We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to increase its cleanliness standards and beds.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Save Saved
You added Westin St. John Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin St. John Resort & Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cruz Bay
1 review
“Needs to increase its cleanliness standards and beds.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon and found the room to be small and worn. It was musty and the bedding was stained... The bed killed my back and I was in pain most of our trip. The daily housekeeping service was sub par and the cushions at the pool were disgusting. I lifted 2 of the cushions and there was gum under both. The staff was friendly but they drove golf carts on the walking paths and you were constantly dodging them. We've stayed in a villa before and will go back to staying at a villa going forward. We travel frequently and this Westin was sub par.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for expressing your concern and sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues that arose during your stay. It is my understanding that my Executive Assistant has been in touch with you and provided compensation for all of the inconveniences during your stay. Please feel free to reach back out to us at 01098.guestrelations@westin.com if you wish to discuss your stay in further detail. Thanks again for letting us know of areas that need improvement. We hope to welcome you back to see the progress firsthand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    691
    298
    183
    126
See reviews for
592
693
21
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stow, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The westin in cruz bay, is a very relaxing, large resort, and you will feel very much like you are in your own private island. We went in the off season, so very few hotel guests. There is no actual "hotel", but rather many small villas and condos. With the resort being so large, you will do a lot of walking, but there are golf carts that you can catch a ride on. Staff is friendly and helpful, with the exception of some of the restaurant staff. Resort is beautiful, with the exception of the rooms needing updated, but that is currently taking place. The cafe is great for getting a sandwich or coffee, about $10- $12 a sandwich. Nice pool, but really, you don't come to the island for the pool, so we didn't use it. Also, there are so many beaches, some of the best in the world, so if your coming here to stay on the resort only, I am not sure if I would recommend, since this is the bay, which is still very nice, but the water is nowhere near what you will see on other parts of the island. If you are looking to use this as a place to relax and sleep, it is an ideal place to go. Like I said , food is limited, (one restaurant and a cafe) and just ok beach for the island. Gym is really nice, but limited on space. Overall, very nice resort if your looking for a place to sleep and wind down at the end of the day. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Westin St. John. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay, our helpful and friendly staff, spacious pool and Westin Workout center. Thank you for sharing this information with future guests and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a nice hotel but not sure if it was the quality of most Westins. We didn't have a table or coffe table in the room. It made it hard for us when we ordered room service. There was no place to eat bu on the bed. That was pretty terrible. Also, we paid extra for honeymoon upgrade. We got a free bottle of rum. That was about it. They didn't make us feel special at all. I wouldn't go back. Plus, the bugs were out of control. Bitten from head to toe our first day. It would have been nice if the hotel advised us of this problem and suggested we put on bug spray. They did have a sign on the patio door to keep the screen closed. St Jphn is absolutely stunning, though!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Many thanks for sharing your review and congratulations on your recent marriage. I apologize that you did not feel special during your stay, as we strive to provide you with a relaxing and renewing stay, especially for your honeymoon. I’d also like to add a sincere apology for the concerns that arose during your stay regarding any insects and that you were not informed of the possibility of bugs. Being a tropical island, we do experience noseeums, sand fleas, and other tropical biting insects which are very often mistaken for other more insidious bugs. Both noseeums and sand fleas are common on the beaches. Starwood and the Westin St. John have a very aggressive pest elimination protocol in place and our staff is trained to response immediately to any concerns. In order to inform our guests of the presence of insects, we do have “Beach Tips” cards placed in guest rooms and around the resort to warn our guests of biting bugs and advise that they take extra precaution. Thanks again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to provide you with a true Westin experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Having Starwood points, I have used them here many times for both a standard room and a studio villa (same number of points). The hotel allows you beach views and is much closer to things. The villas provide no views. Both are run down and have a constant musty smell. As expected the food prices are quite high, which makes the villas a good deal. You can cook. The hotel room did have a mini fridge, so we could make salads and sanwhiches for nights we wanted to be cheap. We tend to spend most of time away from the hotel and out snorkelling. The beach at the Westin is nice to watch the sunset, but to hang out there for more than a day is not appealing to us. The chairs are old and breaking down, getting towels can be difficult on some days and problem on others. Next to the landscaping on the grounds, the best feature is the gym. It is decent sized with almost everything you need. It is my biggest draw to here over a house, I have stayed here many times, and while the Westin itself is not the main draw, it a fine place to lay my head at night after a day full of snorkelling and hiking. I will continue to return.

Room Tip: I like the first floor of the hotels, as you have a nice space to sit outside. The older villas are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments regarding your past stays at the Westin St. John. While our resort rooms are in need of a refresh and are part of a major renovation currently taking place, our villas are rather new and in great condition. Many of our beach chairs have been recently replaced, and 65 new chairs were just placed on our beach. Towels can always be found at our pool hut and are consistently available for guest use. I was glad to hear you enjoy our Westin Workout and beautifully landscaped grounds. Thanks again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We got to St. John every year and this time was yet again wonderful. The unit was fantastic. The a/c worked wonderfully and all utilities worked like a charm. Staff was extremely friendly and welcomed us back home. No issues whatsoever. The only issue, which was minor, was the water pressure in the shower. But it was fine and look forward to coming back next year! I love St. John and I love the Westin. It truly is our home away from home.

Room Tip: Every villa is a good one, in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We truly appreciate you sharing your recent stay with us and other future guests on Trip Advisor. It sounds as though you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, your unit, and our helpful and friendly staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our last stay at the Westin was 8 years ago on our honeymoon... This trip we stayed in the 2 bedroom bay view villas, and we were impressed with the refurbishments so far! The hotel is about to start construction, so we were fortunate. There are areas that would benefit from the refurbishments, but one can easily look past this at such a beautiful place! One of the highlights of the trip was Movie night at the pool! The inflatable screen next to the pool at dusk with free popcorn was such a different and fun experience for the whole family! Concierge staff was extremely helpful throughout the stay, and anytime an issue arose, it was dealt with promptly and efficiently! We also greatly enjoyed the other resort activities, like diving for sodas and beer, name that tune, bingo, and scavenger hunts. It was very helpful to have the market just outside the resort, as it costs $5 per person each way to go to town for dinner! Be prepared for high grocery prices as well... Example: breyers ice cream $10.49!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks very much for sharing such valuable information with potential future guests. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your two bedroom villa, and also so many of the activities available on property. I will share your feedback with our Manager of Fun, and she will be delighted to know just how much the activities in place enhanced your stay. We hope to see you and your family again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful experience for the entire family. With three bedroom, two bath, living room dining room outside patio and pool with privacy wall there was plenty of room and privacy for the family. Westin had many things to do and see to make the trip memorable. Taxis to and from the little city to buy groceries, shop and dine out were very convenient. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for posting your short, yet very sweet review. It sounds as though you and your family really enjoyed your three bedroom pool villa and the amenities available to you on property. We hope you will return for another relaxing stay very soon. Thank you again for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin St. John Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Address: P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin St. John Resort & Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach The Westin Resort St. John, USVI is a tropical retreat that's easy to reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Westin St. John Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin St. John Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.