the property, and the Westin was helpful but not overly concerned (security arranged a police report to be filed about lost/stolen property, but no one from Westin management contacted us even after we filed the report). All in all, I would probably try Caneel Bay when I returned, or stay in the BVI.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask where your room is in relation to the ongoing construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpsfl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and suggestions for improvement. As you mentioned, we are currently undergoing a renovation, so your Westin Workout and peeling paint concerns will be addressed in the near future. I want to apologize for the inconsistent Housekeeping service and will share this feedback with our Director of Housekeeping so that he can rectify it for future guests. Please know that our Security department here at the Westin follows protocol when pertaining to the Virgin Islands Police Department. Once they are involved, we do have to follow a certain procedure and remove ourselves from the equation. It is my understanding that you spoke with our Director of Security and that a voicemail was left in your room after the incident was filed. I apologize if you felt as though we were not overly concerned, as this is not the case. Thank you for sharing your review and we hope you return to the Westin St. John in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We just returned from a week stay and had a wonderful time! We rented a 3 bedroom villa, 1 bedroom villa and a studio villa for 14 people. The only downside of that was the distance between us in the 3 bedroom villa and the other two. It was quite a walk to the villas up on the hill but the shuttle service was excellent and prompt. All we had to do was call for a shuttle and it was there within minutes. The units were well kept and had everything we needed. This is a time of year when a lot of restaurants in Cruz Bay are closed so we didn't get to try out a lot of places but all the more reason to return to St John and this amazing resort!
Bring bug spray!! The "no see ums" are terrible this time of year.

Room Tip: We were in Building 25 which was very close to the gas grills and nice for grilling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muellerdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and advice for future St. John visitors. I was glad to hear that your three different villa accommodations exceeded your expectations and provided a great home base for your large group of 14. Thank you for your comments regarding our complimentary shuttle service. Our Service Express Manager will be proud to know his team is doing a great job providing rides to any of our guests who may need it. You are right, September brings many restaurant closings so we hope to see you again in the future for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

After reading some of the online reviews of this resort I was a little bit nervous about our stay at the Westin St. John. Thankfully, we had a very positive experience here and will definitely be back again. I travelled with my husband, leaving the kids at home with their grandparents, and enjoyed 3 wonderful nights here. We booked an ocean view room (which I highly recommend, ask for Building 16, 2nd floor). We had an amazing view from our balcony and were literally steps to the beach and pool. We didn't realize until our last day there that you can use the resort's non-motorized water sport equipment at no additional charge, but we did enjoy our very first paddleboard experience. There were also kayaks, a water bicycle thing, and a small sailboat. Rafts for the pool or ocean were also complimentary. The grounds at the hotel were well-maintained and we enjoyed seeing the large iguanas in various places around the property (by the car rentals, on the lounge chairs by the pool, in the palm trees). We found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. The Jeep rental on property was very convenient and I highly recommend using them if you're going to be venturing out off property. If you've never been to St. John, you MUST leave the resort and experience some of the beautiful beaches this island has to offer. The beach at the resort is OK, but you should definitely go to Hawksnest Beach, Trunk Bay, Cinnamon Bay, and Maho Bay. If you're more adventurous and not traveling with small children, we loved snorkeling at Waterlemon Cay. (It's not a good beach though).

If you are traveling with kids, there was a nice playground right near buildings 10, 11, and 12, as well as tennis courts, a ping pong table, and a Kids Club activity center.

Another advantage of the Westin is its proximity to downtown Cruz Bay where we found some great restaurants. It was also close to a few different markets if you're staying in the villas and plan on cooking some of your own meals.

Now for the downside: the resort is about to undergo a significant renovation. Check the website to see the timeline, but note that the pool will be closed for a period of time. The options for onsite dining were limited. There is a small eatery called the Mango Deli where I had a stale bagel for breakfast the first morning. They also have sandwiches and pizza for lunch, but we never ate there other than for breakfast. We had dessert one night at the open-air restaurant/bar right next to the dock but it wasn't very good. A better option for breakfast is Deli Grotto at Mongoose Junction. They had fresh baked goods, delicious breakfast sandwiches, and the prices were very reasonable.

Another downside is that there is no shuttle to town (about a 5 minute car-ride away). You have to take a taxi which will run you $10 per person round trip. For a family of 5 going out to dinner, it really adds up.

We did book our transportation from the airport in St. Thomas through the Westin which we thought was worth the extra money. They take your luggage right at the airport and the next time you see it is in your room at the hotel. (Vice versa when you leave). You can certainly do it yourself by taking a taxi from the airport to the Red Hook Ferry, pay the $6 ferry fare (plus extra for each suitcase), and then take a taxi from the Cruz Bay dock to the Westin. The Westin's ferry pulls right up to the Westin where we were greeted with a complimentary rum punch, which was a nice touch. When booking through the Westin you get unlimited ferry rides to and from St. Thomas. Just be aware that most shops are closed on Sundays in St. Thomas so if you're planning a shopping trip, pick a different day.

We are looking forward to returning to the Westin, especially once the renovations are complete and we may just bring the kids next time. Maybe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mcmmhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review and for not letting any negative reviews deter you from a great vacation with us here at the Westin St. John. It sounds as though you and your husband enjoyed your three night stay and were able to utilize many of our amenities provided to you. We truly appreciate your details regarding the resort and information for future guests. We’d love to meet your children and as you mentioned, we have multiple activities available for them. Thanks again and we look forward to your return, with or without your kids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

From the welcome at the airport until the day we had to leave, this place was amazing. The staff was wonderful-everyone always waved and made us feel like family. If you go, be sure to take Mr. Penn's tour of the island. His taxis are the main transportation around the island and he made our trip extraordinary. We stayed in one of the villas and it was wonderful

Plan to visit the other beaches on the island. The Westin beach was ok, but the others are spectacular.

Even though we caught the edges of tropical storm Gabrielle, we still managed to have some good beach time and went snorkeling with the turtles on Maho Bay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatashaT777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor. It sounds as though you enjoyed your stay with us, your villa accommodations, and Mr. Penn’s Island Tour. He will be delighted to know just how much he enhanced your stay. I was glad to learn that you were able to experience the unparalleled beauty of our beaches on St. John – Maho is one of my favorite spots for turtles. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Westin St John was a great place to stay while enjoying our amazing vacation. The amenities & the staff are top notch. The Westin's restaurant overlooking the bay is one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen at sunset.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Many thanks for your short, yet very sweet review. We appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback and hope to see you again in the near future for another one of those spectacular sunsets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.7 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#4 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 705 reviews
1.4 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. John Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. John Resort

Address: 300B Chocolate Hole, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. John Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach The Westin Resort St. John, USVI is a tropical retreat that's easy to reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin St. John Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
The Westin St. John Resort Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing