We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have a new favorite vacation spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Westin St. John Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Westin St. John Resort & Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“I have a new favorite vacation spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

From the welcome at the airport until the day we had to leave, this place was amazing. The staff was wonderful-everyone always waved and made us feel like family. If you go, be sure to take Mr. Penn's tour of the island. His taxis are the main transportation around the island and he made our trip extraordinary. We stayed in one of the villas and it was wonderful

Plan to visit the other beaches on the island. The Westin beach was ok, but the others are spectacular.

Even though we caught the edges of tropical storm Gabrielle, we still managed to have some good beach time and went snorkeling with the turtles on Maho Bay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor. It sounds as though you enjoyed your stay with us, your villa accommodations, and Mr. Penn’s Island Tour. He will be delighted to know just how much he enhanced your stay. I was glad to learn that you were able to experience the unparalleled beauty of our beaches on St. John – Maho is one of my favorite spots for turtles. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    699
    303
    187
    128
See reviews for
597
707
21
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The Westin St John was a great place to stay while enjoying our amazing vacation. The amenities & the staff are top notch. The Westin's restaurant overlooking the bay is one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen at sunset.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Many thanks for your short, yet very sweet review. We appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback and hope to see you again in the near future for another one of those spectacular sunsets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

After reading all of the reviews on TripAdvisor, I was very concern about the Westin St John. I expressed by concern when checking in at the Westin desk in the airport. I had complied a list of the rooms and section that I wanted to stay in. The representative on duty at the airport was Rehema Jackson,she was a true professional. For every objection that I gave her from the room to their boat service she reassured me that I would be satisfied with the service. My stay required me to stay in a studio 4 nights, then move to a 2 bedrooms unit for the next 7 days. My room was upgraded to the two bedroom for my entire stay. She informed me that when possible they try to accommodate the guests so that they don't have to change rooms. My first Wow ! , Next i was concern about the Westin Ferry, some reviewers complained about the boat not being available.
She handed me a schedule of operations which clearly stated the hours of departures and returns.
Unlimited trips during the hours of operation made the flat fee worth it for my husband and I .
I had to admit that every effort was being made to satisfy us as new guests. My husband asked for recommendations for local cuisine. She gave him three restaurants that was sure to have his favorite dish. We thanked Rehema and left the airport for our trip to the Westin.
Upon arrival in our room, we were pleasantly surprise with my husband's favorite dish waiting for us, along with a nice note. We immediately called the front desk asking for the employee at the airport because she was the only one we had a conversation with about local cuisine. The staff was very excited that they had surprised us. The representative informed us that their supervisor called and arranged everything. Great team work . Wow factor # 2 !..
Later that evening I met a family that checked in at the same time with us at the airport. I told her about my WOW! Experience, and she told me that her son had received a birthday gift and card in his room as well. WOW #3
The Westin is definitely trying to improve their service standards,every employee that I have encountered have been most helpful. I'm truly happy with my stay here, and encourage others to give them the opportunity to WOW them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Wow, thank you very much for sharing your review. On behalf of the entire staff at the Westin St. John, we all appreciate your kind words regarding Rehema Jackson and her team. She is our Front Office Manager and based on your feedback, is doing all the right things to ensure that both she and her team are providing our guests with outstanding service. I have shared your review with my entire staff and management here at The Westin St. John, and I was so proud to learn just how much your stay was enhanced. Your story is a perfect example of the Customer Service we strive to provide to all of our guests, and I was pleased to learn your stay exceeded your expectations and that you were WOW’ed by the service you received. We truly thank you and hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon and found the room to be small and worn. It was musty and the bedding was stained... The bed killed my back and I was in pain most of our trip. The daily housekeeping service was sub par and the cushions at the pool were disgusting. I lifted 2 of the cushions and there was gum under both. The staff was friendly but they drove golf carts on the walking paths and you were constantly dodging them. We've stayed in a villa before and will go back to staying at a villa going forward. We travel frequently and this Westin was sub par.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for expressing your concern and sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues that arose during your stay. It is my understanding that my Executive Assistant has been in touch with you and provided compensation for all of the inconveniences during your stay. Please feel free to reach back out to us at 01098.guestrelations@westin.com if you wish to discuss your stay in further detail. Thanks again for letting us know of areas that need improvement. We hope to welcome you back to see the progress firsthand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The westin in cruz bay, is a very relaxing, large resort, and you will feel very much like you are in your own private island. We went in the off season, so very few hotel guests. There is no actual "hotel", but rather many small villas and condos. With the resort being so large, you will do a lot of walking, but there are golf carts that you can catch a ride on. Staff is friendly and helpful, with the exception of some of the restaurant staff. Resort is beautiful, with the exception of the rooms needing updated, but that is currently taking place. The cafe is great for getting a sandwich or coffee, about $10- $12 a sandwich. Nice pool, but really, you don't come to the island for the pool, so we didn't use it. Also, there are so many beaches, some of the best in the world, so if your coming here to stay on the resort only, I am not sure if I would recommend, since this is the bay, which is still very nice, but the water is nowhere near what you will see on other parts of the island. If you are looking to use this as a place to relax and sleep, it is an ideal place to go. Like I said , food is limited, (one restaurant and a cafe) and just ok beach for the island. Gym is really nice, but limited on space. Overall, very nice resort if your looking for a place to sleep and wind down at the end of the day. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Westin St. John. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay, our helpful and friendly staff, spacious pool and Westin Workout center. Thank you for sharing this information with future guests and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a nice hotel but not sure if it was the quality of most Westins. We didn't have a table or coffe table in the room. It made it hard for us when we ordered room service. There was no place to eat bu on the bed. That was pretty terrible. Also, we paid extra for honeymoon upgrade. We got a free bottle of rum. That was about it. They didn't make us feel special at all. I wouldn't go back. Plus, the bugs were out of control. Bitten from head to toe our first day. It would have been nice if the hotel advised us of this problem and suggested we put on bug spray. They did have a sign on the patio door to keep the screen closed. St Jphn is absolutely stunning, though!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Many thanks for sharing your review and congratulations on your recent marriage. I apologize that you did not feel special during your stay, as we strive to provide you with a relaxing and renewing stay, especially for your honeymoon. I’d also like to add a sincere apology for the concerns that arose during your stay regarding any insects and that you were not informed of the possibility of bugs. Being a tropical island, we do experience noseeums, sand fleas, and other tropical biting insects which are very often mistaken for other more insidious bugs. Both noseeums and sand fleas are common on the beaches. Starwood and the Westin St. John have a very aggressive pest elimination protocol in place and our staff is trained to response immediately to any concerns. In order to inform our guests of the presence of insects, we do have “Beach Tips” cards placed in guest rooms and around the resort to warn our guests of biting bugs and advise that they take extra precaution. Thanks again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to provide you with a true Westin experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Having Starwood points, I have used them here many times for both a standard room and a studio villa (same number of points). The hotel allows you beach views and is much closer to things. The villas provide no views. Both are run down and have a constant musty smell. As expected the food prices are quite high, which makes the villas a good deal. You can cook. The hotel room did have a mini fridge, so we could make salads and sanwhiches for nights we wanted to be cheap. We tend to spend most of time away from the hotel and out snorkelling. The beach at the Westin is nice to watch the sunset, but to hang out there for more than a day is not appealing to us. The chairs are old and breaking down, getting towels can be difficult on some days and problem on others. Next to the landscaping on the grounds, the best feature is the gym. It is decent sized with almost everything you need. It is my biggest draw to here over a house, I have stayed here many times, and while the Westin itself is not the main draw, it a fine place to lay my head at night after a day full of snorkelling and hiking. I will continue to return.

Room Tip: I like the first floor of the hotels, as you have a nice space to sit outside. The older villas are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments regarding your past stays at the Westin St. John. While our resort rooms are in need of a refresh and are part of a major renovation currently taking place, our villas are rather new and in great condition. Many of our beach chairs have been recently replaced, and 65 new chairs were just placed on our beach. Towels can always be found at our pool hut and are consistently available for guest use. I was glad to hear you enjoy our Westin Workout and beautifully landscaped grounds. Thanks again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin St. John Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Address: P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin St. John Resort & Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach The Westin Resort St. John, USVI is a tropical retreat that's easy to reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin St. John Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin St. John Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.